MITRE Reviews

Updated Oct 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,266 of over 1,447 reviews

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
MITRE President & CEO Jason Providakes
Jason Providakes
349 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and nice work-life balance(in 372 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and pay for a Florida-based job(in 80 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Company is losing its value proposition to sponsors(in 70 reviews)

  • "Upper management has lost touch with Operations personnel(in 35 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Dream Job

      Sep 9, 2021 - Modeling, Simulation & Analysis - Systems Engineer I 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are better than anywhere else I looked. Colleagues are all eager to share knowledge, answer questions, and mentor someone just beginning their journey into work-life. There is a genuine emphasis on making sure you are interested in the projects you are working on and/or whether you would like to do something else. As a not-for-profit the work at MITRE doesn't have a profit motivation which really makes every effort about doing the job as well as it can be done, not as cheaply or as quickly as it can be done. MITRE is huge and thus has a wide variety of people, positions, projects, locations, and lifestyles. There are people who work completely from home. There are people who spend all of their time in labs. Some people work on satellites. Some people work in healthcare and law. There is also a huge emphasis on continuing to learn and grow as you progress in your career. The MITRE Institute offers many courses and there are generous tuition forgiveness and assistance programs. I'm confident no matter who you are you can find the right fit at MITRE.

      Cons

      - Interview process was slow. I was interviewing with multiple departments over the course of 4 months. COVID probably made this longer than usual. - Position is salary so extra hours worked do not get you more money. However, there has been no pressure to work above and beyond 40 hours a week.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      MITRE Response

      Employee Relations Representative

      Thank you for your insight and review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experiences and are happy to learn that you have found your ‘Dream Job’ at MITRE. Creating an environment where our colleagues can collaborate and thrive is a priority for us. Our teams are focused on solving some of the most complex challenges facing our society and nation and we encourage and support continuous learning from one another as well as through internal resources like our MITRE Institute, leadership development opportunities, and our robust tuition assistance program. Your feedback about the interview process and MITRE’s commitment to work/life balance is integral as we continue to adapt our hiring experience to be responsive to candidate needs while aligning with our COVID safety and mitigation protocols. We’ve recently introduced a hybrid work model to provide even greater flexibility for staff to balance work and home life, while ensuring that MITRE continues to operate in the public interest and deliver innovative solutions for our talent, sponsors and partners.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great work life

      Oct 25, 2021 - Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great work life balance - Good benefits - Lots of projects - Flexibility - Friendly management

      Cons

      - CEO makes lots of changes, but most of the time it doesnt benefit the company - Some red tape - Changes implemented randomly and it causes a lot of issues -Some people are slow to respond

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Things aren't looking good

      Oct 22, 2021 - Principal Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work Relatively good benefits Work life balance

      Cons

      Current boneheaded policy Terrible communications from management Focus on social issues outside our core business Becoming too Woke Tons of barriers to getting work down

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Culture improving but still has room to grow

      Oct 22, 2021 - Senior Cybersecurity Consultant in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of innovative/ impactful projects and talented people.

      Cons

      Your experience may vary depending on your team leader/manager.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      MITRE Engineering intern

      Oct 14, 2021 - Engineering 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Urge interns to ask questions

      Cons

      No downsides it is a great place to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Corporate Leadership is Not Leading

      Sep 23, 2021 - Electrical Engineer in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Broad and impactful work with a huge number of organizations Great "family" feel at the department level Pay and benefits are superb

      Cons

      Corporate leadership is vocally partisan Corporate leadership does not listen to those executing projects and hinders execution When people don't follow corporate leaders, they resort to heavy handed, authoritarian mandates

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good working environment

      Oct 26, 2021 - Analyst in Bedford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance is good

      Cons

      Can be challenging to navigate organizationally

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      Oct 5, 2021 - Internship in Huntsville, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment and people

      Cons

      I had a completely online internship

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Fascinating Place to Work

      Oct 5, 2021 - Department Manager in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible/work life balance. Mid-level management and project leaders support their people well.

      Cons

      High impact work ebbs and flows in which staff have to sometimes work through simple problem sets before acquiring the "perfect" assessment that they are extremely passionate about.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Control your own destiny (if you want to)

      Oct 4, 2021 - Lead Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Employee wellness & work-life balance is a priority - Encouraged (but not forced) to step outside your comfort zone and broaden your perspective and grow professionally and personally - Encouraged (but not forced) to build your own network within and beyond the company and find those projects and roles that you want to be more involved in - Not for profit and (very) impactful work that benefits society/societies - Continued education is supported - lots of people going for their (2nd) Masters or PhD - Management tends to consist of promoted from employees "who know the drill"

      Cons

      Due to the nature of the organization and the business processes, the culture is unique and very different from any other industry organization. This often leads to some challenges with "figuring out how this place works" since you can't compare it to any other organization in industry. For instance, in industry if I step outside of my designated or siloed role and find a new client/sponsor/project and thereby create more work for myself or my group, I will get reprimanded or fired. At MITRE that is actually encouraged.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,266 Reviews

    Work at MITRE? Share Your Experiences

    MITRE logo
    or