Advance America Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Advance America Reviews

Updated 5 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Advance America CEO and President James Ovenden
James Ovenden
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Bonus, advancement and all the sick,vac, and paid holidays(in 21 reviews)

  • "Has good benefits, pto, quarterly bonuses, paid holidays(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "This company does not care about their employees whatsoever the upper management is clueless they have no knowledge of what working in a store is like(in 58 reviews)

  • "Collections has its various challenges(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great People. Good company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Advance America full-time

    Pros

    Great people! Fun work environment! Love helping people.

    Cons

    None so far new to company

    Advance America2020-03-05
  2. "Loan FACILITATOR Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Loan Processor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advance America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Time flexibility and Good approach.

    Cons

    No challenge because we are one family here.

    Advance America2020-03-05
  3. "I like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Center Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advance America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Every Sunday off,401k match, health ins, dental, vision, paid holidays and PTO.

    Cons

    Compensation and some managers think they are better than you, talked to as if you don’t know what your doing

    Advance America2020-02-25
  4. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Center Manager in Riverside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advance America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bonus, advancement and all the sick,vac, and paid holidays

    Cons

    None what so ever thanks

    Continue reading
    Advance America2020-02-21
  5. "Loved my co workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Indianapolis, IN

    I worked at Advance America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced environment Relatively easy Can network with local banks

    Cons

    No real room for growth Hours suck

    Advance America2020-02-12
  6. "DDO’s and RDO’s are sharks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Manager in Warren, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advance America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, not predatory lending.

    Cons

    To much stress to build and solicit businesses to promote Advance America’s services to their customers when they cannot afford car repairs, pet bills, personal bills etc.

    Advance America2020-02-24
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ocala, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advance America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love my job and coworkers are friendly.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to share at this time

    Continue reading
    Advance America2020-02-08
  8. "Great Start for Financial Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Center Manager in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advance America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved the people and community. Loved working alone at my own pace. The company is closed for all Federal Holidays.

    Cons

    Fast paced and quite demanding at times.

    Advance America2020-02-16
  9. "A good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advance America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very laid back and easy job. They work well with you when things come up in life they will try and help with scheduling as much as they can (depends on DDO) You meet a lot of people and establish good friendships.

    Cons

    pay suck, we do more work then what we get paid for. Laws are changing which means the company has to as well so seems like every month there is something new we have to change on how we run the centers. There is room for advancement but only if you are a CSR. Centers are closing left and right and there can only be one center manager and one assistant manager, and the number of staff all depends on the number of accounts your center has. They keep hiring new people when they shouldn't be and should just be focusing on the employees they do have because you never know when you will get the news that your center is closing. They do offer severance pay if your center does close. But if there is a position open for you with in 20 miles you either take that or nothing at all. And you only get the number of pay checks they years you have been employed but they cap it out at 6 months. Great for the employees who have been there 13+ years because they do deserve it, but for employees who have worked there butt off at for this company for 5 years will only get 5 paychecks from them. that just doesn't seem very fair to me.

    Continue reading
    Advance America2020-01-14
  10. "Its not the best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agency Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advance America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Has good benefits, pto, quarterly bonuses, paid holidays.

    Cons

    Long work hours, only you and another person working together.

    Advance America2020-01-17
Found 627 reviews