Advance Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Advance Financial Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Advance Financial CEO Tina Hodges
Tina Hodges
247 Ratings
Pros
  • "company starts off with great pay and offers great benefits(in 46 reviews)

  • "Good pay good benefits staff is nice at some stores(in 42 reviews)

Cons
  • "having a set schedule would be great, but i think we are working to get there(in 20 reviews)

  • "The store is open 24/7 therefore some of the hours may be undesirable(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place of employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid health insurance offered, affordable dental/vision insurance offered, etc. Great pay, annual raises, paid volunteer time, great work environment.

    Cons

    There are no cons personally for me.

    Advance Financial2019-11-14
  2. "Employee first environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A company that always looks for ways to enhance the employee experience. Owners that ask for suggestions regarding health care, 401K, and student loan debit. A company that offers free health, and buy up options for all employees. Top rate pay for driven individuals, and those looking for an amazing work environment.

    Cons

    No negatives working for Advance Financial.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for all you do to help improve our work experience.

    Advance Financial2019-10-29
  3. "This is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Low-stress environment, friendly and encouraging management, well structured, thorough training process, total hours worked, great mission and core values, amazing benefits.

    Cons

    No set schedules, sometimes alone in the work place.

    Advice to Management

    Try testing out set schedules, it may not work for everyone but it could increase QoL for some places.

    Advance Financial2019-10-27
  4. "Easy job, but with no work-life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Smithville, TN

    I worked at Advance Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job with good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Poor upper management with no work-life balance.

    Advance Financial2019-10-02
  5. "Not a career. I would highly not recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Morristown, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Advance Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Pay if you are just starting out of high school. Other than that the pay is really not that good.

    Cons

    Management, Work Life Balance, Culture, Schedules. You will constantly deal with people leaving because the job to be honest is horrible. You are stuck behind bullet proof glass staring outside all day maybe seeing 1-10 customers a day by yourself. You will be bored out of your mind. This job is perfect for a retired person looking for employment who just wants to read. If you want anything out of life this place... isn’t for you. Huge mistake trying it out. They will lie to get you into the door but I promise you will see the truth in no time. They don’t care about you or if you have an actual college degree. This place is not helping the community.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Good luck.

    Advance Financial2019-09-25
  6. "Great company, could be better though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company pays for health insurance, which is a great benefit. It's a pretty high deductible but you can't complain about free. There are buy up options for those who chose to. The company offers a good bonus structure. Id does require your store to be profitable to bonus though, so if you've got a new store it may take some time.

    Cons

    The company 401K match could be better.. it's currently at 5%, but given the revenue of this company I believe 8-10% would be more appropiate. This is the lowest 401K match I've ever received. Also, the ability to move from store manager to ops seems to have stopped now that the company is not growing their number of stores so rapidly anymore.

    Advice to Management

    Please increase the 401K match. It wouldn't do a huge number to the companies bottom line, but an 8-10% match would put this benefit in line with the rest of the benefits. If you want to encourage seniority, maybe have the match increase to 10% after say a year or two years. It would be greatly appreciated and really help us save for our families future.

    Advance Financial2019-09-08
  7. "Crazy work hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Advance Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, good employees, close to the house

    Cons

    The hours are CRAZY!! Very inconsistent, not a good job for a single parent like myself

    Advance Financial2019-08-16
  8. "Best place to learn how to sell loans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Murfreesboro, TN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advance Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the pay was and also the schedule

    Cons

    your always alone and sometimes teller won show up and you might stay for the shift

    Advance Financial2019-07-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The pros don’t outweigh the cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advance Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits - 401k, student loan payment, flexible schedules (Pro & con)

    Cons

    The hours! The flexible schedules are good if your manager will work with your needs. Otherwise it’s terrible. You’re stuck working every weekend and holiday. But corporate? They’re off enjoying their weekends and holidays with family while we are at work. The pay isn’t too great. If you work a lot of overtime its good but who wants to live at work. Management pretends to care. If you’re family or in the clique... you’ll do great!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Friends helping friends needs to be followed by management and corporate. Stop forcing good reviews.

    Advance Financial2019-08-26
  10. "Pays great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advance Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, such as employer paid insurance, 401k matched 5%, company pays toward student loans, and paid volunteer time.

    Cons

    No life, schedule all over the place. Poor management, glorified teller who makes schedules is what a manager basically is for a store.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees the way this company claims to do.

    Advance Financial2019-07-25
Found 426 reviews