SYKES Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

SYKES Reviews

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
47%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
SYKES CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
1,329 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It can be a little tricky to maintain customer service scores but it is nothing major(in 78 reviews)

  • "I have nothing but good things to say about my time I have been with sykes but I've always enjoyed call center work(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Clueless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work with PlayStation and people from Australia & NZ

    Cons

    SO many! Poor customer service given to customers, no one has any idea how to deal with tech issues other then the copy and paste emails. Staff are often rude to callers and show no desire to help.

    Advice to Management

    Try give a damn and have some pride in your work, for once.

    SYKES2018-07-02
  2. "Overall ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice people, job security, wider European opportunities, cultural diversity

    Cons

    senior management attitude, very low salaries compared to other BPOs

    SYKES2019-12-05
  3. "One of the best BPO in the country"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Analyst in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun environment and lots of room to grow.

    Cons

    If unlucky, direct managers are not considerate.

    Advice to Management

    People leave managers, not companies.

    SYKES2019-12-05
  4. "Very Professional, yet personal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trust Advisor in Lakeland, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family feel, professional atmosphere, and fun training program.

    Cons

    Customer service reviews were oddly handled. Easy to misunderstand. The pay wasn't enough.

    Advice to Management

    Provide support at all times and to everyone, not just to top sellers. Encouraging everyone will result in higher profits.

    SYKES2019-12-03
  5. ""Great work place!""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Treats employees very fair. Great work environment. Lots of training and coaching.

    Cons

    My only con is that SYKES did not explain about rehire process very well. Part time also was not very well discussed. Most jobs are full time.

    SYKES2019-12-04
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Home based is great for family

    Cons

    None great place to work

    SYKES2019-12-03
  7. "OK as a starting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, opportunity to work in different languages, good and extensive induction training

    Cons

    Low salary, strict regime (managers watching every minute you are away from your desk), not enough support for starting agents, no flexibility

    Advice to Management

    Give more support to agents not just rules

    SYKES2019-11-29
  8. "Employment review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CCP 

    I have been working at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    Very interesting upto date technology driven work environment. Plenty of support.

    Cons

    Growth prospects - none right now.

    SYKES2019-11-28
  9. "Its ok..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Escalation Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working Good sense of camaraderie with colleagues

    Cons

    You will not progress unless you brown-nose Archaic management structure

    SYKES2019-11-28
  10. "Great experience overall."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Heredia
    Recommends

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great lead team and training. Transportation.

    Cons

    Cafeteria and salary is not competent.

    SYKES2019-11-28
Found 3261 reviews