Gap Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Gap Reviews

Updated 31 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
1,048 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Big emphasis in the last couple years to hard sell credit cards(in 245 reviews)

  • "Working long hours with short breaks(in 139 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Human Resources Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Vibrant, hard-working, mission-driven work culture with opportunities for high achievers

    Cons

    The brands are in a constant state of change to meet shareholder expectations.

    Gap2020-03-31
  2. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was very flexible, and a cool place to work at if you love their clothes & like getting a discount

    Cons

    The manager was a little crazy and unorganized, but everyone else was chill

    Gap2020-03-25
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Milwaukee, WI

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice people, good atmosphere, easy

    Cons

    Never busy so you are constantly just doing nothing, this is not Gaps fault though

    Gap2020-03-25
  4. "They were Great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap part-time

    Pros

    Nice Co-workers and management was pretty cool.

    Cons

    Closing shift was alot of work and it could have been better if the mid-day people would make sure things were clean

    Gap2020-03-25
  5. "Great Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dawsonville, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, decent pay, frequent breaks, in-depth training.

    Cons

    There is a quota for the Gap credit card and rewards program that must be met, so if your'e not good at sales, it will be difficult.

    Continue reading
    Gap2020-03-18
  6. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director, Marketing in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Gap full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is good.

    Cons

    Leadership gives unclear path forward

    Gap2020-03-17
  7. "Casual Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Gap part-time

    Pros

    Casual and relaxed culture whilst working

    Cons

    Management was inefficient at allocating hours

    Gap2020-04-01
  8. "Poor Payout from COVID-19"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed enviroment, friendly management, great sales,great coworkers

    Cons

    Told workers that we would be paid our forecasted hours before the shutdown. After that, it was changed to our paycheck for the COVID-19 would be average hours from December 15 to March 7th which is less than our forecasted hours. Another way for Gap to cut costs.

    Continue reading
    Gap2020-04-01
  9. "works at gap for 4+ years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * employee culture and values * salary and benefits are great * friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    * lot of legacy tech debt needs to be addressed * very few know the systems to migrate and take the risk * ideas are there but the team required for implementation and making it reality is missing.

    Continue reading
    Gap2020-03-11
  10. "Seasonal Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale Associate in Miami, FL

    I worked at Gap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They had great discounts for employees

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities for employees

    Gap2020-03-11
Found 5377 reviews
</>Embed