Walmart Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Walmart Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
12,934 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay for the amount of work(in 1740 reviews)

  • "Good benefits good raises good associates to work with(in 1162 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours for the amount of work(in 1267 reviews)

  • "The only thing for me is they will have you part-time working Full-Time hours(in 1257 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and reasonable pay.

    Cons

    Can feel a bit dead end.

    Advice to Management

    Open up opportunities for those beneath.

    Walmart2015-05-26
  2. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Walmart part-time

    Pros

    it was a good experience

    Cons

    not many cons for this job

    Walmart2019-06-22
  3. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in Te Kauwhata
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart for less than a year

    Pros

    pay overnight was terrible. Would not

    Cons

    n/a n/a n/a n/a horrible horrible horrible

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Walmart2018-01-04
  4. "Overworked and underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time

    Pros

    Our branch had an amazing crop of individuals. We'd put the work in and pull for each other. David, James, Heather you're all amazing.

    Cons

    The oligarchy, capitalism, upper management and rich fat cats who don't understand anything at ground level.

    Advice to Management

    Be more human, empathise with us we're just the same as you. We all have our struggles day to day.

    Walmart2016-06-18
  5. "Ok but nothing great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ICS Associate in Hamilton, Waikato
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some good ppl to work with. Set schedules for most positions

    Cons

    Most managers don't care about you or any situation you are going through in life. They don't know how to manage professionally. They show favoritism.

    Walmart2013-05-24
  6. "Over all not to bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fast pass. Easy. Steady. Always moving

    Cons

    Not steady schedule. No seniority.

    Advice to Management

    Respect associates concerns

    Walmart2019-10-22
  7. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great talents around Good work with new tech stack

    Cons

    More work. Sometimes to work on weekends Less hikes

    Advice to Management

    Value and retain talent

    Walmart2019-10-21
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent job place at Walmart

    Cons

    No cons ever since i worked there

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing the best as always

    Walmart2019-10-21
  9. "Part-Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was an easy way to enter and gain experience in the customer service sector, with easy days to get off.

    Cons

    Sometimes can be tough to work as a student, as they require working weekend shifts and a weekday shift.

    Walmart2019-10-21
  10. "Walmart Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Sales Associate in Anadarko, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people i worked with were really nice

    Cons

    Customers can be annoying most of the time

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Walmart2019-10-21
Found 46966 reviews