Ulta Beauty Reviews

Updated 22 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
2,094 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lots of turnover in upper management(in 188 reviews)

  • "Be successful popular beauty advisor(in 179 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great management and company culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hairstylist in Marlton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management, great culture, inclusive workplace.

    Cons

    Depending on position, pay is lower, but wages are normal for retail workers.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-21
  2. "Best Part Time Job I've Had"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive Corporate Culture Team Environment Strong Leadership Fun Benefits like Gratis

    Cons

    Bare minimum wages Some corporate pressure regarding sales and personal information collection quotas

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-20
  3. "Love this job! Great team! Great pay! Great for hands on cosmetologist."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time

    Pros

    Pay Cleanliness Team members Discount Hands on training

    Cons

    Most beauty advisors only work part timer because there are so many employees so you only get 25 hrs a week which isn’t bad if you go to school but if you have bills to pay you might want to consider getting another job.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-19
  4. "Decent first Esthetician Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Benefit Arch Expert 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, somewhat of loyal clients, easy to talk to management, able to work with your schedule.

    Cons

    Having quotas to meet, the store isn’t always busy enough to meet your quotas and you will have to do retail and try to sell product to customers, long hours.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-18
  5. "Great for a part time college student"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor 

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time

    Pros

    The hours on the weekend worked well with my college schedule.

    Cons

    Pressure to get loyalty cards.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-19
  6. "Nice"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Prestige Beauty Advisor 

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time

    Pros

    Fun, lots of learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Pressure to sell certain products , some workplace drama

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-16
  7. "Merchandise sales coordinator"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MSC in Pembroke Pines, FL

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to learn a lot

    Cons

    They over work you & your hours Caiuse you revive no benefits cause you are only a part time manager...

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-14
  8. "Stressful AF"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    meaningful friendships, great coworkers, amazing clients, loved my career, benefits were great if you got them

    Cons

    no stability, no leadership, couldn't keep a salon manager to save their lives, the pay was not worth the amount of time I worked there, NEVER got benefits because I wasn't considered a "full-time status" employee

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2020-05-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Pays the bills, culture is nice, but not good for personal development"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bolingbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional work friendly environment Upper management genuinely cares about their employees Cosmetic desk drops every once in a while. Office space is very modern and pleasing

    Cons

    Lack of technical experience and skill in senior/managerial level roles Not as much of a healthy worklife balance as they pretend to have Contractors are treated more harshly in some teams. Very off putting and inhumane. Almost servant-like.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-08
  10. "Fun"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prestige Associate in Binghamton, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, especially if you love makeup.

    Cons

    The pay was pretty sub parz

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-12
Found 5032 reviews