Rio Tinto Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Rio Tinto Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 767 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Rio Tinto CEO Jean-Sébastien Jacques
Jean-Sébastien Jacques
183 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Global company with opportunities to work and live in different parts of the world

    Cons

    Usual big company downside - too big to move fast

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-08-19
  2. "Experienced accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Allround Accountant in Brussels
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Promotion opportunities and room to improve your skills

    Cons

    Too many ' internal rules

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-08-17
  3. "Good Company but very much depends which of its offices you work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Controller 

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time

    Pros

    Good Salary & renumeration package, high safety standards for site work

    Cons

    Company culture in Labrador ,NL is not what you might expect of an international company, HR is only involved in recruitment and renumeration. Mangaement style is very old school and needs to be improved

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-08-14
  4. "Rio Tinto Shipping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time

    Pros

    Flexible and dynamic work culture in Marine department.

    Cons

    Difficulty in managing expectations across teams

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-08-12
  5. "Good mining company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, flex hours, good brand name

    Cons

    Political , segregated teams, pro Australian

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-08-08
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Highly focused on the customer and shareholder. Genuinely concerned about safety and impact on environment.

    Cons

    Talent of employees taken for granted.

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-08-08
  7. "Great benefits, poor business architecture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer EIT 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full benefits package available, very stable job

    Cons

    Mismanagement and politics plagues the company

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-08-18
  8. "Mine operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Ihosy, Fianarantsoa

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Safety is very important at work

    Cons

    Relationship and courageous conversations but not à top down

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-08-03

    Rio Tinto Response

    August 6, 2019Senior Advisor, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for your contribution as an employee for so many years! We will continue to promote open and honest conversations between employees and management.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Salt Lake City, UT

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diversity of job tasks and people

    Cons

    Watch out for layoffs, every few quarters

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-07-31

    Rio Tinto Response

    August 6, 2019Senior Advisor, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for being a part of our team for so many years and sharing your feedback. We take pride in our diverse workplace, people and opportunities.

    Continue reading
  10. "Lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief of Staff in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Generous benefits package, lots of opportunity, multinational experience, cutting edge technology and opportunity to work with some of the brightest minds.

    Cons

    Politics and a propensity to focus on the short term.

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-07-29

    Rio Tinto Response

    August 6, 2019Senior Advisor, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us and for your contribution as an employee for so many years! We will continue to work on strategy and forward thinking business practices and to provide our employees with great benefits and global opportunities.

    Continue reading
Found 767 reviews