Trade Me Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 99 of over 109 reviews

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Trade Me CEO Anders Skoe
Anders Skoe
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very flexible working and great people(in 15 reviews)

  • "Can be a positive atmosphere, great perks - free lunches/dinners, excellent work functions, good mix of staff members(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The restructure after COVID-19 was awful(in 5 reviews)

  • "The flat and somewhat loose structure can mean career progression is tricky(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A great kiwi company!

      Sep 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Auckland, Auckland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are so many awesome perks you don't learn about until you start at Trade Me, that really show how much Trade Me's decision makers care about the people. Kiwi ingenuity is often at play, with fun and innovative activities and challenges for Trade Me employees. And who wouldn't want to work for such an iconic kiwi company with great products and services to "connect kiwis to create the life they want"?!

      Cons

      Being an 'older' tech company, some of the tech stack is quite legacy, but that in itself presents an interesting challenge too!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great leadership, transparency and flexibility

      Oct 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Auckland, Auckland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are great leaders at Trade Me that genuinely care about their people. They act on the best interest of the people offering real flexibility catered to each of us (Some people have kids, some want longer holidays, work 4 days per week etc). This is not only said verbally but it is officially documented. This leads to high levels of work life balance in my opinion The CEO has done a great deal to be transparent about subjects that matters to us recently (e.g. repayment of wage subsidy, company situation during COVID) There is a barista coffee machine and certainly more free food than one can eat. I never experienced any kind of prejudice for being an immigrant or a female. I feel that everybody is treated with respect and given the same voice despite ethnicity, gender or sexuality.

      Cons

      Career progression is still an issue, despite the company investing heavily on this (Paid training, 10% learning time, workshops on a variety of subjects). Work is limited by having too many people working on the same stream, so you will be working on a detail of a bigger project.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Brilliant culture

      Sep 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free lunch on pay day, coffee machines. Awesome people culture.

      Cons

      Work can move at a slow pace at times. Intention of innovation but can be slowed by company bureaucracy.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Going in a good direction

      Sep 8, 2021 - Full Stack Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of effort to modernise infra and migrate legacy systems to standard modern tooling. Interesting work, friendly company, cares about employees and giving back. Well-known brand in NZ, and quite a strong company outlook with e-commerce moving to the cloud.

      Cons

      Lots of moving parts, and people with lots of institutional engineering knowledge maybe spread thin. Still lots of legacy stuff (but this is being actively worked on).

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      God place

      Aug 11, 2021 - Full Stack Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture is good. Quite chill here. Have lots of good people and everyone is supportive. Relax and flexible working hours with good location

      Cons

      Salary wasn't enough. Many talented people were lost during the restructure. Hard to get more talents. The hiring process takes too long

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Slightly rigid company

      Aug 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company has a high reputation in the New Zealand market

      Cons

      But the company does not have a long-term plan and is waiting to be eliminated.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Pretty good

      Jul 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great to work on a product used by so many New Zealanders, and at a larger scale than many other nz based sites.

      Cons

      The loss of so many employees after the most recent sale was very disappointing to see

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome opportunities

      Jul 27, 2021 - Software Developer in Wellington, Wellington
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is really focused in being the best for it's customers. After being shaken by new competitors, it's investing in people and technology. For a developer, it's quite exciting to be part of this new chapter.

      Cons

      We still need to deal with some legacy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great purpose and epic environment

      Jul 27, 2021 - Head of Human Resources Business Partner in Auckland, Auckland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cool office, Flexible working (so much flex!), really cool purpose of why we are here (connecting Kiwis to create the life they want), awesome people focus, heaps of perks (including five days wellness leave, bonuses and free lunches), location (right across from Victoria park in AKL, water front in WGT and city center in CHCH), company values.

      Cons

      Not everyone is in the same location (3 locations) so we work remotely a lot (not really a trade me specific problem as it's a common problem at a lot of originations)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Many things masked by a "great" brand

      Aug 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Wellington, Wellington
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some awesome people that really care, work hard and get things done. Nice perks like 5 days wellness leave (you WILL need it), free lunch on pay day, really nice offices and I genuinely made friends for life.

      Cons

      Where do I start, things have rapidly gone down hill in terms of culture over the past few years. I think many employees feel loyal to the brand which is why they stick around for now. The shiny exterior is doing everything to show how "great" things are but don't be fooled. Poor leadership from the top which of course filters down. Real favoritism of certain people who will do anything to get to where they want to be. Flexibility but not, i.e. you will still be watched like a hawk by many.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 99 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Trade Me Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Trade Me? Share Your Experiences

    Trade Me logo
    or