Microsoft Senior Program Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Microsoft Senior Program Manager Reviews

Updated 11 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
87%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella
Satya Nadella
286 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Proud to be associated with MS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get to work with smart people and get good salary and perks

    Cons

    Top down approach for almost everything

    Microsoft2019-12-11
  2. "Love Microsoft"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We are solving large, world-class problems that scale globally. The people we work with are very smart and generally willing to lean in and help get this job done in an inclusive and team environment.

    Cons

    We tend to specialize early on and get stuck in that specialty with not much room to switch roles without conflict.

    Microsoft2019-12-02
  3. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, making products that literally impact millions of people, good people

    Cons

    Things can be slow, opportunities in Vancouver (and really any remote office that's not Redmond) are limited

    Microsoft2019-12-04
  4. "Microsoft Sr. Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Great CEO - Great company values - Good people (well most of them)

    Cons

    - At times in some groups, politics plays

    Microsoft2019-11-04
  5. "xx"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Empower everyone in the planet to achieve more

    Cons

    would be great if they speed up the interview process

    Microsoft2019-10-24
  6. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Program Manager in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, pay is good

    Cons

    Political, burocratic. Hard to be promoted and advance in career.

    Microsoft2019-10-14
  7. "Great company - stable but no growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, stability, good wage, work life balance is good

    Cons

    Managers aren't good but improving, growth has slown down

    Advice to Management

    Try to really live the values of "care, mentor and develop". Most people try to become people managers because there's no other path to advancement, not because they really want to develop people.

    Microsoft2019-10-08
  8. "Changing culture is awesome, still room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love what Satya has done since he joined - it immediately became a much better place to work.

    Cons

    Still some bumps in the road in terms of HR policies and practices. Sometimes it appears they're more interested in covering their butt than doing the right thing.

    Microsoft2019-09-18
  9. "Worth experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Employee friendly company, should surely give a try

    Cons

    Not yet known for any cons

    Microsoft2019-08-14
  10. "Work Flexibility without the Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Program Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility with where and how you get your work accomplished. Health and retirement savings benefits.

    Cons

    Too much bias and politics in the reward system. Impact associated with shiny new projects, not actual impact to the businesses success. Difficult to move around company.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t just invest in people managers, re-invest in your SMEs and bring them back into strategy discussions. Figure out how to fix the title inflation issue that is creating mismatches between relevant experience and pay and level of responsibility. You will erode experienced employees expertise if you do not fix the title inflation.

    Microsoft2019-08-26
Found 623 reviews