PointClickCare Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

PointClickCare Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
PointClickCare CEO Mike Wessinger
Mike Wessinger
266 Ratings
Pros
  • "The leadership team really takes the time to understand our needs and provide a workplace environment that supports the employee’s work life balance(in 29 reviews)

  • "An awesome family oriented work environment with many advancement opportunities(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "No cons that I can think of right now(in 16 reviews)

  • "Because the company is growing so fast, we're not always as efficient or as structured as a more mature organization would be(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Embrace "Work Hard Play Hard""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems & Analytics Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PointClickCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A company with a real vision and mission you can be proud to contribute to Invested, visible leadership group Solid base pay Subsidized cafeteria On-site gym

    Cons

    Slightly lower bonus target at middle management

    Advice to Management

    Slow down to speed up

    PointClickCare2019-10-11
  2. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PointClickCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve never experienced a company like this. Simply the best.

    Cons

    It is too early for me to find one.

    Advice to Management

    Keep support employees as you do.

    PointClickCare2019-10-06
  3. "Great vision tarnished by bizarre HR practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PointClickCare full-time

    Pros

    Great origin story, the work helps real people, unlimited vacation, great office setting, Cafe is amazing

    Cons

    Terrible pay if you're anything but a software dev, bonuses are a joke, RRSP matching is a joke, if you have issues with your job or your manager HR will not help, a gym is great but no time to use it, too many projects on timelines that were too short with too few resources, everyone on earth has to approve everything which bogs down decision making, spend too much time explaining yourself or entertaining ideas... from people that have no background in what it is you do, the year-end review process is the most bizarre thing I've ever been a part of where the entire department weighs in on everyone else and bonuses/raises are handed out based on feelings rather than concrete accomplishments

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want the best talent, like you claim you do, you have to pay people money to stay...so-called "benefits" do not replace cash. This was founded as a great company, keep focusing on helping people because that's what you're good at.

    PointClickCare2019-10-18
  4. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PointClickCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture throughout the organization

    Cons

    Nothing outside of normal issues in large company

    PointClickCare2019-10-13
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Does not appreciate the Value of the Individual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead In Engineering Department in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PointClickCare full-time

    Pros

    Supportive Environment, Empowered Teams, Approachable People, Good Location, Likeable CEO & President

    Cons

    We have worked hard and given years to earn the 'Lead' in our title and in one meeting, one day we all get demoted and it reduces our individual value and marketability. They are saying that it empowers teams BUT our teams are already empowered! Our teams are already good and supportive...except now we are stripped of our titles that we earned and is now being taken away from us. I don't see this as fair. Is... this a way to try to reduce our marketability so that PointClickCare can gain an edge in the employment market? What more is there to come? Is this part of a bigger plan to devalue employees more? Why doesn't management empower themselves and change their title to all Supervisors? Isn't that the same logic? Aside from the above, We often don't know who to approach for specific needs (Don't know who is responsible) and have talk to several people and send several messages to get to them which causes a delay to get things done.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Understand that impact of your decisions on individuals in their career. This is so important. This recent change is causing mixed feelings all around.

    PointClickCare2019-09-21
  6. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PointClickCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Strong Management Team -Great Company Culture

    Cons

    I do not really have anything negative to say. Best company I have worked for.

    PointClickCare2019-09-13
  7. "Simply the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PointClickCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Culture: very open and collaborative company culture. It's evident how passionate everyone is about truly making an impact on people's lives within the senior living market. - Autonomy - you can be your very best at PointClickCare - you can challenge the status quo and implement solutions that will truly improve workplace efficiencies - Career development and growth - In a high growth tech company, there is... plenty of opportunities to enhance your skills, which in turn could lead to other opportunities within the organization. There is no shortage of opportunities if you work at it.

    Show More

    Cons

    None come to mind at this time!

    PointClickCare2019-09-13

    PointClickCare Response

    September 16, 2019Talent Programs Specialist

    We value your feedback! Thank you!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PointClickCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers at all levels are supporting your success Employee morale Corporate culture Fast paced work environment

    Cons

    That I haven't started working here sooner

    PointClickCare2019-09-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing place, Great vision, Bright future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PointClickCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are so many pros about this place and I'll try to list a few: 1- Very modern workplace with open space concept, onsite gym, Pool table, Ping pong table, Air hockey, play station, virtual golf, employee lounge , etc. 2- Company has been growing for the past few years and considering the client base, the expectation is to continue to grow 3- Amazing employee on-boarding program , they invest a lot of time... and effort for the employee to feel that they are part of a family and this is not just another job 4- Executives are very engaged and you can see the president having lunch in the cafeteria with everyone else 5- A lot of amazing perks including subsidized lunch, free snacks, drink, coffee, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company still operates like a startup in many areas. there are good initiatives to address this issue but if you are used to a very structured and well managed process oriented environment, a lot of things might frustrate you. Like any other modern company, there is a trade-off when you are receiving these many perks in the office ; this is not a 9-5 job. expect to spend longer hours in the office and get the... job done but it's a nice office so you might not mind spending more time in it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Great job! but as you are fully aware, what got the company to this point will not necessarily get us to next step. need to get out of startup mode to move toward a billion dollar company.

    PointClickCare2019-08-28
  10. "pcc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PointClickCare full-time

    Pros

    Great company, great people, great culture

    Cons

    It's not your 9-5 type of workplace.

    PointClickCare2019-09-20
Found 318 reviews