GE Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

GE Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
GE CEO and Chairman H. Lawrence Culp, Jr. (no image)
H. Lawrence Culp, Jr.
409 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance and working culture(in 577 reviews)

  • "The work environment is very casual for such a large company and it has really turned around financially in the past year(in 413 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE

    Pros

    Good supportive people to share their exp

    Cons

    Not specifically anything bad all well

    GE2014-12-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Project Manager in Auckland, Auckland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE

    Pros

    GE was my only past employer whose employ I was unreservedly happy to come back to. And I did. GE inspires with its vision and its leadership, its willingness to enter difficult markets where there is a real need for critical services. The word integrity has great resonance for me. Jeff Immelt spoke of investment in Green before it became wide spread and fashionable.

    Cons

    I have now left GE's employ for the second time. GE was unable, for me, to translate its values into actions in my small part of its enormous business. For me integrity means honesty 1st and foremost. It means other things to other people, and I had great difficulty seeing certain behaviours as having integrity without better insights being shared or communicated. GE is focused on the numbers first and foremost, and are very tactical within short time horizons. As yet they seem to lack the true strategic and visionary DNA needed for it to be a star in the software industry. This has far reaching impacts into a small vulnerable country where our future is always uncertain, and we need a long game to survive. Software customers also need a long game, as they invest heavily and become shackled to their suppliers. GE recruits highly capable and resilient people, and then disempowers them with US control and command, PR-based communications and messaging, incongruence between word and action, and a lack of effective local leadership, tools and resources. It becomes just about being a survivor in a difficult environment.

    Continue reading
    GE2015-08-26
  3. "Credit Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Credit Officer in Auckland, Auckland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE for more than a year

    Pros

    Name recognition, Corporate experience is valued on cv.

    Cons

    Does not encourage growth for employees.

    Continue reading
    GE2015-08-16
  4. "Good company to work for.have high morals and ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for.have high morals and ethics. good support from management for employee growth

    Cons

    very less onsite opportunities for employees

    Continue reading
    GE2020-02-14
  5. "Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Specialist 

    I worked at GE full-time

    Pros

    Work Life balance. Supportive Management.

    Cons

    Laid back environment. More of like a retirement place.

    GE2020-02-14
  6. "Company is in constant change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Finance in Paris

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    open style communication; change is constant and you always keep doing new things; allow flexibility in working hours (depends on the managers) - so possibility to balance work and private life

    Cons

    lately little focus on employees development and career progression; on going reorganizations and biz realignment in the last couple of years

    GE2020-02-13
  7. "Great working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager Procurement in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing values and people to work with and a common vision

    Cons

    Work life balance is difficult at times with a lot of US based calls at night

    GE2020-02-11
  8. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment and compensation

    Cons

    No cons come to mind

    GE2020-02-11
  9. "A good place for a long term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Finance Manager 

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    Pay is okay, benefits are great. You can really grow your career if you get the right exposure and are okay to move around from location to location

    Cons

    Hard to gauge your impact on the wider organization. The whole company is so big that it's easy to get lost.

    GE2020-02-10
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    Large company with a variety of different roles and very talented employees.

    Cons

    It can be easy to get lost in a large company without a high-level sponsor/advocate.

    GE2020-02-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9914 reviews
</>Embed