Chubb Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Chubb Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Chubb Chairman and CEO  Evan Greenberg
Evan Greenberg
301 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay and benefits, good work life balance, friendly culture(in 119 reviews)

  • "Good atmosphere, good benefits and competitive salary(in 65 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ace bought Chubb and good people left the company along with Chubb’s traditional values(in 122 reviews)

  • "Work life balance could be better(in 61 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Commercial Portfolio Manager 

    I worked at Chubb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good salary, good schedule, good benefits

    Cons

    work load time use micro managing

    Chubb2020-01-16
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aggghhhjjk in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chubb full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    active, professional, diverse, respect, leader

    Cons

    Systems, large, cumbersome, compesation less than peers

    Chubb2020-01-10
  3. "Personal Lines Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chubb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, good work life balance, friendly culture

    Cons

    All departments were different, some were more engaging with employees than others

    Chubb2020-01-07
  4. "Chubb insured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant 

    I have been working at Chubb full-time

    Pros

    work life balance is good

    Cons

    low salary, hard to climb up

    Chubb2020-01-06
  5. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Detail Clerk in Simsbury, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chubb full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    18 years of experience great teamplayer

    Cons

    Did not finish earning my bachelors degree at URI in Kingston, RI

    Advice to Management

    I learn quickly have done large amounts of workloads per day.

    Chubb2020-01-03
  6. "A bit lame"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Business Analyst in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chubb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Remuneration isn't bad, Induction process was smooth

    Cons

    First interview was done on Skype with a senior manager who had his camera off, felt a bit awkward. The very first 'meet & a greet' with a senior manager went something like: he drew a hierarchy and show off how many people are under him! Not very impressive in this day and time that most companies try to be a fast sort of hierarchy! 2 weeks into the role and my computer wasn't still ready. Some senior managers are extremely unprofessional! They try to show off their power to other managers and during this battle the quality of job and employees are jeopardised. There was not much diversity!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Embrace technology! Stop making silly decisions that even tiny companies 10 years ago wouldn't do! Also, do what you preach.

    Chubb2020-01-10
  7. "Challenging Environment, Good Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chubb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Chubb retains exceptional talent. Employees are very knowledgeable, hard working and bright.

    Cons

    The work environment can be challenging at times. I was blessed with a good manager, but it can become a dog eat dog environment depending on how high up you are on the food chain.

    Chubb2020-01-09
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Whitehouse Station, NJ

    I worked at Chubb full-time

    Pros

    Good company to gain insurance experience in. Managers were helpful, and genuinely wanted their UA/UW staff to succeed. Training overall was positive. Flexible scheduling (WFH/PTO). Opportunities to learn in various business units were available for those interested to gain experience.

    Cons

    Salaries below industry standards.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Continuous recognition and employee engagement goes further than you think.

    Chubb2019-12-22
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Analyst 

    I have been working at Chubb full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and perks here

    Cons

    Inflexible working hours is a neg

    Advice to Management

    Allow more scope to wfh and flexible hours, not just 9-5

    Chubb2019-12-19
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Underwriter in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chubb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management and the best product out there. Strong financials and underwriting acumen comparative to other companies.

    Cons

    Needs better training at the beginning of your career.

    Chubb2019-12-18
Found 1261 reviews