Goodwill Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Goodwill Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Goodwill CEO Steven C. Preston (no image)
Steven C. Preston
166 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love helping people putting a smile on people face(in 131 reviews)

  • "I worked full-time at Goodwill Commons(in 106 reviews)

Cons
  • "You may be thrown under a bus for anyones mistake or without a care if wrong or right from upper management(in 184 reviews)

  • "gets boring when there are no donations(in 174 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Port Orange, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goodwill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment and nice coworkers.

    Cons

    Weekends can get pretty busy

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Goodwill2019-12-05
  2. "Be prepared to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Goodwill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work hours were always consistent

    Cons

    The work load wasnt worth the wages

    Goodwill2019-12-03
  3. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Shipper At E-commerce 

    I worked at Goodwill part-time

    Pros

    Great environment with good people.

    Cons

    No real long term experience.

    Goodwill2019-12-01
  4. "Inconsistently good first job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goodwill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mission. Always looking for new hires (even those with disabilities, criminal records, etc.). Full time benefits. Great experience for future opportunities.

    Cons

    Inconsistent pricing. Almost constant haggling. Unrealistic expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Set up a more consistent standard for pricing. Make sure we have a sufficient team scheduled to meet our daily quotas.

    Goodwill2019-11-29
  5. "A lot of drama, managers show favoritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Griffin, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Goodwill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, hours, holiday pay

    Cons

    Favoritism, drama, managers don't listen

    Goodwill2019-11-30
  6. "Raise Awareness, Competitive Shoppingand Grabbing BarginsCulture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Optical Lab Technician in Selah, WA

    I have been working at Goodwill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Respectful Supporting Atmosphere, Diverse, Dynamic Culture and Training.

    Cons

    Pay is too LOW. Appreciation is not always there.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, try their way of doing things just one time.

    Goodwill2019-11-26
  7. "Solid mission focused organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Goodwill full-time

    Pros

    Mission focused with great staff and leadership. Pay is similar to other nonprofits.

    Cons

    Challenges are similar to other nonprofits. Fragmented Funding, low wages compared to for profit sector and Silos are some of the challenges.

    Goodwill2019-11-23
  8. "Good college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Goodwill part-time

    Pros

    Lots of team work Good hours

    Cons

    Lower pay than other retail jobs

    Goodwill2019-11-21
  9. "Not bad to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Supervisor 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodwill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People can be understanding with personal situations not bad to start getting job experience

    Cons

    The pay sucks for having to work your butt off to prove yourself

    Advice to Management

    Have your life figured out and situated and have back up plans you can live with especially if you have kids

    Goodwill2019-12-06
  10. "Relaxed Environment with High Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Boston, MA

    I worked at Goodwill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked with a great team and had an understanding manager. They were also flexible with scheduling hours. Great for students!

    Cons

    -Work hours can be changed without notice -High turnover

    Goodwill2019-11-20
Found 3854 reviews