Grubhub Sales Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Grubhub Sales Reviews

Updated 26 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
49%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO  Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
48 Ratings
  1. "The best job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Sales Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Aside from lasers, confetti, a live band and DJ at the holiday party and the cold brew on tap in the office -- leadership is very receptive and responsive to what makes a difference for employees. They ask for feedback and actually implement it. I've been very impressed with the overall support, training, and team. The company makes special effort to show employee appreciation and make this a fun place to work.

    Cons

    This isn't so much a con as a disclaimer - working for a tech company you need to be prepared for change, and then change again, and then more change. It's just the nature of the beast. So, if you need a very stable and consistent workflow, tech isn't your deal.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Grubhub2019-12-26
  2. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, no weekends, a really relaxed place to work and good people to work with as well.

    Cons

    Going to Chicago for Training

    Advice to Management

    None

    Grubhub2019-12-23
  3. "Selling partnerships to restaurants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Location, Snacks galor, Weekly Lunch Credit to use on GRUBHUB, Flexible hours

    Cons

    Low Base salary but well worth it when you are here to sell as it is not too hard of a sell since we are helping restaurant owners make more money!

    Advice to Management

    I love the new management! I haven't been here too long, but so far in the past 90days , I have received a ton of support and training was great! They really make it easy for anyone to succeed

    Grubhub2019-12-23
  4. "Delightful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is so laid back and fun. No one breathes down my neck and we are given autonomy to use our own creativity in order to sell. I feel valued. I made well over 6k in commissions my 3rd month! We never go hungry- they feed us

    Cons

    the pass off from sales to account adviser could be tightened up a bit-

    Advice to Management

    Account adviser role- we could all benefit if they used a proactive way to inform restaurant owners they are their new point of contact. Their customer load may be too high? Perhaps a generated task could pop up for them on each closed deal?

    Grubhub2019-12-20
  5. "Flexibility, Great pay and Benefits and Awesome Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, Great pay and Benefits and Awesome Culture. They truly care about your career path and goals. They continue to build a culture you are proud to be apart of.

    Cons

    Like any sales job it quota driven and you as good as your last month. However, its like running your own business you gotta get up and get after it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Grubhub2019-12-20
  6. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Treated like an adult, everyone is super nice, company gives back to children who don't eat, great benefits and pay structure.

    Cons

    cant think of any cons

    Advice to Management

    Can we get some string cheese for snacks

    Grubhub2019-12-19
  7. "Great People, hampered by US who hold the pursestrings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time

    Pros

    Culture, staff, UK mgmt and salary

    Cons

    Old product, no marketing

    Advice to Management

    UK - Learnt a lot US - The company will die without investment

    Grubhub2019-10-22
  8. Helpful (5)

    "High turnover - Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None literally place is a joke

    Cons

    Highest turnover I have ever seen in a company in my life They want you to sign up 12 restaurants a month and claim you get around $300 each restaurant you sign up. Heres the catch: they put you in some random small town in the middle of nowhere with no restaurants, or an area that most places are already signed up. You are just calling places that don't even speak English and YELL at you and tell you never to call again. Another catch: in order to get your $300 per place you sign up THEY the restaurant have to stay active for 3 months on the Grubhub app. Then you get paid. And the restaurant always wants to back out and cancel before and they tell you to LIE to them and say oh it takes 3 months for people to start to really come through on our app. Which is another lie. It's super shady. All they want you to do is lie to peoples HARD EARNED MONEY AND BUSINESS to get a sale. It's disgusting. They also pay you around $30,000 a year. They say oh you can get all this extra money and make $60,000-$80,000 a year if you sign up all these restaurants. But they have to stay active for 3 months, BUT you get fired within 3-4 months not even if you don't hit your quota which people never do. So they get away with paying people 30K a year to get new places signed up. So it's a smart system for them and cheap labor.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Close

    Grubhub2019-11-21
  9. Helpful (3)

    "no growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    opportunity to travel, commission is extremely high for an entry level sales role (if you work hard for it), some company outings, casual work attire

    Cons

    zero communication between departments, no one from the sales department is included in decisions that affect sales, too many projects are launched before they are ready, no work life balance

    Grubhub2019-09-11
  10. Helpful (9)

    "My Time at Grubhub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Representative in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Unlimited PTO -Work from home -Commission -Paid $100 of phone bill -Gave us weekly lunch credit on Grubhub. It was $18 which hardly covers one lunch after the Grubhub delivery fees. They increased it to $30 a week a few weeks before I left the company. -Low metrics required

    Cons

    -HORRIBLE communication to employees -$35k base salary -Unrealistic goals were made out of thin air for a product that had never existed before -Had my team sell a product that was incomplete, which we had to sell unrealistic expectations to clients -Grubhub has terrible customer service for their clients. Clients are sent to a 3rd party call center that can not give answer and only can cancel orders. -Never met my team -Never felt apart of the company -Stock drop -Marketing needs to really step it up

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When I first started at Grubhub I was extremely excited to be working for such a well known company but that changed six months in. We were given many false hopes of our roles and what we could expect for our future at the company. Also, when internal employees are interviewing for new roles within the company it would be very helpful and normal for the manager you interview with to get back to you after the interview to let the employee know why they were not a good fit for the role for a learning moment. Especially when the employee asked for feedback twice. Good luck

    Show More
    Grubhub2019-08-07
Found 72 reviews