Brookson Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Brookson Reviews

Updated 1 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
81%
Recommend to a Friend
Brookson CEO Andrew Fahey
Andrew Fahey
0 Rating
  1. "Dynamic, Fast Paced, Supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Accountant in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of potential to develop and progression is encouraged, with support given. Dynamic business always looking to be a market leader in their innovation and products/services offered. Friendly atmosphere, and a good team structure

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Brookson2020-04-01
  2. "Knowledgeable and innovative accountancy firm that gives you room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountancy Services Manager in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been at Brookson for a year, and I can honestly say it is the best job I have ever had! Making real drives towards elevating the customer experience while helping them meet their responsibilities is great to be a part of and we have a really strong leadership team to take us in the right direction.

    Cons

    Sometimes the business park can be a traffic nightmare, so we have flexible shift patterns to avoid the worst times

    Continue reading
    Brookson2020-04-01
  3. "Most supportive company i've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Executive in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - All the staff are so lovely, friendly and helpful (especially to new starters) - Members of the Senior Management team are all really approachable and always listen - My team is amazing - they've helped me develop so much - Very supportive management

    Cons

    - Can be quite fast-paced which can be seen as both a pro and a con

    Brookson2020-03-31
  4. "People Focused Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Manager in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoy working at Brookson because the health and well being of the staff is given a high priority. This is shown in the effort put forward in arranging events, team building and staff incentives. Senior management are very involved and provide open avenues of communication.

    Cons

    At the present time I can think of no criticism.

    Continue reading
    Brookson2020-03-31
  5. "Progressive, agile, with a strong people culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always looking for opportunities in the market to fuel growth, supported by two key fundamentals - Great people, and leading tech. None of the red tape that you often see in a corporate environment, which means if an idea can help our customers, or our business grow, then let's get on with it! Very open communication style, and supportive culture Resilient - responds to adversity very well. Enabling 100% home-working in a matter of days in response to COVID19 testament to that.

    Cons

    The pace of our business excites most, but for some it can be a little daunting. Our pace create opportunity, and challenge - most of us thrive of this, but it's not going to be everyone's cup of tea!

    Continue reading
    Brookson2020-03-31
  6. "Fantastic place to work! Nearly been working at Brookson 15 years!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly, hard working, environment to work

    Cons

    None that I have come across

    Continue reading
    Brookson2020-03-30
  7. "Good start and money for fresh grad -- not good for the soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Warrington, North West England, England

    I worked at Brookson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management looked after new hires. Training is well structured. Money was reasonable for the position.

    Cons

    The company offered a relatively buggy and sub par product which meant a lot of complaints. Company tried to automate too much without enough real accounting experts on hand to address concerns. This meant a lot of the time you had to 'fob off' your caller and they often became wise to it. Usual problem or callers getting frustrated at having to repeat themselves if they call in numerous times. Sales would sell membership packages to people incapable of running their own accounts -- i.e people who couldnt speak english or were not IT or accountancy literate. These people would get themselvs in trouble with the HMRC. Demoralising dealing with these people as you very much felt like you worked with the bad guy.

    Continue reading
    Brookson2019-11-05

    Brookson Response

    November 11, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, it was great to read your positive comments about our training programmes and salaries.We constantly review our internal training programmes. Our aim is to ensure all employees are knowledgeable and engaged in their roles, so it was great to read your positive comments.We were really sorry to read your comments surrounding our service, our model aims to allow our clients contact with both our Customer Service and Accountants Team. This we believe gives our customers a more personal and tailored service.

    Continue reading
  8. "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Onboarding Partner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Non at all avoid at all cost

    Cons

    Everything cramped desks, poor training, suppressed they are still going

    Continue reading
    Brookson2019-10-05

    Brookson Response

    October 8, 2019Marketing Manager

    We were really sorry to read how you felt about your time with Brookson, this is definitely not how we would want our employees to feel. We take on board your comment about the cramped desks. Currently we’re in the process of renovating our office spaces and have recently leased a third building in Warrington to ensure comfortable surroundings for our employees whilst work is being completed. In regard to training, we have a dedicated Learning and Development Team and more recently have employed an Operational Training Manager to deliver both Customer Service and Technical programmes. Our people are at the forefront of everything we do here at Brookson, any feedback we receive gives us the opportunity to improve further and make Brookson the best place to work. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

    Continue reading
  9. "Didnt enjoy working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brookson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture Club is brilliant and come up with some lovely little incentives and extras. Especially the Xmas markets and hampers.

    Cons

    The company as a whole is extremely cliquey. And it tends to be the management level that is the worst for this. Lots of gossiping and bad mouthing about their teams etc. Managers all seem to be out for their team and not the company as a whole and throw others under the bus and pass blame easily. Massive pressure on employees to just 'work harder' to perform in teams that quite clearly have internal issues or are not operating well. Did not find it to be a genuine environment or positive place to be a lot of the time.

    Brookson2019-09-16
Found 50 reviews