Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Booz Allen Hamilton Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4599 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Booz Allen Hamilton CEO Horacio D. Rozanski
Horacio D. Rozanski
935 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance is hard to maintain(in 202 reviews)

  • "Burns through people by chasing awful work to maintain company revenue after going public(in 101 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (419)

    "Great people, terrible business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great. Everyone -- even the difficult types -- are eager to work and excel. There are some senior officers with questionable morality, but most people here are great people to work with.

    Cons

    1. Federal clients. Don't forget that you'll move at their pace, not yours. 2. The nature of the job means that sooner or later you'll be strategizing ways to get more money from the client (i.e. federal government), regardless of whether or not you'll actually add value. BAH runs on government money, a large chunk from DoD, and thus is part of the bigger problem we have in this country with fiscal responsibility....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm leaving this job for two reasons, despite being hand-picked and groomed for greater responsibility by senior management. 1. You weren't paying me enough to do the job; especially when you factor in the amount of stress this job puts on a human being, the amount of time I sacrificed with my family, the amount of guilt this job inspired in me as an American. 2. The job is not meaningful to anyone who doesn't lust...

    Show More
    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-09-15
  2. "Really cares about its employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked for Booz Allen for 3 years as a Sr. Consultant. They have a very rigorous self review process every year and good benefits. I really felt valued as a team member and contributor and the training budget was very good. I only left because the contract I was working on had ended. I would not hesitate to go back and have thought about it many times.

    Cons

    I felt the pay rate could have been higher.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-07-16
  3. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good experience. I worked at the client site and our contract was different than a lot of other contracts, in that we were a little less formal than suit and tie. The company provides good compensation and benefits, and management was generally very professional.

    Cons

    You live and die by the contract.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-07-15
  4. "Great Employer, Great Benefits, Smart Team Memembers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Provides good opportunity to move up in the organization and encourages continued professional education.

    Cons

    Can Be hard to find your niche within your team.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-07-05
  5. "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time

    Pros

    Great people and great work life balance.

    Cons

    Do not join Booz if you are interested in commercial consulting. The teams are small and difficult to get engaged with.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-07-03
  6. "Slight discrimination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Decent compensation with strong team culture.

      Cons

      Not easy to rise if you do not get connected to certain influential managers.

      Booz Allen Hamilton2019-07-17
    • "Good Company, Bad Fit"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Supply Chain Consultant in Washington, DC

      I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Benefits, Culture, and nice offices

      Cons

      Management will tell you they want you take projects that you want to do, but then when the time comes will push you to settle on different roles; military benefits being cut

      Advice to Management

      don't hire capability personnel without there being potential opportunity in their field

      Booz Allen Hamilton2019-07-16
    • "It's Who You Know"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great Company and a lot of great people

      Cons

      A lot of cliques and immature behavior - gossiping and not doing work. If upper management is too dependent on employees who are unprofessional, disregarding company policy or being abusive to co-workers or even clients, they will look the other way rather than fire them and have to step in, even if only temporarily.

      Advice to Management

      Don't reward bad behavior. Don't promote people who just delegate and get mad if they have to actually step in and be a manager. When departments fall apart, ask why. My department fell apart and it got ridiculous - all because of the manager who sat at home and delegated. It shouldn't be who you know that gets you promoted.

      Booz Allen Hamilton2019-07-16
    • "Booz Allen"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time

        Pros

        Great people to work with

        Cons

        None that I can think of

        Booz Allen Hamilton2019-07-01
      • "Great opportunities but management needs work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Herndon, VA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Work culture, teleworking, life work balance is great,

        Cons

        A lot of job swap and no recognition or promotion for the hard work.

        Advice to Management

        Treat all employees the same no favoritism with promotions and give bonuses and. Make sure to hire managers who know the manager role they are hired into.

        Booz Allen Hamilton2019-07-14
      Found 4599 reviews