Gap Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Gap Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4996 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
936 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They press you to push company credit cards pretty hard(in 232 reviews)

  • "Long hours; I would sometimes be there until 1PM closing the store(in 122 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 

      I worked at Gap part-time

      Pros

      Friendly Staff Flexible Hours Employee Discount that's it

      Cons

      Rude Customers This is my only con

      Gap2019-06-25
    • "love"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Waco, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gap part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      discount, fun work environment, decent hours

      Cons

      not enough pay IMO, super hard to get GAP cards yet performance is often based more off of how many cards you get and not how much the customers liked your service.

      Advice to Management

      It'd be awesome if raises were a little higher, or truly based more off of work performance.

      Gap2019-06-24
    • "Excellent experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gap part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      It was a good place to work. Discount is a good thing. Clothes are attractive. Great sales with early access. Nice boss.

      Cons

      Have to stand a lot.

      Advice to Management

      None! Keep it up.

      Gap2019-06-21
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gap part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great Job in GaP great place

      Cons

      No Problems at all there

      Gap2019-06-20
    • "Nice job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Brand Associate 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Gap full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good employee discount and flexible schedule

        Cons

        Nothing specific. Just the usual retail job cons.

        Gap2019-06-20
      • "Boring and hard work that pays well"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Gallatin, TN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Gap full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Pays better than most jobs

        Cons

        Work is fairly boring Sore lower back after most days because you're picking up and unloading heavy boxes

        Gap2019-06-20
      • "It's the typical retail job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Employee reviews happen at the beginning of every year so you can expect a small raise every year. No commission so there is less competition among employees creating a more amicable work environment. No prior experience required and specific training helps further in your career when applying to other jobs.

        Cons

        No benefits for part-time and full-time status is granted only to some managers. Larger stores with more employees tend to have a large and constant influx of new hires and too much demand from new hires in training. Holiday season is always chaotic, which is expected of retail work.

        Advice to Management

        Investing more in training new hires before sending them to work BOH would improve the flow, efficiency and quality of BOH in general.

        Gap2019-06-17
      • "Fun, fast paced, typical retail"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Associate 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Gap part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Very inclusive and encouraging environment to work in

        Cons

        Slow days are slow, and busy days are hectic especially when we happen to be short staffed

        Advice to Management

        There should be a clearer message created for employees to be able to explain to customers about the difference in Gap and Gap Factory stores (as many customers are angry and confused as to why they are not allowed to return items from one to another). There should also be a clearer message to customers upon purchasing online that even though Old Navy and Banana Republic items may be shipped in the same package, they...

        Show More
        Gap2019-06-17
      • "Good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland

          I worked at Gap part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Good to work for Good salary

          Cons

          None that I can think of

          Gap2019-06-16
        • "Great place to work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Gap part-time

          Pros

          Helpful staff and great employees.

          Cons

          repetitive duties, not always organized.

          Gap2019-06-16
        Found 4996 reviews