J D Wetherspoon Bar Staff Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

J D Wetherspoon Bar Staff Reviews

Updated 21 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
18 Ratings
  1. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    weekly pay is really good

    Cons

    long shifts are very annoying

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-15
  2. "Easy position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Brigg, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job. Got to meet customers from all backgrounds

    Cons

    Hardly got any breaks for long shifts. Had a jobs worth manager

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-21
  3. "why does this take so long ?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    always very good fun and social

    Cons

    anti social hours and min wage

    Advice to Management

    none

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-03

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 21, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your review.

  4. "Really cares about it staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, discount on food and drinks, easy to pick up

    Cons

    Just like every bar job irregular hours, but what you sign up for

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-25
  5. "Good for short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Blackpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can have as many hours as you like, big teams where most people get along, progress from within most often

    Cons

    Those in higher positions seem to look down on other staff, a few lazy managers, very busy shifts

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-11
  6. "Not brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Getting to know the regulars

    Cons

    Rigid working hours, Saturday nights suck!

    Advice to Management

    Look after your staff better

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-10
  7. "enjoyment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Dunstable, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    meeting all types of people and enjoy my team of colleagues

    Cons

    some customers can be quite rude

    Advice to Management

    the hours should be on a more stable rota I can work start shift , mid shift and finish shift all in one week

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-07
  8. "Bar Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Louth, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours on offer to employees

    Cons

    No major issues. Issues dealt with fast.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-11
  9. "A great student job to have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Staff in Birmingham, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working behind a bar, full training was given and I liked being thrown in the deep end.

    Cons

    Weekly rota changes made it hard to plan ahead

    Advice to Management

    Have more consistent rotas

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We aim to provide a rota at least two weeks in advance and any changes agreed. We are sorry to hear this was not the case for you.

  10. "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    -Great chances for career progression - Benefits are good (50% off food and drink during shift & 20% off otherwise) - your managers are hired internally and have made their way up from your position, and so better understand your interests

    Cons

    -the pay is a bit low

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-26

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased to hear that you are benefitting from the discount scheme and the chance to progress. Many thanks for you review

Found 50 reviews