Corning Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Corning Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Corning CEO Wendell P. Weeks
Wendell P. Weeks
333 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "HQ located in Corning NY - its a very small town(in 44 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance rotation schedule low opportunities to advance(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Account Technology Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Corning full-time

    Pros

    Good environment, career growth opertunity

    Cons

    Lots of pressure, repeat work

    Corning2017-05-16
  2. "Great Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Corning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good work environment for work life balance. Very good benefits from health, dental and 401K. Vacation & Paid Time Off : every 5 years 2 extra weeks of vacation are given.

    Cons

    No stock option.

    Advice to Management

    A bit of arrogance and lack of direct presence with smaller accounts are perceived in the market place.

    Corning2019-10-22
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Corning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of different projects to work in

    Cons

    Not much decision making in your project

    Corning2019-10-18
  4. "Excellent people to work with and a productive, collaborative atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Corning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaboration is encouraged, work is interesting and supported

    Cons

    There are no downsides in my experience.

    Corning2019-10-10
  5. "Not enough communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Associate 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Corning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, good bonuses, good people

    Cons

    Long Hours, No chance of advancement

    Corning2019-10-10
  6. "Purchasing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Buyer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Corning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent place. Great people. Great employees.

    Cons

    This is an excellent place to work.

    Corning2019-10-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Management increasingly out of touch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Corning full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most peers are good to work with. Benefits are good, especially in areas where that’s not common.

    Cons

    Management hides behind big programs and hardly ever cares about technical details. Promises are blown out of proportion and accountability for such deceit is virtually nonexistent.

    Advice to Management

    Involvement is not posting directives and pushing out big programs with lip service. Start caring more for details and try to understand what you’re pushing on employees.

    Corning2019-09-30
  8. "Perfect place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Istanbul

    I worked at Corning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working with friendly people over there perfect place to grow

    Cons

    Not many chance to go high for upper management.

    Corning2019-09-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging and rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Corning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    innovation, excellent and talented team to work with

    Cons

    no bias for action,

    Advice to Management

    Hold supervisors and managers accountable

    Corning2019-09-26
  10. "Controls engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controls Engineer 

    I have been working at Corning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome growth competitive pay awesome management

    Cons

    working with union is a pain

    Corning2019-09-13
Found 765 reviews