QIAGEN Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

QIAGEN Reviews

Updated 8 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
QIAGEN CEO Thierry Bernard
Thierry Bernard
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lots of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Specialist 

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    Busy, steep learning curve, supporting colleagues

    Cons

    Sometimes there is too much pressure

    QIAGEN2019-11-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "sad to see the site close, it was fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administration in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great group of people who worked well together

    Cons

    There is minimal career path opportunities

    QIAGEN2019-11-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "SB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexiable working time; atmosphere; intresting task

    Cons

    Organisational chaos; not clear pickture of future after last Ceo step down

    QIAGEN2019-10-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Poor leadership, continuous restructuring and lay-offs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, wonderful colleagues. New gym.

    Cons

    Continuous restructuring on a yearly basis, every three years major restructure with significant layoffs. Salary is on the low end. 401k is vested after 3 years and only matched up to $4k. High turn over including of senior management, CEO and COO.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out a structure and stick with it for at least a few years to give it a chance. You might be surprised.

    QIAGEN2019-10-22
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent work / life. Great work environment. Outstanding leadership.

    Cons

    There are some uncertainties each year regarding organizational restructuring. All in all great company and great people!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    QIAGEN2019-10-10
  6. "A truly innovative company with a unique Culture and an Outstanding Leadership Style"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Specialist in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    QIAGEN is culturally diverse, highly dynamic and provides great benefits (i.e. Private Dental, Healthcare, Fitness contributions etc..). Besides, it provides excellent flexibility for their employees to work from home, which significantly reduces any type of additional stress. Being part of QIAGEN is similar to being part of a big family, thus, to succeed here you must be willing to be a team player. Furthermore,... QIAGEN is a highly meritocratic company, with a leadership management structure which promotes free-thinking across all corporate level. Don't be afraid to be creative!

    Show More

    Cons

    I've been with the company for only 6 months now. None to report at the present time.

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps, review the real meaning behind what a "Specialist" role title really represents...

    QIAGEN2019-09-30
  7. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    amazing people great products and innovation

    Cons

    going through a cultural change

    QIAGEN2019-09-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "One bad manager destroyed the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Bioinformatics Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My direct manager was fantastic, benefit were really good. I was lucky to work with smart people

    Cons

    Large management structure, very hierarchical. One bad manager made everyone leave. lots of older emplyees not learning new tools

    Advice to Management

    get rid of old-timers that don't want to grow or evolve. Get rid of the one manager who is losing her team

    QIAGEN2019-10-10
  9. "Good company to work for overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN

    Pros

    Work life balance Good salary

    Cons

    High employee turnover Fair bit of redundancy

    Advice to Management

    Imp to see how employees are feeling

    QIAGEN2019-10-12
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Hilden
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary above average, nice colleagues, good work-life balance

    Cons

    There are no cons overall.

    QIAGEN2019-09-17
Found 363 reviews