Cornell University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Cornell University Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University CEO Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
132 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ithaca is a nice town to live in, albeit slightly expensive for the middle of nowhere(in 66 reviews)

  • "Great place to work, great town to live in(in 55 reviews)

Cons
  • "No downsides; winters are cold in Ithaca(in 131 reviews)

  • "It can be a bit too cold during winters(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love this University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, People, Atmosphere, Job responsibility’s, culture, office, time off (holidays, sick, vacay, etc).

    Cons

    Commute (not their fault obviously), bus ride from car to office

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! Love the monthly meetings to assess performance and just be able to chat. Love the team lunches and meetings. Love the involvement and the push to grow and learn via various trainings offered randomly.

    Cornell University2019-12-06
  2. "Good location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Course Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ithaca is a beautiful place to live

    Cons

    It becomes very cold in the winter

    Cornell University2019-12-06
  3. "I loved working at Cornell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Manager 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    Very flexible working hours

    Cons

    I have nothing to complain about

    Cornell University2019-11-25
  4. "Lots of variety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Veterinary Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Variety in patient caseload, lotsbof unique circumstances

    Cons

    Little to no opportunity for advancement . Poor senior staff structure, little to no recourse for under-performing staff

    Cornell University2019-12-08
  5. "Working as a TA at Cornell University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    I feels good to help students.

    Cons

    The time each week is a little bit long.

    Cornell University2019-11-19
  6. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues and excellent research support

    Cons

    None come to mind. It is an awesome place to work.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Cornell University2019-11-16
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Dean in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great team, valued, good balance

    Cons

    No Cons for Cornell Iniversity!

    Cornell University2019-11-13
  8. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    - flexible hours - excellent management

    Cons

    - no cons really, I had a great time!

    Cornell University2019-11-25
  9. "Fun but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being a TA at Cornell is a lot of fun since you get to help students learn material better, and it's genuinely interesting to get to know how people conceptualize course material differently than you do. It's also a good way to make connections within the computer science major.

    Cons

    The pay isn't great, but there lots of non-monetary benefits to being a TA, so this isn't that big an issue.

    Cornell University2019-11-21
  10. "Great workplace@"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ugrad Advisor in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, hours, culture, pay, inclusion.

    Cons

    Ithaca is a small town and it gets very cold in the winter.

    Cornell University2019-11-04
Found 1254 reviews