Cornell University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Cornell University Reviews

Updated 20 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1211 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Martha E. Pollack
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ithaca is a nice town to live in, albeit slightly expensive for the middle of nowhere(in 66 reviews)

  • "Great place to work, great town to live in(in 53 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ithaca is isolated from the rest of society -- NYC is a 4 hour drive minimum(in 127 reviews)

  • "It can be a bit too cold during winters(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great work study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Library Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    Quiet space to decompress, workload is not difficult

    Cons

    Sometimes boring, but that’s not really an issue

    Cornell University2019-07-20
  2. "Growth and Belonging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training and Orientation Coordinator in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff with in my department are extremely supportive and push for both personal and career growth. There are also a of learning opportunities and professional development opportunities available to you. The management aslo appears to really care about you and work balance life.

    Cons

    Cost of living in Ithaca is horrendously high, so you sort of have to live farther away in order to afford anything truly livable.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to grow the community and keep fighting for us to maintain a work balance life.

    Cornell University2019-07-19
  3. "Cornell University in Ithaca, Assistant Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Director 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience, good pay, good benefits

    Cons

    location, expensive to live, hard to be young

    Cornell University2019-07-18
  4. "Very good for research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quite and beautiful campus with a lot of collaboration across labs

    Cons

    Can be challenging for social life

    Cornell University2019-07-08

    Cornell University Response

    July 12, 2019

    Thanks for taking time to provide feedback! Socializing can be a challenge in a new town, but with all that's going on at Cornell as well as in the lively Ithaca community, it's often a matter of knowing where to look. A new website called liveinithaca.org features some great resources ...

    Show More
  5. "excellent experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture as an ivy. In my department, PhD students get very professional instructions from amazing advisors and we are allowed to take courses freely offered by different schools over the university due to the inter-discipline nature of our research. Good life-work balance.

    Cons

    The location is a little isolated, but it is ok if you want to focus on your research.

    Cornell University2019-07-01

    Cornell University Response

    July 12, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We're glad you're enjoying your experience at Cornell!

  6. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pays well given cheap cost of living

    Cons

    none that ic an think of

    Cornell University2019-06-26

    Cornell University Response

    July 12, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback -- we really appreciate it, and are glad your experience has been positive here!

  7. "don't expect promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Support Specialist in Ithaca, NY
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work is somewhat flexible, summer and fall are very pretty

    Cons

    no promotion even you did above and beyond, winter is cold and snows a lot

    Cornell University2019-07-09

    Cornell University Response

    July 12, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide a review; we truly value all feedback. While there's not much we can do about Ithaca winters, we work hard to provide support and empower employees with resources to advance their careers, both within and beyond Cornell. We've been expanding ...

    Show More
  8. "Great benefits, beautiful location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Staff Writer in Ithaca, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and decent salaries

    Cons

    Inconsistent enforcement of university policies

    Cornell University2019-07-06

    Cornell University Response

    July 15, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide a review. Feedback is important to help us continually improve our workplace. We invite you to use this anonymous survey link to provide greater detail or recommendations: https://cornell.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3EitErAP80n9YkR

  9. "Catering food server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Worker in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good managers and supervisors to work with. Food perks.

    Cons

    Long hour shift/standing time. Very tiring at night

    Cornell University2019-06-20

    Cornell University Response

    June 25, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. The folks at Cornell Catering do an amazing job!

  10. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    flexible hours, plenty of resources

    Cons

    none, working here is great

    Cornell University2019-06-20

    Cornell University Response

    June 25, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to write a review. We're glad your experience working at Cornell has been positive.

Found 1211 reviews