EY Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

EY Reviews

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
78%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
EY CEO Carmine Di  Sibio
Carmine Di Sibio
379 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great comapny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Delivery Manager in Wellington, Wellington
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance. Feel supported.

    Cons

    Some of the leadership pointless.

    EY2019-10-21
  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at EY full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working, learn a lot

    Cons

    Sometimes hours are hard, expectations are high.

    EY2019-11-20
  3. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent, well-rounded place to work in

    Cons

    No major issues really, except for sometimes less salary than some competitors (often)

    EY2019-11-05
  4. "Good for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with big businesses

    Cons

    Long hours and poor workpapers on some occasions

    EY2019-10-23
  5. "Party atmosphere at the factory!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Auckland, Auckland
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at EY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People were very social and we had a great atmosphere in the Auckland office (great parties) though I hear things have been tuned down a bit since I left. Work was fine - a little bit hit and miss depending on who you worked with but overall learnt and saw a lot in my couple of years in the business.

    Cons

    Compensation was absolute bottom tier as well as the benefits (literally none). Working in this place as a graduate was like being a factory worker. Grinding out work on the weekend with little oversight and little reward

    Advice to Management

    Many of the partners seem to think that because they lived on $40K as a graduate that we should do the same - time to get a reality check with the cost of living blowing out. Not to mention the comparative salaries in industry jobs. My peers at the same companies we were consulting to were earning 1.5x despite us being hired as the experts to fix the very things they were doing wrong!

    EY2019-11-02
  6. "Decent place, great culture and a very positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EY full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great projects - Great people - Challenging work if you look for it - Decent learning opportunities in the lower ranks - Impressive and local engaging leadership

    Cons

    - Doesnt neccesarily have the global reach and influence portrayed - Favourtism for certain people - Get everything put in writing if you want it held to - Pay and rewards very sub-par

    EY2019-10-10
  7. "Great place to start out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Tax Consultant in Auckland, Auckland

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, relatively good hours, lots of opportunities

    Cons

    Salary seems low compared to market

    EY2019-10-08
  8. "Good exposure for fresh graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Audit Senior Associate 

    I worked at EY full-time

    Pros

    Study support for professional papers (study leaves, fees waiver)

    Cons

    Long working hours during peak periods.

    EY2019-10-07
  9. "Good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Consultant in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture and interesting work

    Cons

    Pay isn't great, hours are sometimes too much

    EY2019-09-14
  10. "Great opportunities, terrible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EY full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Global opportunities, flexible working, looks good on resume

    Cons

    Terrible culture, no work/life balance, rewards bad behaviour, old boys' club, bad pay compared to market

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting married men who sleep with their secretaries and/or grads

    EY2019-09-04
Found 23527 reviews
</>Embed