Netflix Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Netflix Reviews

Updated 10 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Netflix CEO Reed Hastings
Reed Hastings
601 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "and eventually they will be let go(in 53 reviews)

  • "It’s just a call center with a fancy name(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (262)

    "How much does a functioning human cost?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time

    Pros

    - Paycheck - So many good people - Such a great service - Hope

    Cons

    I have been working for a year at Netflix. I've seen what was supposed to be very mature people, sharing absolutely almost no contact that anyone would qualify as "human". Sure, that sounds hyperbolic, let me develop (and maybe cherry-pick a little). Have you heard about our culture? The one about giving candid feedback? - I have seen people complaining of behavior they literally demonstrated themselves in... the following days. But I have also seen these feedbacks resulting in tears both in the eyes of HR persons or fellow engineers. How human does that sound? Have you heard about our culture? The one about not tolerating brilliant jerks? I have nonetheless seen angriness and frustration, expressed in private, public and meeting. People rejecting new ideas by default, like, any ideas they wouldn't have worked themselves on for days wouldn't count. Even if those ideas are from the best examples in the industry or academics. How many publications/contributions have you seen from Netflix to computer science in general? How does it compare against any other company of that size in the Bay Area? Can you imagine either the real insecurity (x)or the lack of innovation that could lead to this situation? Except for a few managers, directors or VPs feeling free enough to behave at work in the same way than how they live, almost every engineer I have been interacting with, have shared as little as possible about their private life. The rare exceptions of interpersonal exchange ends up around some sort of competitive behavior: Who is the most geeky, sportive, owns the fastest car/biggest house/visited the strangest place. I've heard workaholic people complaining about ambitious peers who were over-managing, over-working to get even more work to do after. I feel like we're past workaholism at this point. Maybe there are a lot of shy people! Maybe there is a culture of fear, not only of being fired, but also a fear of interacting with people going to be fired. Maybe it's all in my head, maybe people giving 5 stars to their experience here don't care the human aspect of a company. And maybe they're right. What about your crush, your fears, your desires for the future, your appetite for life? I've been blessed to work in enough large companies to know that the behavior that I'm seeing in Netflix is not a healthy one. I've also been lucky enough to work in other industries more socializing than tech and I can tell that Netflix has a lot to do on that side, and off-sites or team meeting won't solve that problem. I am afraid about the tragic, but inevitable consequences of the ways people operate in this company: I guess that the day the worst will happen, it will be addressed in an impersonal memo by Reed; followed-up by 1 or 2 reminders during offsites. Possibly commented by HR in a Q&A document. And move on. This company seems as reactive in its management of people as it is proactive in its business operations. I still work at Netflix though, not only for the paycheck, but because I hope. I hope it will change. The needed change can't happen from a candid feedback, a Q&A, or only from inside. Change has to come from everyone, including people who take time to read comments like this one. Netflix has so many good people and offers such a great service. As a curious Netflix employee reading this review: think about your past, isn't there a big human thing that you would love to feel again in your current company that you've felt in the past? As a candidate: think about what would be a good question to ask to that HR partner once your package is almost here to be offered to you, think about that comment you make at the end of an interview when you're being asked by an engineer: "Do you have any question for me?" What Netflix needs is an inception, something that anyone and everyone would think about after leaving the call or the room they were sharing with you. Ask yourself, and then the others, the question you should ask if you think you want to spend a good amount of your life and energy in the place you're applying for. - Will I learn and contribute to the knowledge of other's? Even outside the company? - Will I see emotional responses from my peers? Will that be for other reasons than being fired or bluntly criticized? - Will I find a friendly environment that will nurture my appetite for life? - What is the amount of emotional interaction (celebrating, sharing, playing) to expect from a company whose service is the best to "entertain"? - Do androids dream of electric sheep?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ask yourself those questions

    Netflix2018-09-20
  2. Helpful (95)

    "Netflix is not for everybody"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Los Gatos, CA

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best part about Netflix is that they try to pay 20% more than everybody else, so the compensation is good. They are not shy about spending money, so travel is business class, you'll get a new MacBook Pro every year, etc. The people there tend to be very nice, the catered lunch is delicious, and so forth. While there is still a lot of action in Los Gatos building the technology (although arguably it is... becoming mature, as streaming is a commodity), the real drama is in Los Angeles, relating to content.

    Show More

    Cons

    Netflix has very strange politics, because people's jobs are at the whim of their manager. In other words, if a manager decides that a particular report is no longer a "star," he or she will get a package. So, given that employees are not stupid, there is a lot of kissing up, resulting in a lot of comedy. Netflix believes in "360 feedback," but everybody I know only does that to their peers, and they become very... political with their management chain.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's creepy when management sends out letters to their reports that read, "today is X's last day at Netflix and I fired him/her because of...."

    Netflix2019-05-23
  3. "Looks good at the top level, but things aren't always as they seem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Analyst in Los Gatos, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great collaboration. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Growing larger and losing some of its initial appeal. Structure is not running nearly as smooth anymore.

    Netflix2019-10-11
  4. "Work here if you get the chance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees are trusted and treated as adults, not micromanaged. Pay is fantastic. The company actually believes in diversity. Netflix is well respected by everyone.

