Stanford University Employee Reviews about "beautiful campus"

Updated Jan 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 218 of over 3,613 reviews

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Stanford University President Marc Tessier-Lavigne
Marc Tessier-Lavigne
571 Ratings
Pros
  • "Beautiful campus, intelligent coworkers, culture that encourages professional development(in 219 reviews)

  • "good work life balance; good health insurance(in 169 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The cost of living in California(in 191 reviews)

  • "Living in bay area as a postdoc with dependents can be tough for the postdoc annual salary(in 126 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "beautiful campus"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Excellent place to work! Keeps you young and lots of great benefits

      Jan 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, smart co-workers, working with students, beautiful campus

      Cons

      Cost of living, Can be corporate atmosphere depending on your department, Can be political

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Plan to stay!

      Jan 15, 2021 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Beautiful campus, intelligent coworkers, culture that encourages professional development. Plan to spend an entire career here.

      Cons

      Can be bureaucratic - with processes and people stuck in the past.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great environment

      Jan 12, 2021 - Instructor in Stanford, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing benefits, state of the art IT dept, beautiful campus

      Cons

      Extremely liberal and close-minded leadership

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good experience but impossible to make it work long term

      Sep 25, 2020 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      beautiful campus, renowned faculty, great thinkers and speakers, students are awesome for the most part, many wonderful colleagues

      Cons

      Stanford is decentralized so every department is different, at the business school it's a place for "lifers" and "yes men," change/risk averse, being 35 is "young" here, little diversity on staff, especially at senior levels, brace yourself for frequent microaggressions, the entire faculty senate is white men, low pay for bay area (about half to a third of the market rate for equivalent jobs at any tech company) with middling benefits unless you have kids in college (no fertility benefits, no meals, no WFH set up reimbursements during COVID, pay for parking, etc.), the only folks here long term either have spouses who earn double what they do, or have an outdated cost of living because they bought their house 10+ years ago

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to study

      Dec 6, 2020 - Student in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing resources, beautiful campus, intelligent and accomplished classmates

      Cons

      Far from San Francisco, can be too focused on tech at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Freelancer

      Beautiful campus, nice staff but low pay, lack of managerial quality and decentralized processes that duplicate effort

      Nov 28, 2020 - Lead Technical Business Analyst in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Beautiful campus. Most staff are very nice and serve students very well. Students are friendly and many are down-to-earth.

      Cons

      Many tenured expert academics are placed in management roles without knowing how to manage but have extremely large egos. Many departments run independently which creates decentralization and lack of cooperation and collaboration amongst groups since budgeting is decentralized and thus resources are tightly controlled.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A great place to innovate, collaborate

      Jan 3, 2021 - Postdoctoral Researcher in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I got to learn a lot from my peers, collaborators and advisors. Mostly everyone is eager to contribute to your project. So it gets finished sooner and efficiently. Beautiful campus.

      Cons

      Living in bay area as a postdoc with dependents can be tough for the postdoc annual salary.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Felt blackballed out once I stood up to my supervisor

      Jan 7, 2020 - Front Desk Administrative Assistant In Grad Housing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Beautiful campus, great staff, everyone who was kind to me was genuine; oh, and using golf carts -- that was a first :)

      Cons

      Major red flag: Nice towards the beginning of my assignment, though the vibe grew sour once my temp contract came to an end. One supervisor had accused me of having an attitude; however, the apple doesn't fall far from the tree, supervisor was talking poorly about residents who required assistance after they left; made slick comments when they weren't around, they questioned where I was at all times even the bathroom (and when I agreed and told them, I still was given lip about it), told not to eat at the desk yet did so at theirs, oh, and also yelled at me to "shut up" while on the phone with a resident which wasn't even their business to begin with. I stayed home for two days after, though it should have been the other way around and I should have been compensated for it. You live and you learn. Tried to leave on a positive note, instead felt retaliated against especially as I transferred desks after that incident. Sucks because another supervisor commended my work and I wanted a permanent position and hoped to at least apply, but with that incident and the other sup's superiority and slandering of my name, that diminished quite quickly. Smaller things: Also, we have to pay for parking there, lame. They have the money for free anything really. Sigh, the drive was harsh too. Especially for only $16/hr at the time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Beware of Bad Management!

      Oct 12, 2020 - Clinical Research Coordinator Associate in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits (including health, dental, vision, commuter, education), beautiful campus, always pioneering new treatments, feeling of making a difference

      Cons

      Career opportunities -I was promised a promotion to CRC2 for two years in a row that never came. Compensation & benefits -I was always scared to leave Stanford because the benefits are so good. These are the golden handcuffs, but glad I was able to break free. Culture & Values -People are always severely minding their own business, no sense of community, new buildings are always being constructed but you work in the darkest & dustiest corners of the oldest buildings packed in like sardines, serious lack of organization in many departments, principal investigators take on more than they can chew, managers are consistently domineering yet unknowledgeable, feeling that you are far inferior to the doctors you work with and you should never question them. I used to work at a company with an open door policy and talking to the PI was never discouraged like it is at Stanford. Diversity & Inclusion -The one shining spot of Stanford, but every company in the Bay Area is good at this. Management -I was fortunate to have friends in other departments, and was surprised that objectively bad people were consistently put in management positions in multiple departments. People with a lack of interpersonal skills, lack of basic computer skills, lack of accountability, with a healthy dose of righteousness. Work/Life Balance -Stanford does offer programs like the "Be Well" program to encourage mindfulness, healthy eating, and exercise. However, if you don't have a manager who believes in these things, you will rarely take advantage of this program and other programs like it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Mentorship and Work Life Balance

      Aug 10, 2020 - Project Coordinator in Stanford, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance and beautiful campus

      Cons

      Frowns upon remote working, but still available

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 218 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Stanford University Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Stanford University? Share Your Experiences

    or