Hays Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Hays Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2586 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1302 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours but can be rewarding(in 418 reviews)

  • "Only con is that it can sometimes be long working hours however you find that you are so busy you need them(in 125 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great environment; Good vibes and passionate people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Intern in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are very encouraging. They push each other to grow, and celebrate each and every achievement.

    Cons

    Having to deal with impatient candidates

    Hays2019-08-22
  2. "Great training, good career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training is excellent, progression good

    Cons

    Long hours, very very long hours.

    Hays2019-08-22
  3. "Great employer, enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing ongoing training and lots of opportunities to progress and enhance your career. It’s great to work for a major brand in the market. There’s always lots of good incentives for hitting specific targets and KPIs. Lots of investment in technology and systems too.

    Cons

    Flexi hours aren’t as flexible as anticipated. It’s long hours, but it’s a job where you get out what you put in, so the hours pay for themselves. However the commission and base salary could be better. Internal politics and specialism crossovers can sometimes be an issue.

    Advice to Management

    Allow greater flexibility in working hours - perhaps working from home occasionally if no meetings are booked.

    Hays2019-08-21
  4. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerical Officer in Belfast, Northern Ireland

    I worked at Hays for less than a year

    Pros

    Fair wage, good hours and experience

    Cons

    Only contracted, nowhere to move up to and leave

    Hays2019-08-19
  5. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you want a supportive work culture and environment where people are happy for each other when placements are made, and everyone helps one another, Hays is the place to be. A lot of the management decisions are also made towards helping us achieve better productivity. There are many interesting activities planned by the HR and people are generally very bonded here. However, it is a work hard play hard culture, and...

    Show More

    Cons

    High stress because everyone performs really well

    Advice to Management

    There are a lot of new initiatives by the Management to motivate our productivity rate and we have a fantastic HR team. Only thing I'd say is keep up the good work and thank you!

    Hays2019-08-20
  6. "My experience with Hays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    environment and atmosphere people are nice

    Cons

    Long hours, but you find you end up needing these long hours to get good results at Hays

    Hays2019-08-19
  7. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Global reputation with different functions

    Cons

    Salary scheme which is not competitive

    Hays2019-08-18
  8. "Brilliant place for work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Clerk in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays for less than a year

    Pros

    good coaching and training

    Cons

    not flexible as big corporate office

    Advice to Management

    to become more flexi

    Hays2019-08-17
  9. "Work life balance for internal roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays

    Pros

    Friendly and diversified environment work-life balance

    Cons

    Not so appealing salary for beginners

    Hays2019-08-16
  10. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrator 

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Good first job to have

    Cons

    Could improve salaries, but overall I enjoyed my time there.

    Hays2019-08-15
Found 2586 reviews