Robert Walters Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Robert Walters Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters Chief Executive Officer Robert Walters
Robert Walters
318 Ratings
Pros
  • "Totally not a traditional corporate; relaxed working environment & fun office(in 36 reviews)

  • "Good training programme especially for new people to the industry(in 28 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great culture; room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    room for growth, large corporate, great structure

    Cons

    large staff turnover so always new people coming and going

    Robert Walters2019-04-26
  2. "Lots of opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Social Dynamic Great management Career progression Ongoing training

    Cons

    Staff turnover can be quite high

    Robert Walters2019-12-02
  3. "Opportunities to develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Executive in Wellington, Wellington
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been given loads of opportunity to develop my skill set and have always been really supported by my team. The group of people I work with are awesome and we are always having events together.

    Cons

    Working as a support function can be challenging in a fast-paced environment took some getting used to.

    Robert Walters2018-10-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Wouldn't Work For Another Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Team Orientated Atmosphere - Rewards Success - Excellent Training and Development Program - Career Progression is straightforward

    Cons

    - One size fits all model

    Advice to Management

    There are different ways to recruit, one option isn't for everyone.

    Robert Walters2017-07-23
  5. "Great office culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having only worked in my role for six months, my journey with Robert Walters has only just begun, but I have to say that this is the most interesting, challenging and rewarding job I have had to date. I think that the best aspect of working here is the office culture; I feel proud to be part of such a supportive and close knit team. We all work really hard here, but there are plenty of social and team building... opportunities and I think that we all feel recognised and rewarded for the work that we do.

    Show More

    Cons

    You certainly work hard at Robert Walters and are challenged every day, but I am part of a really supportive team who I can always reach out to for help and who make coming to work a real pleasure.

    Robert Walters2016-06-26
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High pay Good WLB Autonomy Career progression opportunity

    Cons

    Dis. bonus A lot of pressure from upper management

    Advice to Management

    listen to employees

    Robert Walters2019-12-08
  7. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Former Employee 

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time

    Pros

    Regular working day - light overtime

    Cons

    Routine work day - get the job done

    Robert Walters2019-12-11
  8. "One of the better recruitment firms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A world renowned firm with long standing relationships with top tier companies - it's easy to work here as people know and trust the brand. Excellent internal training programs which supports those who are new to recruitment. Fantastic opportunity to grow and move within the offices, something which is encouraged by management.

    Cons

    Extremely high attrition which can be really distracting and unsettling. It is recruitment, so it can be quite cut throat, I saw several instances of people being let go after only a few weeks because they weren't a "fit". Managers are typically top billers who get promoted into management, which doesn't always mean they are good at leading teams or helping others grow. Commission structure is famously... quite bad

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Robert Walters himself is not really involved anymore, so my advice is to regional heads: Toby (APAC CEO) and Rob Bryson (Singapore MD) are both good, but one on one time is very limited. Nearly 1 year in the company and I never had a 1-1 with Rob, which is fine but doesn't necessarily make you feel valued.

    Robert Walters2019-12-03
  9. "Great career progression opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    *clear career progression path *great culture, you are surrounded by motivated well performing consultants *great opportunity to learn *relocation opportunities

    Cons

    *discretionary bonus structure *big company - consultants need to understand there are processes to be followed

    Robert Walters2019-11-12
  10. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in London, England

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good and fun place to work

    Cons

    Still have a lot to do to catch up with current dynamics within modern organisations

    Advice to Management

    Invest in modern technologies and people

    Robert Walters2019-11-23
Found 528 reviews