Nordstrom Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16,966 of over 17,584 reviews

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Nordstrom Co-President Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom (no image)
Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom
1,672 Ratings
Pros
  • "Best company in terms of work environment(in 745 reviews)

  • "love the employee discount on merchandise(in 585 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The more you sale the more returns(in 787 reviews)

  • "long hours and on my feet a lot(in 751 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee
      Featured Review

      Best Place Ever

      Oct 6, 2020 - Beauty Concierge in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work independently, able to be on your phone, relaxed, great management

      Cons

      There were no cons. Great people, great work.

      53 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Could be better, could be worse

      Aug 19, 2019 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, easy to get hired, basically never fires anyone

      Cons

      Poor management and HR, unnecessary corporate policies, morning meetings and rules

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company!

      Jul 30, 2021 - Replenishment Buyer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nordstrom has a very good company culture, strong industry presence, and a lot of seasoned employees that you can learn from. I truly enjoyed working there!

      Cons

      Salary was not competitive in the Greater Seattle area where tech companies have much stronger compensation packages to offer. Tech companies have a lot of non-technical roles which makes it possible for merchants to move around. Additionally, option for full remote work was not available when I was at Nordstrom so I left for a company that allowed it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Unfair and messy corporate environment

      Jul 21, 2021 - Program Manager II in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's fun to say you work for Nordstrom, but the glow will wear off. I enjoyed the discount and the company's great reputation among customers, but I think any corporate employee could find a better, less political, less toxic work environment where workloads are more reasonable and pay is higher.

      Cons

      When I think about my time at Nordstrom, "exploited" is the idea that comes to mind. This feeling is only getting stronger the longer I'm away from the company after 4+ years. My team was not well supported, despite delivering noticeable and meaningful outputs. I was dramatically underpaid, and despite industry comps, acknowledgement of this pay disparity by HR, and recognition of the issue by my boss, it was not addressed. The work I provided to Nordstrom was worth dramatically more than any support or compensation they gave back to me.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall Positive Some Issues

      Jun 29, 2021 - Logistics 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team and wonderful managers! The position is mind-numbing, without the team members and the Logistics and Ops Manager and Assistant Manager wouldn't have stayed past the holidays. Added on as a regular employee after the holidays. Hired on at a great rate of holiday pay, unfortunately after the holidays, the hourly pay was cut by $2.00/hour.

      Cons

      Sales people for the most part are rude and act superior to people on the logistics team. They don't seem to realize that it is the logistics and ops team that keeps things running and kept things running when the store was shut down due to Covid-19. There has been a wholesale exodus of sales people from this store. Many people left because the pay was so low compared to places like Amazon and Target (even some fast food places pay $15/hour. It's sad to see, I have seen some wonderful sales people leave. Our Logistics and Ops team has remained stable and I attribute that to our managers. Because we work in the back we see what goes on behind the scenes. Have watched many many department managers sitting at their desks on their cell phones, reading emails, not on the floor engaged with customers and staff.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great fit for most

      Jul 2, 2021 - Designer Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong community if you drink the Kool-Aid, lots of different ways to make money if you train your customers to use the technology Nordstrom pushes its employees to sell through.

      Cons

      The company culture feels more juvenile than the luxury department store facade would suggest—morning meetings several times a week that feel more like a morning rally at a preschool than a meeting for grown adults. Being artificially bubbly toward upper management is valued WAY MORE than the volume you contribute and the relationships you build with clients. Commission is horrendous; if a manager makes an accommodation to return an item from the past year, the sales person suddenly owes that commission back. People who shop at Nordstrom know that they can return literally anything in any condition as long as they continue throwing a tantrum at different people until they find someone tired enough to give in.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Department Sales Manager

      Jul 27, 2021 - Department Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commission if you like it Talk to different types of people everyday Good team environment

      Cons

      Inconsistent hours Low hourly/salary pay if any (only for management and sales support) Slow seasons Stress is created where it is not needed

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It is what you make of it

      Jul 27, 2021 - Sales Associate in Bloomington, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commission Based sales Somewhat flexible schedule Busy periods almost guarantee sales employee discount and a chance to buy designer items and the lowest possible retail price.

      Cons

      Slow periods can kill motivation Favoritism from management can lead to bad schedules takes time to build clientele

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great benefits

      Jul 26, 2021 - Visual Merchandiser in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits program for all full time employees after 6 months of employment. Comfortable for employees looking to work full time and part time and able to transfer locations and keep employment.

      Cons

      Little opportunity for internal growth, company lacks store ordinance in the southern region, and pay caps are non negotiable. Never received severance pay when furloughed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      WOMENS SHOES

      Jul 26, 2021 - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere and great people to work with and meet. Great company to work for that allows you to move up.

      Cons

      Competitive and money driven. All they cared about was sales and making more money. Forced employees to contact customers and write letters to them which seemed creepy.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16,966 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Nordstrom Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Nordstrom? Share Your Experiences

    Nordstrom logo
    or