SAIC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

SAIC Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
SAIC CEO Nazzic Keene
Nazzic Keene
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "All decisions require multiple sign offs from upper management, even for very small routine tasks(in 53 reviews)

  • "If you are a military retiree and don’t need its medical or dental plans(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fair salary compared to other employers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cyber Security Analyst 

    I worked at SAIC full-time

    Pros

    Great salary and sufficient time off.

    Cons

    Leadership does not care about employees.

    SAIC2019-10-17
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is great Pay is fair Worked with great people

    Cons

    Strict on overtime but this is mostly due to the contracts

    SAIC2019-10-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training, working in support of federal govt, great people top to bottom

    Cons

    Working in federal space has downside and without warning can leave you without a job

    SAIC2019-10-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cyber Security Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to grow in your career

    Cons

    Health insurance offered could be better

    SAIC2019-10-15
  5. "Time at SAIC was not a bad one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at SAIC full-time

    Pros

    The company is big. If you do not like to work on one project, ask your manager to move you to another one

    Cons

    There were a lot of meetups and politics are going over there. I want nothing but project that can be solved by programming skill

    SAIC2019-10-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to get started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Cookeville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Was given the chance to learn lots of new things, and show what I’m made of.

    Cons

    Recently have felt neglected from management, and the office is basically there to make profit off of low income places simply because they can pay the people here less than else where...

    Advice to Management

    Realize that if you need to keep people around that you will need to make sure they are going to want to work for you which means being less stringent on things like working from home.

    SAIC2019-09-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing and Communications Specialist in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly people, decent pay, large company but business unit's provide smaller communities.

    Cons

    large organization and promotion could be a bit bureaucratic. But, I had a good experience.

    SAIC2019-09-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cyber Security Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, moderate PTO schedule that rolls over, excellent leadership/management. Lots of training availability, constantly learning and being allowed to expand in my field.

    Cons

    HR processes are pretty bad; for example, signing up for benefits and many HR systems are really awful.

    SAIC2019-09-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Kaneohe, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAIC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at SAIC for four years. There was room for upward mobility.

    Cons

    Transfers and Government contracts could make employment unstable

    SAIC2019-09-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "On-site SME for DoD customer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAIC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Projectized work provides opportunity for small group/ teamwork culture; corporate structure provides deep in-house expertise. - Good opportunities to move around within the company; many interesting assignments (globally). - Continuing professionalization if you are a go-getter. - Mature bureaucracy that keeps the information flowing through a well-developed KM system, that is continually evolved. - Good... corporate comms. - Good early opportunities to participate in stock and savings programs, community service projects, mentoring programs.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    - Establish competitive advantage (and keep the talent) with creative time and $$ incentives and benefits. Some workers want/need more time off for professional development or personal reasons, some would like more $$.

    SAIC2019-09-08
Found 2070 reviews
</>Embed