TransferWise Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

TransferWise Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
188 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The "autonomous teams" has its downfalls too - mainly the communication between teams during different projects(in 22 reviews)

  • "Cross-team efforts are not so easy to coordinate as all teams are autonomous(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Autonomous Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teams are free to choose what to work on as long as it is the biggest opportunity for the team

    Cons

    People sometimes don't give a feedback, which makes things pile-up

    TransferWise2019-12-09
  2. "Great culture and freedom to explore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stock Options Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture with open-minded friendly people who are open to change and are solution-oriented. Lots of freedom to roam and explore the best way to set and reach an objective. No BS culture based on equality. Lots of free food and great events.

    Cons

    I have not discovered any in my 6 months here.

    TransferWise2019-12-04
  3. "Fast paced fintech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great office environment - supportive colleagues - dogs in the office - awesome mission - flexible working hours - opportunity to work from home - lots of events and hobby groups - career opportunities and opportunities to show your talent

    Cons

    - danger of burning out - slowly getting more corporate (inevitable considering the size and it’s growth) - salary should be higher considering the responsibility what info is provided to customers (but it’s arguable as you get stock options. So it’s your own call what you value more)

    TransferWise2019-12-03
  4. "Great company, great product, great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company with a real mission: make transfer free.

    Cons

    I don’t have a major negative side to express.

    Advice to Management

    No major advice to share

    TransferWise2019-12-02
  5. "It's a rollercoaster ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is growing fast and all processes are tools are evolving and maturing at a rapid pace.

    Cons

    Things change fast, you won't notice how fast your first 6 months have passed.

    Advice to Management

    Think about the overall career plan so people can grow between roles in Transferwise. Since the company is growing so fast, everybody counts - a person that already understand how everything works from the inside should have a high value.

    TransferWise2019-12-02
  6. "Fantastic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A fantastic culture in a faced paced and growing company.

    Cons

    Could at times be a slightly unhealthy work/life balance in certain teams

    TransferWise2019-12-01
  7. "Mission driven company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - High level of autonomy. - Mission driven company - Ethics for good - Transparent

    Cons

    The company have amazing values, but violated by many teams

    TransferWise2019-11-21
  8. "Overall good for a start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kyc Specialist in Tallinn
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    a lot of freedom and flexibility; in general young and very international team; cool offices with food, events, coffee. candies you name it

    Cons

    low salary, a lot of monotonous work

    TransferWise2019-12-04
  9. "interesting and nice position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - KYC Agent in Budapest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good place to learn about KYC, due dilligence, nice people, office

    Cons

    not high salary raise, not many opportunity to travel if not in IT

    TransferWise2019-11-15
  10. "First time I've been truly happy in a job and woke up everyday happy to be going to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -You're treated like an adult & trusted to do your job without being micromanaged -Work/life balance is the best I've had and that's down to the flexibility -Your opinions and ideas matter and they're listened to -Encouraged to get involved in things that really interest you or speak up if you believe something can be done better -You're given the opportunities to grow and take on new challenges -No two... days are ever the same, you're always faced with new challenges and things to get stuck into -Brilliant offices with everything you could need (and more!) -Possibility of travelling to our other offices -SummerDays yearly all-company event -Everyone is so friendly -None of that 'I'm-a-newbie' awkwardness, you become part of the team instantly

    Show More

    Cons

    -The autonomous environment can be frustrating at times -With so many people in the business, it's impossible to know everybody (or even half!) -As we're growing so quickly things change quickly meaning something that's a priority today might not be tomorrow -If you don't like constant change or enjoy being kept on your toes, this is not the place for you!

    TransferWise2019-11-12
Found 347 reviews