GE Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

GE Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9497 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
GE CEO H. Lawrence Culp, Jr. (no image)
H. Lawrence Culp, Jr.
273 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Uncertainty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Enterprise Architect in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    World problem solving Compensation Domain expertise opportunity to work in different organizations Customers

    Cons

    Lack of promotion Strategic vision unclear and ever changing Future of GE

    Advice to Management

    Change the culture to focus on the customer first Be more transparent

    GE2019-09-15
  2. "Still Going Strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Program Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of smart people, generally a stable business and a diverse portfolio of opportunities

    Cons

    The company is still struggling to find the correct structure since the down sizings of 2017/2018. Cash flow issues limit travel and training opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Need to truly walk the walk when you talk about employee development - we keep hearing about this but there are too many employees that are not get meaningful opportunities for career development and growth

    GE2019-09-14
  3. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Support Engineer in Ciudad de México
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    international company top notch tech

    Cons

    slow growth in a big company

    Advice to Management

    no advise to management at this time

    GE2019-09-12
  4. "General Electric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good people Constant Learning

    Cons

    Paycheck Far away from the city

    GE2019-09-11
  5. "Been pretty good to me for 3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plant Engineer in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    permissive time off ("unlimited time off aslong as manager approves it", good for young folks with less responsibility but once you get busy you can be denied time off. In the project world were we have luls this has been nice.

    Cons

    Large corporation stuff, orders from above dictated down which screw up things because some MBA know it all who has never changed a tire in his life had a "great idea".

    Advice to Management

    Have a spine against corperate

    GE2019-09-11
  6. "GE Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer 

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    Experienced workforce who were willing to help.

    Cons

    Not many development opportunities.

    GE2019-09-10
  7. "Review on WOrking at GE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance interest problems to solve good technologies

    Cons

    slow in process no other cons

    GE2019-09-10
  8. "One of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at GE full-time

    Pros

    You are close to cutting edge technology

    Cons

    Not lean, old timers are sitting on key positions.

    GE2019-09-08
  9. "Overall Good, Employee friendly, but slow growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Engineer in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good and talented team, great amount of work for development, Highly customer focussed.

    Cons

    Slow growth of employees, Too much pressure on employees for performance, Few managers are not supportive.

    GE2019-09-08
  10. "Global Sourcing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Sourcing Manager in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Technology, Flexibility, Candor, Diversity, Empowerment, Global

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, Speed, Innovation, Long term vision, customer focus

    Advice to Management

    Decentralize, focus on innovation and have a long term vision

    GE2019-09-06
Found 9497 reviews
</>Embed