Gartner Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Gartner CEO and Director Gene Hall
Gene Hall
1,903 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance has decreased(in 118 reviews)

  • "Fort Myers doesn't have much going on unless you want to go to the beach every weekend, which is nice at first but gets old(in 71 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Code reviews"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Stamford, CT
    Recommends

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, helpful coworkers, great management

    Cons

    no flexibility, low pay, hectic

    Gartner2020-05-26
  2. Helpful (25)

    "A lot can be said about how a company treats its employees during a crisis"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conference Manager in Stamford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are phenomenal Benefits are good

    Cons

    Employees are just a number. Dinosaur leadership who are out of touch.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2020-04-30
  3. Helpful (20)

    "Great when it's good, hell when it's not"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Partner in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gartner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Will give you the salary and clout your professional resume needs moving forward, also *may* beef up your professional development

    Cons

    The company culture has completely changed since 2017, mainly due to the influence McKinsey has had on the board...they suckle from the teet of six sigma crap, so much so even out EXP clients smell it out and make fun of it. In particular, the Client Service Organization's work environment has become wildly toxic. For example, the Client Partner's business unit is the funnel to just about every other position (unless you're lucky in the pin-the-tail-on-the-donkey that is recruitment to jump into ECM, TCM or CVM) you have to hold your breath and pray that your territory is one of the magic territories that's aways thrived on its own(generally based on the culture of the orgs in that territory or industries in that territory and their use/need of consulting firms). Either way youre going to work yourself crazy- the territory health quarter to quarter will vary based on how those users use and that can be out of your control even with your best efforts. Metrics do matter but they don't tell the whole story. Yet they are the make or break, regardless of your effort or relationship with sales team and clients. I think the goal is to turn/burn on associates as quickly as possible since those are the more affordable fire and hires, versus management. It's also easier than rebuilding the metrics process, or rotating reporting cycle. Also easier than trying to align Gartner's client service org KPIs with Gartner's sales org KPIs. Much easier to have them continue as two separate islands- competing against each other, punishing each other in their day to day functions in a relationship that turns into a battle over access to each member. Yes. Much easier to poach newly graduated, low expectations, wet behind the ears, bright eyed, google campus loving, solid benes seeking and branded swag searching associates to take on board as they off load the associates they've enjoyed and burnt out... ...but again, when it's was good, it was great.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2020-05-07
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Been with Garter for 4 years and plan to stay"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've seen a lot of negative reviews about sales culture, micromanagement etc. and to be fair I would assume a good portion of these people were not successful or comfortable being coached. I've been with Gartner for 4 years and had positions in the midsize channel, in leadership and in large enterprise sales. Some of the pros are: pay, work life balance, uncapped earnings, the people (met a lot of best friends here), the benefits and the PTO. I've had some inspiring leaders that were invested in my success and took time to make me better. For the most part I've always felt comfortable and not micro managed. I did have one terrible experience with a leader, but fortunately HR handled the situation and the individual was let go after a thorough investigation. In any role you will have some fantastic leaders, some okay ones and hopefully very few bad ones. Luckily at Gartner my overall experience with my managers was positive. In any sales role you will have some luck and also have some really unfortunate situations that are out of your control. Gartner is no different. From my experience the people with positive attitudes and good work ethic eventually find success. I'd recommend Gartner to any sales professional that is eager to succeed and wants to have a work life balance.

    Cons

    Sometimes the forced training and programs are adopted blindly and even though AEs don't find them helpful we have no choice but to continue to do them. With the coronavirus impact, the sales incentive trips were cancelled which is understandable but a big let down for people who are motivated by this. I have seen some fear-based leadership styles from upper management at times which is never motivating. But again, this is more the exception than the rule.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2020-05-13
  5. "Leadership Need Improvement"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love my coworkers and the product is fantastic, needed for many companies out there!

    Cons

    Upper management is hired based off skills in sales, not exactly based on leadership skills which can lead to added pressure for no reason.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2020-05-25
  6. "Challenging but lots of opportunity."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gartner full-time

    Pros

    Environment, peers, and overall organziation.

    Cons

    Sometimes unnecessarily challenging, some septs operate in silos.

    Gartner2020-05-24
  7. "Solid culture, good sales training"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gartner really tries to hire individuals with good character. it's a fairly large organization, so obviously not everyone is perfect, but they're better at it than anywhere else i've worked. the sales quotas are realistic and attainable and the work life balance is fantastic. you can make more money in other tech sales opportunities, but the balance between the earning opportunity, realistic quotas and work/life balance make it tough to beat.

    Cons

    make sure you negotiate pay upfront. if you don't, you'll be stuck at a lower level than someone who came in at higher pay even after you out perform them. the good news is there is tons of growth opportunities for those who perform.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2020-05-21
  8. "growth potential"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gartner is a great place to work. Myself and those around me have been promoted within and encouraged to explore new areas of the business. You're opinions and ideas are heard and you're able to make an impact.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    Gartner2020-05-20
  9. "Luck of the Draw and Timing on Book of Business"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Executive in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They focus on the team, almost too much.

    Cons

    Sometimes they roll out a product

    Continue reading
    Gartner2020-05-20
  10. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Vice-President in Arlington, VA

    I have been working at Gartner full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is very positive

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Gartner2020-05-19
Found 3129 reviews