Ulta Beauty Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Ulta Beauty Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4605 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
1,890 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management was a nightmare(in 172 reviews)

  • "Prestige beauty advisors cannot do makeup applications(in 167 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to grow with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager in Williamsburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Ulta provides excellent training and opportunities for employees. Upper management is helpful and involved. I've had nothing but good experiences.

    Cons

    You have to play the into the culture of retail but overall this company provides you with the knowledge and tools to build your career.

    Advice to Management

    Develop talent fast and early.

    Ulta Beauty2019-09-15
  2. "Good but not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Cashier 

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time

    Pros

    You’ll get free makeup and the environment is really friendly.

    Cons

    Hours are awful and there’s no consistency.

    Ulta Beauty2019-09-13
  3. "Great for learning about Make Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to learn more about the products your selling, You get to be creative and interact with customers

    Cons

    Hard to love Up In The Company.

    Advice to Management

    Make the retail experience more enjoyable

    Ulta Beauty2019-09-13
  4. "Good Part-Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Columbus, OH

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Short shifts, makeup discounts, friendly coworkers and managers

    Cons

    Aggressive sales target (pushing credit card applications)

    Ulta Beauty2019-09-12
  5. "nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time

    Pros

    relaxed setting and decent pay

    Cons

    empty store, and long hours

    Ulta Beauty2019-09-12
  6. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free gifts and makeup, discounts

    Cons

    little hours to no hours

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Ulta Beauty2019-09-12
  7. "I love my company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Cashier in Bradley, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, fast paced, gratis, employee discount

    Cons

    Many snobby or rude customers

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work :)

    Ulta Beauty2019-09-11
  8. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Operations Manager in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great experiences, loved the environment

    Cons

    a lot of management were overworked due to a lot of overturn.

    Ulta Beauty2019-09-11
  9. "Great Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lead Cashier 

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time

    Pros

    Employee discount is a good plus

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say

    Ulta Beauty2019-09-11
  10. "I’ve found my calling..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prestige Sales Manager in Oxford, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    401K match Health insurance Paid holidays Paid sick Paid vacation Paid personal time off Extended illness time off Quarterly bonuses for meeting goals

    Cons

    Random hours-days, nights, weekends, some holidays Large turnover with part time associates, requiring lots of hours for training new hires A whole lot of excessive goals given by the company that are expected to be met daily, weekly, quarterly & yearly

    Advice to Management

    Understand that part time employees are not paid well enough to stay for very long in their position & corporate numbers don’t concern them like they do full time associates Follow everything by the book & don’t start away from doing things the “Ulta way” Know the LP guidelines & policies & follow them strictly, random audits should be expected often

    Ulta Beauty2019-09-09
Found 4605 reviews