Walt Disney Company Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6,473 of over 8,825 reviews

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Walt Disney Company CEO Bob Chapek
Bob Chapek
796 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits for all employees(in 372 reviews)

  • "great work environment and great teams to work with(in 276 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, lower than market pay(in 368 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is hard to maintain(in 151 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      All about the brand

      Feb 28, 2021 - Content Consultant in Auckland, Auckland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Looked after me during my time their, expert levels grew.

      Cons

      You need to adjust to being a needle in a stack of needles

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Gems Cambridge international school

      Oct 6, 2017 - Bus Nanny in New Plymouth, Taranaki
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was working as a buss attendant and teacher assistant and it was really good working with different nationalities students and different kind of attitude they have but it was fun to handle them every single day. Was makes me a big challenge and I manage them to change there bad attitude sometimes, it was great talking to them every day. Thank you

      Cons

      On student even it's hard but I managed it but it's fun to be with them. I love being with them every day

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      The Walt Disney Company can be okay

      Sep 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Access to parks, great addition to your resume

      Cons

      Extremely bureaucratic, slow moving, risk-averse, no upward mobility.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Bad pay and says they work with your schedule But actually don’t

      Jul 29, 2021 - Attractions Host 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      self admission to parks around the world and discounts on park merchandise Good trainers Get paid to walk to your car after your shift is over

      Cons

      Bad pay (fast food jobs make more) and high expectations when the company can afford to pay more Covid precautions taken away and many cast members feel unsafe Management often blame cast members for incidents when it’s out of their control Park guests are entitled Long hours during summer months and holidays Work holidays No hazard pay for cast members where there should be due to hazardous working conditions Often feel unappreciated by the company and just like another number in their roster of employees They put the needs and safety of the guests first before consulting cast members on what is best for the operation.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Love my team but frustrated with post-pandemic return to the office

      Jun 28, 2021 - Category Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My manager and team are the best. I feel supported in my role and my work is emotionally rewarding. I work with a relatively small group of stakeholders, some of whom are truly thought leaders in their area of expertise. There used to be great benefits if you lived near a Park (Orlando, Anaheim), but those aren't available currently.

      Cons

      Return to work in person is being handled with a very old-school approach. It feels like leadership learned nothing from the last 16+ months. Leadership clearly does not care about the preferences of their workforce. I expect many resignations in the Fall/Winter due to their return policy. Main issues with their approach: - No survey of employees or input asked for before rolling out the return plan - Strong focus on how collaboration and free exchange of ideas happens best in person (old-school) - One-size fits all approach of a minimum of 3 days per week in person "to begin," implying that requirement will increase - No differentiation between the types of roles that have been working from home successfully since March 2020 Other issues: Park access benefits have been revoked since the pandemic with no replacement to our compensation package, leadership can be very top-down in general with little regard for the thoughts of their teams, benefits (medical, 401k, etc) are below market average, pay is below market average, heavy reliance on brand to recruit & retain instead of compensation

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good, but lots to improve

      Jul 11, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Burbank, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid company doing exciting things. The benefits are really nice. Work life balance is great.

      Cons

      Software engineers and technologists aren’t treated equally across the company. For example, Disney Streaming engineers start with 3 weeks of vacation and are eligible for a bonus as a percent of salary but other software engineers in parks, studios, etc start with 2 weeks of vacation and don’t get a yearly cash bonus… just LTI. Moreover, with Hulu now integrated into DSS their engineers have a higher base salaries than Disney engineers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great benefits

      Jul 29, 2021 - Cast Member - Part Time 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Disney admission, discounts for Disney products and passes, cast member exclusive gifts at the end of the year, services provided for health, dental etc

      Cons

      Some days not enough hours, a lot of block out dates for cast members, definitely requires you to provide a magical experience for guests by connecting with every guest even when they just want to be left alone

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Worked at Disney for 15 years and saw my changes, mostly negative

      Jul 5, 2021 - Coordinator in Burbank, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most departments have laid-back work atmosphere. You can decorate cube/office. Dress is casual to business casual except for highest executives in Legal and Treasury. The lot is beautiful. If you love the parks, you will get a silver pass to all worldwide and some discounts on Disney swag.

      Cons

      Health care coverage has cost more and offered less every year since I worked at the company. Salary increases are not good, so start as high as you can, gain experience then move departments or to another company. If you return, you could move up and make more money that way. Some executives are aggressive. Some support staff are too. 90% are good co-workers, but really watch out for the bad ones. Listen to your intuition when you interview.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Outdoors all day, but will improve your mood.

      Jul 21, 2021 - Skyliner Cast Member in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It feels like Disney, there's a lot of guest interaction at all times and you can be assigned on different locations. It's literally a great ride to work, you get to see the sky all day long, managers are supportive of cast growth, and people seem to be happy there.

      Cons

      You must pay full attention to it at all times, since it's a safety role and be advised, discipline is strict. It can get really boring when shutdown for inclement weather and it's outdoors, standing all day.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Love my job

      Jul 26, 2021 - Sales Planner in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love working at Disney! Great benefits, friendly teammates and good work environment. Working from home until October 2021. Bonus around the holidays. Better pay as a Disney planner vs other networks- Amc Networks, Viacom etc

      Cons

      Not the nicest office, difficulty getting promoted. Need to apply for new job and pitch, no promotion after a certain amount of time being on your position. Not that many vacation days. Sometimes management doesnt approve my request

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 6,473 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Walt Disney Company Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Walt Disney Company? Share Your Experiences

    Walt Disney Company logo
    or