ASDA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

ASDA Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
ASDA CEO Roger Burnley
Roger Burnley
315 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly with good pay nice atmosphere(in 156 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours which was helpful as I was a student so I worked seasonally(in 155 reviews)

Cons
  • "Certain Managers who would not do their own work but got section leaders to do it all for them but then took all the credit(in 158 reviews)

  • "Long hours at times, blame game(in 93 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA part-time

    Pros

    Friendly Staff, Work is easy

    Cons

    None, there are really no cons.

    ASDA2019-10-17
  2. "What a place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Wheatley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management care about you as individuals and try their best to help you help the customers.

    Cons

    Sometimes the hours can be long!

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting the junior staff.

    ASDA2019-10-16
  3. "Rotated stock and replenished fruit and veg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Colleague in Lincoln, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and accomodating working conditions

    Cons

    Became tedious due to repetitive nature of work

    ASDA2019-10-16
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly environment, staff always happy to help when you’re new

    Cons

    Can be slow sorting out new employees, or getting them a till log on

    Advice to Management

    Make sure every employee feels valued and sure what to do

    ASDA2019-10-16
  5. "Warehouse Operative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Warehouse Operative/Picker 

    I have been working at ASDA full-time

    Pros

    Opportunitys to move into different departments

    Cons

    They hire managers because they have a degree rather than having a candidate who's knowledgable in the industry

    ASDA2019-10-15
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor 

    I worked at ASDA part-time

    Pros

    Good very good and excellent

    Cons

    Que, rajn and good busy

    ASDA2019-10-14
  7. "Good student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This was a good job to have as a university student. Flexible hours with opportunity for overtime. Always paid on time. Staff (mostly) friendly and supportive. Optional staff nights out available.

    Cons

    Often under-staffed so I was frequently rushed off my feet, especially when working in the self-scan area. Expected to serve too many customers at once - making customers angry and unpleasant.

    Advice to Management

    Please make sure the self-scan area has at least three employees working at any one time. It is impossible for one or two colleagues to efficiently staff the area - leading to low staff morale and increased chance of customers stealing.

    ASDA2019-10-14
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at ASDA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team and work place

    Cons

    Late shifts are sometimes annoying

    ASDA2019-10-11
  9. "ASDA job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Floor Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends

    I have been working at ASDA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good money for what the job actually is and what you have to do on a daily basis. Yearly bonus that other retail empoyers don't always offer.

    Cons

    Some managers are un-organised. You question the skillset and experience of some of the General Store manager, as they might not be very good at their jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Look after your colleagues and ensure that not only the customer is happy, but the colleagues as well. Happy workers = happy customers.

    ASDA2019-10-11
  10. "Hgv"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hgv Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay good benefits discounts pension

    Cons

    Work weekend not too good

    ASDA2019-10-10
Found 2686 reviews
</>Embed