Santa Cruz Biotechnology Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Santa Cruz Biotechnology Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
20%
Recommend to a Friend
3%
Approve of CEO
Santa Cruz Biotechnology President John Stephenson (no image)
John Stephenson
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "There was frequent free food in attempts to boost employee morale in lieu of raises(in 26 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, fast-paced, good work environment(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "no upward mobility and no raises(in 20 reviews)

  • "The so called "raise freeze" (that coincidentally happened as soon as Obama got elected) has done a number on employee morale at this company(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "One of leading biotch company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Biotechnologist in Heide, Schleswig-Holstein

    I have been working at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Best exposure to the work to gain a better wxperience.

    Cons

    I dont see any in it

    Continue reading
    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2020-02-05
  2. "Good experience as first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time

    Pros

    you don't bring your work home...friendly environment, good european management

    Cons

    No possibilty of growing, low salary

    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2020-02-03
  3. "Don't even apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a resume booster at best.

    Cons

    This job will severely drain you mentally and physically. The company makes no effort to correct what creates the high turnover, and if anything, they keep it that way so they can use and abuse people short term, until the next victim gets hired. This is the worst employment experience I've ever had. The pay is very low for what is expected, and they will work you until you're completely exhausted. Do not work here.

    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2020-02-19
  4. "Don't ignore the flags"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Solutions Architect in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can only speak to the Dallas location. Great people in house. Lots of college kids. Lot's of opportunity to take charge if you're tenacious and entrepreneurial.

    Cons

    Owners are a bit eccentric, but friendly. I was originally hired to help take over some of their existing systems and improve them / develop new apps. I instead often found myself on many days driving hours to the owners private residences to do things like troubleshoot satellite TV and change batteries in remotes, replace broken iPads, etc, while they weren't there. I'm sorry, but being in your bosses house alone is just weird and opens the door for so many weird accusations and things to happen. I was expected to provide minor IT support to the Dallas location when . It eventually blew into full blown IT support, climbing around plugging things in, etc. On top of that, groups of people suddenly being fired without explanation, as well as overhearing sales people talking to their supervisor about how they've been stiffed hard earned bonuses and trying to work out strategies for getting them or else they'd quit. And the management just letting them quit instead of paying out. The whole place was a sea of red flags.

    Continue reading
    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2020-01-17
  5. "SCBT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Product Assistant 

    I worked at Santa Cruz Biotechnology part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance and friendly co-workers

    Cons

    No room for growth within the company

    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2019-09-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time

    Pros

    Easy interview process and doable job training

    Cons

    Bad pay, horrible communication

    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2019-08-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Horrific Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vet Tech in Weatherford, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent living conditions and beautiful ranch, nice horses

    Cons

    The owners are as crooked and evil as they come. They have enough money to be above the law, and treat their employees awful. Look up their animal abuse case and the fines they had to pay. And the ranch manager is psychotic. She is a narcissist who manipulates others to do her job while she takes credit. Has no idea how to run a successful breeding program. Will fly off the handle and scream at you, belittle you and call you names. Run as far away as you possibly can from this place.

    Continue reading
    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2019-06-28
  8. "okay first job, not much room for growth or pay increase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Santa Cruz, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good industry experience for resume

    Cons

    Most people working here struggle to make ends meat

    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2019-04-30
  9. "Lack of Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Santa Cruz Biotechnology part-time

    Pros

    It's a job and has a paycheck.

    Cons

    No culture with this company, and departments are split with little to no communication.

    Continue reading
    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2019-04-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "I regret it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the fellow employees are decent, they usually didn't bother me.

    Cons

    Pay is horrible. Basically a dead end. Their idiot of a CEO and upper management don't give a care for their employees.

    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2019-03-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 171 reviews