Airbnb Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Airbnb Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 755 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Airbnb CEO Brian Chesky
Brian Chesky
533 Ratings
Pros
  • "500 in Airbnb credits per quarter, free food (breakfast/lunch/dinner), and all the cool Silicon Valley perks(in 44 reviews)

  • "Great benefits including free lunch and snacks, quarterly travel coupons(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Often decision makers are lacking and work/life balance can be challenging(in 60 reviews)

  • "Some growing pains around organizational grown(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Junior chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Chef in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Airbnb is a great place to work

    Cons

    Airbnb is busy and crawded

    Airbnb2019-09-12
  2. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Language Specialist 

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time

    Pros

    Good team mates, flexible working hours

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for development

    Airbnb2019-09-03
  3. "Trust and Safety Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities to develop and upskill, good people

    Cons

    Work life balance may suffer

    Airbnb2019-09-18
  4. "Hoating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Host in Tirana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a international company,and conect with people worldwide

    Cons

    They do not help because are racist

    Airbnb2019-09-17
  5. "Content Strategist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, fast-paced and amazing coworkers

    Cons

    Agressive deadlines, priorities change all the time

    Airbnb2019-08-29
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time

    Pros

    + People have great intention + The company grows fast so there are lots of opportunities opening up

    Cons

    - Chaotic organization structures sometimes

    Airbnb2019-08-23
  7. "Great supportive culture, fast growth, lots of career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee benefits are great, Airbnb credits is a cool perk, HQ office is nice environment to work in

    Cons

    Really young employees, lots of entitlement with tons of room to grow and develop

    Airbnb2019-08-19
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Company has great perks, like free breakfast and lunch - Pay is good

    Cons

    - Managers are somewhat young and incompetent - Most people on my team are in their 20s, my manager is probably early 30s, they don't hire older people - They company also doesn't hire many minorities. Most people are white or Asian; IT seems to have more that are Indian - The company tries to push uncomfortable policies. For instance, they want people to put their preferred pronouns in email signatures, Slack... profiles, etc. I don't have a problem supporting folks with different genders, but this is too much - One perk that people have is that they can bring their dogs to work, but some people abuse the policy and bring their dogs every day. It sounds like a kennel in some floors with the dogs barking. It can be very distracting - The San Francisco office is in a very remote location. Almost a mile away from the nearest BART station - There is no clear promotion path in my team

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - You have a good culture, but you're trying to make it too "hip" and "progressive."

    Airbnb2019-08-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Airbnb will not be loyal to you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb

    Pros

    Benefits can be appealing Food is healthy There are some really good people

    Cons

    Very hard to grow internally. False promises of belonging. Core Values are not necessarily embraced by managers or peers. You might give your absolute best but the system in place might never benefit you. Being a person of color will be an additional burden.

    Advice to Management

    Your teams, your reports need to grow within their roles. Doing one task only makes us like robots and limit our creativity and ability to grow. It’s important to learn how to develop talent, how to recognize potential. thoughtful communication is crucial, especially managing people from different backgrounds. Coaching experience is relevant in your role as a manager. If your reports fear you, don’t trust you, and... don’t look up to you, you are not doing a good job.

    Show More
    Airbnb2019-08-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great starting position... Not great advancement opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Organizer in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perfect for those who like to travel and have a flexible schedule. Free food, great benefits, wonderful work culture. Plenty of chances to work cross functionally outside of the Public Policy department

    Cons

    Upward mobility is nearly impossible for this role. In 4 years, only 3 people have been promoted from this position into a more senior position.

    Airbnb2019-08-03
Found 755 reviews