Palo Alto Networks Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Palo Alto Networks Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Palo Alto Networks CEO Nikesh Arora
Nikesh Arora
80 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No work life balance or flexible working option(in 34 reviews)

  • "No work-life balance, always busy and work load is always high(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "OK but Changing..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - V P Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Tech; Investment in Sales; Vision;

    Cons

    Culture is changing for the worst Leadership is aloof

    Advice to Management

    Get back in touch with your employees. Listen. Be more people orientated.

    Palo Alto Networks2019-10-12
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great People, Great Culture, weak leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is working on great products and the CEO has a great vision on where he wants to take the company. There are perks like snacks, events (happy hours, farmers market, employee clubs, etc). The people are great to be around.

    Cons

    They do not always hire the best people, managers can be inept, and there are some people that are very set in their ways and do not want any change as they scale.

    Palo Alto Networks2019-10-08
  3. Helpful (20)

    "Mgmt’s Cronies Destroying Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart, fun and caring people. Solid compensation. Fun challenge to keep learning about new technologies we acquire.

    Cons

    New mgmt has brought in at VPs is many areas of company that have created absolute chaos. One in particular has made it clear that everyone below him doesn’t know how to do their job. This fella is pushing many many folks to leave. I know many folks planning their exit. It’s a rush for the door. Why did new the execs hire this person?

    Advice to Management

    Stop creating chaos - don’t hit arrogant people. I miss the Marks.

    Palo Alto Networks2019-10-03
  4. Helpful (63)

    "Two years ago I rated PAN a 5 and now it's a 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HQ Based Role in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The teamwork is fantastic in some spots of the organization. Pay is very competitive especially due to the RSU grants. Company brand and product performance is a source of pride for me as an employee. 2 years ago I couldn't imagine ever leaving. Today the only thing keeping this from 0 stars is the great pay.

    Cons

    New management is going over like a lead balloon. They came into a strong, profitable and well respected company and started treating current employees like neanderthals. Instead of earning respect and loyalty, they try to look superior by disparaging everything about the status quo. It's a great way to generate chaos and fear with little to show for it except cratering employee morale and retention..... just like... our stock price... If you're considering joining this company now just know that you'll probably be treated like part of the problem by leadership (it's different if you're from Google). It's their way of keeping people on their toes. This transition period is like living in a season of Survivor. Who will be cast off this week? People are leaving in large numbers to avoid the bloodbath.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't talk down to us about having a growth mindset when you can't even adapt to the situation you entered and have to import your previous team, tools and culture just to operate. Don't be so arrogant to think your way is the only way to succeed. And for God's sake stop bringing in old buddies who have no relevant qualifications for their job aside from their access to you. They wouldn't get anywhere without that... access.

    Show More
    Palo Alto Networks2019-08-06
  5. "Looking Forward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Supplier Quality Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stocks options is great Friendly coworker Nice working environment

    Cons

    I’m still trying to fit in. Will see what its gonna be

    Palo Alto Networks2019-10-11
  6. "the best company I've ever joined"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great pay, great culture, management is very supportive, good work/life balance(depends on the team and manager, mine is good)

    Cons

    the only con I could think of is the commute

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Palo Alto Networks2019-10-09
  7. "Nice Company To Boost Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Automation Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - RSU grant is main advantage. - STOCKs are doing good - Company is running very fast

    Cons

    - Environment is not good in all groups - people are not much ready to accept new world tech

    Palo Alto Networks2019-10-07
  8. Helpful (10)

    "The Big Fall From Grace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For many years, Palo Alto Networks has been an amazing company to work at. The culture has been so unique, the people the absolutely best you could work with in the industry, and the customers, products and technology all something to be extremely proud of. It was a big thing to be part of.

    Cons

    Everything changed in 2018, and in just 6 months this company fell hard, very hard, from it's place of grace. There is absolutely nothing positive left to say about working at this company. New leadership has brought along a culture of hostility, lies, verbal aggression, lack of integrity, no transparency and a heavy focus on cost cutting as the (subjectively speaking) ability to drive business growth is... non-existent. There are no career progression opportunities, compensation is being cut to below market level, bonuses are being cancelled, new hirings are stalled, backfill are rarely done. People are leaving this company, fleeing to save their careers and avoid the increasingly bad reputation of the company as employer. In today's world you have the option of choosing who/what to work for. In my opinion, Palo Alto Networks should not be considered an option.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No.

    Palo Alto Networks2019-10-09
  9. "Growing rapidly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to make an impact

    Cons

    Change not managed always in the best way

    Palo Alto Networks2019-10-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good tech, bad attitudes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSM in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Technology is market leading and pushing boundaries

    Cons

    no sense of team in company. lots of individuals. Commission payment problems.

    Advice to Management

    stop being so arrogant, stop driving that culture in the business

    Palo Alto Networks2019-10-17
Found 457 reviews