Eastman Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Eastman Reviews

Updated 15 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Eastman CEO Mark J. Costa
Mark J. Costa
695 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Decision making is a very lengthy process, an employee needs to have a champion to have a career(in 42 reviews)

  • "Small town, large company -- transitioning to global company is difficult(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time

    Pros

    Good shared vision and progression towards future growth.

    Cons

    Still think like a technology push company trying to prove conclusions.

    Advice to Management

    Value your people and allow them to makes choices with a relative level of confidence without drowning in data.

    Eastman2019-10-15
  2. "Senior Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Buyer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Transparent organization with clear vision and positive environment.

    Cons

    No transport facility but compensated by work from home option

    Eastman2019-10-15
  3. "Heading the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Person in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company innovation is solving problems the world needs solved (e.g. circular economy) so a strong purpose; seeing improvements in inclusion and diversity and commitment to employees with more of a focus now in these areas; in the long term the investments in growth along with the reshaping of the business will pay off

    Cons

    Short term financial challenges while trying to make change in the midst of a difficult external environment; change is slow because still a lot of people who want things to stay the way they have been in the past and resist change, and management slow to deal with that

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget to invest in your employees even during difficult financial times as you need your employees to feel valued and give their discretionary effort to make the turnaround needed actually happen

    Eastman2019-10-07
  4. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eastman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great job and people and location

    Cons

    Pay scale and hours and environment

    Eastman2019-10-03
  5. "Collaborative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Demand Planner 

    I have been working at Eastman full-time

    Pros

    Nice inclusive culture with good work life balance

    Cons

    Difficult to move within the company

    Eastman2019-09-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not the same Eastman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Kingsport, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay, there isn’t anymore

    Cons

    Management, plant is short staffed in operations and maintenance

    Advice to Management

    Get back in touch with the employees and quit moving operations management level people around so often. Most have no idea what is going on anymore

    Eastman2019-10-09
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Rotterdam
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eastman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met many great people there International environment American management

    Cons

    Slow-paced, which is typical for large companies

    Eastman2019-09-21
  8. "Stable company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kuantan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very stable company Very good size A lot to learn Great team members

    Cons

    Sometime can be slow at make decision Not much decision can be done at site level

    Advice to Management

    Need to put much value on experience

    Eastman2019-09-18
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be a 5 star company now a 2-3 star"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company and the people are great, we make many amazing products and are great innovators. I been with the company for a few years now and I have seen a downhill effect, and only wish they read some of these reviews and the internal surveys and take them to heart. Benefits are great and company is understanding.

    Cons

    Pay is, OK. Not the best and not the worst. They are slow to react to easy solutions and they need to get in touch with the employeess and sales team and make changes based on that and what people see in the field. They are too focused on cutting costs and to the "investors" its kinda annoying, Yes its important but focus on the basics and that will all work it self out.

    Advice to Management

    Not too impressed with the CEO, not the worst but not the best. I do like alot of the VP's and directors though. I think the downhill has slowed and if we can catch the slip and focus on the basics and the employees and get rid the the Toxic environment (because there are times or departments where it is) and working conditions we could easily be back at a 5 star company and our stock, sales, and savings will all... get better.

    Show More
    Eastman2019-09-25
  10. "Very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, wfh facility, people and good hikes compared to market.

    Cons

    Lower management, slow growth in terms of responsibilities.

    Eastman2019-09-15
Found 1529 reviews