    Cons

    It is difficult to get up to speed as a new employee. Most people experience impostor syndrome after getting hired here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep making good strategic bets.

    Netflix2019-09-29
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything is fine here

    Cons

    Nothing as i noticed there

    Netflix2019-09-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Easily the best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Los Gatos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Managers tell you what needs to be done and why, giving you the freedom to decide how to achieve the goals. - Deadlines are reasonable and rarely require late nights or weekends. - Very little process getting in the way of coding. - No junior engineers, no slackers allowed. - Managers are very willing to fire employees who do not get their jobs done or who have bad attitude, so everyone is good at their job... and easy to work with. - Base-pay is at least double what you're currently making (though there are no RSUs)

    Show More

    Cons

    - It lacks some of the fun corporate secrets that Apple & Google have - The only thing that will grow is your salary. No real opportunity for a bigger/better title.

    Advice to Management

    - Do not lower hiring standards or you will lose that magic.

    Netflix2019-09-20
  7. "Great Company, Constant Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Marketing Producer 

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, collaborative work environment, constantly changing

    Cons

    No room for title growth.

    Netflix2019-09-22
  8. "Not Netflix CS anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cs Representative 

    I worked at Netflix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Fun environment Cafeteria Flexible schedules

    Cons

    Not Netflix CS anymore Outsourced CS

    Netflix2019-09-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Overall very good company, very dysfunctional CS department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Curriculum Developer in Los Gatos, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Netflix pays top of market, the atmosphere is stellar, with lots of free food and swag, many stunning colleagues and several dysfunctional ones, especially in middle management.

    Cons

    Expect to work 60+ hours a week regularly. Passive management communication styles can sometimes let you know that it is still not enough. So that lowers the hourly rate of their top market pay. The Netflix Culture is far more marketing than reality. It is a sheen under which it's politics as usual. CS seems more dysfunctional and adrift than the rest of the company. Surprisingly mediocre middle management there... who use politics and cliques to cling to power. They will tell you everything is great right up to the moment they release you. Keep your head down and trust no one, and you will probably make the five year average for employment period. After which you will realize you have been working with your head in a noose the entire time.

    Show More
    Netflix2019-09-28
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Be prepared for abusive directors and young untrained individuals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, stock options, ownership.

    Cons

    Netflix as a company constantly says it is a strong advocate for diversity and inclusion, and do not tolerate “brilliant jerks”, or bullies. Unfortunately this is something that they talk about very often but when situations arises, they would often side with the individual of higher rank. In my 2 years at Netflix, I’ve noticed that you don’t have to be the brightest and smartest person in the room to excel in... this company, you just have to be the loudest, and made your presence known in meetings especially the high visibility ones. Directors are often bullies and brilliant jerks, somethings sans brilliant - they are great at politicking and making themselves sound and look good. The director I am working for for example, often makes me solve director level problems. When guidance is needed the answer we get very often is “not my problem”. However if the problem was successfully solved, they would be quick to claim the credit for it as the inspiration that lead the team to the breakthrough. Netflix encourages weekly 1:1s with your cross functional partners and direct managers/directors, and encourages free sharing of ideas and respectful feedback during these sessions. My director however for example would use these sessions to threaten the staff, if too many questions were asked, they would be threatened with termination. Another issue is Netflix loves hiring very young professionals either fresh out of school or individuals on the second job. Hiring of dynamic individuals is great, however it is essential to provide young individuals with the necessary coaching to set them up for success especially when working in a high performance environment where once needs to excel and be able to separate professional and personal feelings. No coaching is provided for these young professionally immature individuals, on top of that they pay them a lot of money that probably warrants more than 10 years of experience. What happens is that these young individuals develop an inflated ego, play politics, gossip, and take everything too personally. The lack of coaching and allowing them to run amok, results in a very apparent bullying millennial mean girls/boys culture. HR is very aware of these problems but employees are often told that they are working on it, but nothing ever gets done. In fact, employees have stopped going to HR for any work issues, because more than often HR would side with the upper management, brand the victimized employee a “trouble employee” and eventually they will be let go. And the reason given to the entire office for their dismissal is that they are no longer excelling in their work, which most of the time is completely false. It’s almost always politics and power play involved. I have witness this happen to many times to so many of my brilliant, hardworking and true stunning colleagues. A few of these unfortunate colleagues were also told by HR upon being let go that even though they are aware of what is happening, their hands are tied and they should just treat it as they are collateral damage. How much you get paid also depends on who you know, and how much you know how to “charm” your bosses and the leadership team. I know of managers who are getting paid 3 x more than directors, because they are great with charming their bosses. How they determine how much each person gets paid, does not depend on experience, skill. It depends on friendships, and how well you sell yourself. The money and benefits are great, but they also come at a very high cost. If you feel you are able to tolerate such an abusive environment, then this is the company for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It’s about time you put your words about not tolerating brilliant jerks, and your fair place work environment regardless of rank into action. Leadership often close their eyes on offenders due to them either being great at being part of the big boys/girls club or the fact they are of substantial rank. If this isn’t addressed you will keep losing your true stunning employees and be left with the ones who sound great... but can they put their money where their mouth is.

    Show More
    Netflix2019-09-20
Found 882 reviews