Hays Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Hays Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,258 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is definitely a work hard play hard type of company and colleagues quickly become friends(in 138 reviews)

  • "Career progression are very transparent(in 138 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working at Hays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Christchurch, Canterbury
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training and support for learning at Hays is ongoing and really in depth. The career progression opportunities are also very transparent, so you know what you have to do to succeed and get promoted. You don't have to have recruitment experience before joining Hays to do well, and the team support means you always have someone around who can help. There are heaps of incentives to do well, and there's a good... social side to the job.

    Show More

    Cons

    The base can be low, but commission makes up for that.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Hays2019-07-04
  2. "Hays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    -Great young team -Social events -International training perks

    Cons

    -Doesn't pay as much as other agencies -Culture needs huge improvement -No real flexibility or modern ways of working

    Hays2019-10-12
  3. "Good Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training, young culture, high performance

    Cons

    Transactional, upper management at the time were not helpful

    Hays2019-06-26
  4. "Excellent place to train with a huge amount of support for high performers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Hays offers a training programme which is second to none. They have a great structure set up to give you all the information you need to succeed as a recruiter. They have a large amount of existing business in many areas and a great CRM system set up so that you can easily track your calls etc.

    Cons

    Really slow with technology. Not a lot of trust is given to employees.

    Hays2019-05-02
  5. "Team Manaer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    tech, salary, parking, phone, people

    Cons

    work life balance needs to be better.

    Advice to Management

    pay your staff more than 10k less than everywhere else

    Hays2017-10-04
  6. "Best specialist recruiter in town."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Section Manager in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Transparent commission structures and promotion criteria. Good training. Excellent management in Auckland.

    Cons

    Transactional short term mindset. Few volume accounts.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on key accounts for the agency business.

    Hays2017-03-30
  7. "Recruitment Factory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Auckland, Auckland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hays

    Pros

    Thorough Training, career progression for those who put in long hours at the cost of their fmaily/ social life.

    Cons

    Everything else, Management lack people skills, employees are just a cog in the wheel. Meritocratic "cool kid" culture where conforming to fit in is expected.

    Advice to Management

    Empower your staff to succeed instead of berating them.

    Hays2016-05-08
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant 

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good job, lots of opportunities.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Hays2019-11-13
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good employer with consultant options

    Cons

    Salary is a bit low

    Hays2019-11-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Colchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at Hays for 6 weeks now and i have by far received the best training. I had never been in Recruitment before joining hays and i was apprehensive about going into Recruitment. I have just returned from a week away Module 1 training where i learnt all the tips and tricks in the world of recruitment. I have returned to work feeling confident about my journey of success at Hays. The support and... training is unreal, you will never feel unsure of anything as your questions are always listened too and answered.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours and hard work.. but worth it in the end!

    Hays2019-11-05
Found 2412 reviews
</>Embed