Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 468 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
Mark McWeeny
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Young, fast paced, creative environment(in 35 reviews)

  • "Rue Gilt Groupe is an amazing place to work(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "HBC took over and gilt went down(in 30 reviews)

  • "There is no work-life balance in the BP department(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing team and colleagues, energetic community, solid work perks (401k, health insurance, summer Fridays, etc.), great location, upward and lateral mobility options.

    Cons

    Lack of transparency up and down the ladder. Reputation for poor management, but my own manager was AMAZING.

    Advice to Management

    My own manager was incredible. She supported me and rallied for me and my future opportunities. I would advise other managers to do the same. Don't try and take credit for the hard work of your team, respect their contributions, support them in their career growth.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-06-18
  2. "Great environment, little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Feature Writer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great, fun people and work environment.

    Cons

    Good job out of college but extremely low pay.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-05-11
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Never knew how truly undervalued I was, until I went elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

      Pros

      Pockets of great people in various depts (however, if you are a kind person you usually get managed out) fun perks (parties; surprise & delights; summer Friday's) employee discount

      Cons

      A common theme that I learned from my own experience and those who have also left, was how shocked I/they were when they went to a new org. I had been beaten down so much emotionally, that it was odd when I was in a new company and people were kind/gave so much positive feedback. It took awhile to fully work through all of the emotional abuse that Rue had left on me. Friends I still stay in touch with report similar experiences...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your people/these reviews. If you keep reading similar things....they might be true.

      Rue Gilt Groupe2019-06-05
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great fashion company, a bit unorganized"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Personal Shopping Stylist in Boston, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Great range of products, nice office with lots of amenities, great time off policy

      Cons

      High turnover so it was hard to know what superior to communicate with, very unorganized HR

      Advice to Management

      Tech needed serious work in my department as well as customer service issues

      Rue Gilt Groupe2019-05-08
    • Helpful (5)

      "See those values on the wall when you interview? They don't live by them."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

      Pros

      There are some good, smart people here. Unfortunately, they don't stay long because they are chased out by immature behavior and the obvious favoritism from the leadership.

      Cons

      Favoritism runs rampant, and it starts with the CEO. The CPO does nothing to stem this behavior, and engages in it herself. The HR Business Partners in Boston lack the knowledge and experience typically required for the role, leading to behaviors that have led others in the company to refer to the HRBPs and CPO as "the mean girls". RGG claims Kind and Collaborative as core values, but they rarely actually lives up to...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Start actually living the values. Invest both time and money in long term solutions. Stop chasing the products and initiatives that competitors are coming up with and actually BE innovative. Stop promoting based on favoritism.

      Rue Gilt Groupe2019-05-30

      Rue Gilt Groupe Response

      June 3, 2019Chief People Officer

      I am sorry that you had a negative experience at RGG. This is certainly not the environment and culture that we are striving for. Please reach out to me directly to provide concrete feedback which can then be actionable.

    • "Good Place to Work, Hard to Grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Boutique Producer in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great place to learn and grow your professional skills Great management (direct managers) Emphasis on innovation is inspiring

      Cons

      There is limited room to grow in this role Low pay

      Rue Gilt Groupe2019-04-15
    • "Challenging in a good way"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate Buyer in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Compensation, work/life balance, work culture

      Cons

      Decline of flash sale sites

      Rue Gilt Groupe2019-04-08
    • "fun place to work as a young professional"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA

        I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        occasional surprise and delights, bagel fridays

        Cons

        minimum pay for the work

        Rue Gilt Groupe2019-03-29
      • Helpful (2)

        "Meh"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Stylist in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Generous shopping discount Put effort into team building activities

        Cons

        Management can’t get grasp on changes in in online shopping trends, insecurity / sense of fear trickles down Pay was pretty bad

        Advice to Management

        Improve

        Rue Gilt Groupe2019-04-26
      • Helpful (1)

        "Pros don't outweight cons"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Marketing 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

        Pros

        Perks are top notch (flex time off, summer fridays, surprise and delights, good insurance and 401K plan). The company moves fast so you learn a lot and take a lot of responsability within a few weeks of starting the job.

        Cons

        Never had a day when I wasn't running around stressed. Work never gets done no matter how early you come in or how late you stay - and the hours are long. Pay is not enough for the amount of work you put it and there are no bonuses. Promotions come in every 2-3 years. You feel overworked and underappreciated.

        Advice to Management

        Instead of beong reactive and short term revenue focused, think longer term.Investing in your brands and your employees.

        Rue Gilt Groupe2019-04-02
      Found 468 reviews