CIBC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

CIBC Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
CIBC President & CEO Victor Dodig
Victor Dodig
1,186 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "CIBC Capital Markets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Control Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid back environment, great managers

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    CIBC2019-12-13
  2. "CIBC has given me great amount of knowledge in the financial sector."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Services Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Endless potential for a career path

    Cons

    The commitment required to upkeep performance levels

    Advice to Management

    Focus on client experience instead of staff performance requirements

    CIBC2019-12-14
  3. "Decent bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy going work environment. Dynamic workplace

    Cons

    Lowest salary in all the 5 big banks

    CIBC2019-12-12
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CIBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really enjoyed working at CIBC. The culture is great on the technology team and there are many opportunities for career progression.

    Cons

    Like any large organization, the amount of process and bureaucracy can sometimes be overbearing.

    CIBC2019-12-11
  5. "Not sure what to put here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant, Communications & Engagement in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Living in the past. Some employees are promoted into roles they shouldn't be given. A lot of unqualified candidates climbing the corporate ladder.

    Advice to Management

    Be aware of who is capable, and don't overwork them. There are so many incapable employees hiding at CIBC and they're not expected to do as much, so capable and hardworking employees are given more work with greater expectation.

    CIBC2019-12-09
  6. "Manager Client Advice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MCA 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career growth opportunities. Great team. Awesomeculture and environment.

    Cons

    Work life balance can be better for management. Internal software applications/Technology needs significant improvements. Pay should be restructured and more closely aligned with competition.

    CIBC2019-12-09
  7. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong focus on diversity and youth.

    Cons

    Compliance drives a lot of process.

    CIBC2019-12-09
  8. "Good work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at CIBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young workforce, upper management promote friendly work evnironment

    Cons

    don't appreciate the long hours employees put in

    CIBC2019-12-07
  9. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at CIBC part-time

    Pros

    Was fun to work at

    Cons

    High turnover rate with managers

    CIBC2019-12-04
  10. "a good starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CIBC full-time

    Pros

    good work life balance, good place to learn about how financial institution works

    Cons

    pay is low comparing with other banks

    CIBC2019-12-03
Found 2988 reviews
</>Embed