Visa Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Visa Inc. Reviews

Updated 2 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Visa Inc. CEO Alfred F. Kelly, Jr.
Alfred F. Kelly, Jr.
548 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Too many silos; no work/life balance; does not really understand how to solve customer business challenges(in 130 reviews)

  • "Would benefit from FEWER title levels at mid to senior management thus allowing for mobility through payscale (e(in 120 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Visa Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Highly Efficient people No politics Amazing environment to work Supportive Manager Good Hike

    Cons

    I don’t see any cons in Visa

    Visa Inc.2019-02-25

    Visa Inc. Response

    March 1, 2019The Visa Team

    Thank you for your five-star review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed working at Visa.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Owner in Auckland, Auckland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People and culture is awesome

    Cons

    Processes aren’t great, no ownership

    Visa Inc.2020-03-15

    Visa Inc. Response

    March 17, 2020The Visa Team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Glad you are enjoying the people and Visa's fun culture. We implemented a dedicated taskforce that is solely focused on improving internal tools and processes to enable people to do their best work. Thank you again for the feedback!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Diverse and Inclusion´s culture, Flexible working, Great benefits

    Cons

    You need to escalate to get the work done

    Visa Inc.2020-04-02
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun environment in most teams. Challenging work depending on the team. Great benefits Great work culture

    Cons

    Takes time to upgrade to new technologies Work-life balance in some teams sucks A lot of politics while getting promoted People are afraid of change

    Continue reading
    Visa Inc.2020-03-25
  5. "College new grad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Foster City, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and benefits. Strong brand.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of yet.

    Visa Inc.2020-03-18
  6. "Good place to settle down with good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Work life balance and new ideas are appreciated

    Cons

    Low pay and very less bonus so overall pay is very less and stock options are bad as well

    Visa Inc.2020-03-18
  7. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Visa provides a bery good work life balance . The leadership is also very accomodating and open to new ideas . Company provides various medical insurance options as per convenience of the employee along with HSA options. 401k and ESPP options are also available

    Cons

    There are no COOL perks

    Visa Inc.2020-03-15

    Visa Inc. Response

    March 17, 2020The Visa Team

    Thank you for this positive review! We are happy to see you are enjoying your experience at Visa.

    Continue reading
  8. "A financial services company masquerading as a technology company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in Foster City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Shuttles are nice, if you can find parking.

    Cons

    The technology used for daily activities is not fresh. Heavily reliant on MS suite (yuck!) and things move VERY slowly. Its hard to get anything done without having to submit tickets and forms hidden within the intranet, so much so that I abandoned unpaid overtime because of the hassle required to properly track and get it approved. Hiring process is a joke but there are teams that are understaffed so they rely heavily on overseas contractors. Lots of internal sites/dashboards that are poorly designed/engineered, everything looks like it was made by contractors who spent their tenure looking for full-time employment. Teams/Orgs are cliquish and don't like working with each other, so it's hard to get anything done if the people you're asking don't have "skin in the game".

    Continue reading
    Visa Inc.2020-03-28
  9. "Good culture and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Singapore

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It depends on the team that you join. Generally, the culture is flexible, open communication, team members support one another, promote learning.

    Cons

    The career progression is slow. The advancing of a career can be fast or slow depending on the team itself. The task on hand might not be always interesting.

    Visa Inc.2020-03-12

    Visa Inc. Response

    March 30, 2020The Visa Team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We strive to create a great career experience for everyone. We agree that consistent communication with managers about development and expectations is important so that you can feel empowered to do your best work.

    Continue reading
  10. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time

    Pros

    It has Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Little Laid back, slow moving

    Visa Inc.2020-03-26
Found 2682 reviews