Grubhub Sales Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Grubhub Sales Reviews

Updated 11 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
41 Ratings
  1. "no growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    opportunity to travel, commission is extremely high for an entry level sales role (if you work hard for it), some company outings, casual work attire

    Cons

    zero communication between departments, no one from the sales department is included in decisions that affect sales, too many projects are launched before they are ready, no work life balance

    Grubhub2019-09-11
  2. Helpful (7)

    "My Time at Grubhub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Representative in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Unlimited PTO -Work from home -Commission -Paid $100 of phone bill -Gave us weekly lunch credit on Grubhub. It was $18 which hardly covers one lunch after the Grubhub delivery fees. They increased it to $30 a week a few weeks before I left the company. -Low metrics required

    Cons

    -HORRIBLE communication to employees -$35k base salary -Unrealistic goals were made out of thin air for a product that had never existed before -Had my team sell a product that was incomplete, which we had to sell unrealistic expectations to clients -Grubhub has terrible customer service for their clients. Clients are sent to a 3rd party call center that can not give answer and only can cancel orders. -Never... met my team -Never felt apart of the company -Stock drop -Marketing needs to really step it up

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When I first started at Grubhub I was extremely excited to be working for such a well known company but that changed six months in. We were given many false hopes of our roles and what we could expect for our future at the company. Also, when internal employees are interviewing for new roles within the company it would be very helpful and normal for the manager you interview with to get back to you after the... interview to let the employee know why they were not a good fit for the role for a learning moment. Especially when the employee asked for feedback twice. Good luck

    Show More
    Grubhub2019-08-07
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Grubhub needs to Grow Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time

    Pros

    All the perks of a tech job - snacks, flexible hours, nice work space and unlimited PTO

    Cons

    Grubhub is an unprofessional, unstructured workplace where cliques run rife, favoritism is rampant and pay is low. In my time there I witnessed leaders (including the CFO) acting with complete disregard for their employees: openly sexist, hostile to challengers and arrogant beyond belief - berating employees during meetings, barging into private 1:1's and dismissing those who shared a different opinion. HR... protects senior leaders in the organization, making it impossible to share upwards feedback or have complaints taken seriously. Grubhub fails to address the problems at its core: an incredibly young workforce who run riot around the Chicago office; tech which is outdated at best and struggling in comparison to competitors; and incompetent people managers.

    Show More
    Grubhub2019-09-04
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great people but....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Sales Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Great culture in each office I visited...wonderful people * Interesting job * Prospects love to talk about food! * Fun office parties

    Cons

    Frequent changes in quota levels, pay structures and job requirements

    Advice to Management

    Agility is a positive, chaos is not.

    Grubhub2019-07-19
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant Sales Executive in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's snacks i guess and you get 30 a week in grubhub dollars to spend on grubhub. It basically buys you 1.5 lunches a week.

    Cons

    #1 the training you receive is hot garbage. It is completely useless and does not set you up for success #2 the pay is absolute trash. I am one of the top reps in the entire office and i don't even break 6 figures. You can make a lot more money in a lot of other sales jobs. You get 32k a year base and the commission is garbage!! You work very hard for not a lot of serious reward. You should honestly work somewhere... else. #3 the attrition rate is insane of the 18 people i was hired on with only 1 other person is left. Last week alone i personally know of at least 8 people who were fired last week. Our sales team is maybe 40 people. Most people are looking for other opportunities and when you look around the sales floor, a lot of the time its quite and its empty. Theyll give you the line that theyre looking to expand and that they should grow to such and such number, yeah thats a pipe dream. #4 a lot of the management has no idea what they are doing, and a lot of them are extremely immature. This is a perfect example of how not to be when you're in charge. #5 people are always beating on these stupid drums every time they close a sale and they're yelling. Some people like it, but to me it's extremely annoying, distracting, and it's embarassing when youre on the phone with a potential client. This is more of my personal opinion, a good amount of people use it as their motivation, but i could care less if anyone even knows i have a go live. #6 the territories you get can make or break you! I have had great territories and ive had bad ones. They change every 3 months! So if you get a bad one, and youre just starting out, you may as well kiss your job good by buddy. They rate all of them equally, so it makes it very difficult sometimes. #7 the managers are always stuck in useless meetings that are not beneficial for their teams. They do not have enough time in the day to develop their new people so they end up failing and getting fired.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Spend a little effort on the chandler office please

    Grubhub2019-08-16
  6. Helpful (7)

    "A Glorified Pyramid/MLM Scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Grubhub $, and casual company culture. Get to put on your resume that you worked at Grubhub.

    Cons

    This job is a stepping stone to your next job, and I wouldn't recommend anyone working here for more than a year if you can survive that long. There's no value add for employees. Essentially, you don't make money, you don't work with people you like, and you don't get skills development/mentor-ship. So it's a lose-lose. *Commission structure changes every month so you should definitely take that into... consideration. As a publicly traded company they look for ways to show investors and the market there's some increase in revenue every year. So they overhire a bunch of salespeople in the beginning of the year, work them to death. Then fire them at the end of the year after you've made them enough money. It's unethical but somehow legal, and keeps them from paying unemployment. Just know what you are signing up for before you jump into this role. It's not a money making job where you make decent cash if you perform well. There's a lot of loop holes and unfair practices designed to keep you from getting paid so they don't have to pay you out. They're not loyal to top-performers. You could be here one day and gone the next. Lastly, keep in mind that you're not really a real human being to the company. You're just some object that performs a function. Highly disposable and highly replaceable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be upfront with people interviewing that this is a short term job, so they can keep realistic expectations.

    Grubhub2019-08-08
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good Benefits but Chandler Office is a Scam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, good benefits, free snacks and drinks, very laid back

    Cons

    poor and incompetent managers, toxic work environment, upper management has no transparency, lied to rudderless and clueless leaders

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to people in the interview process - the Chandler office gets the terrible picked through territories no one wants that you cant make money with - the office has gotten exponentially more toxic because of incompetent managers and lack of transparency - the Chandler is a case study on how to run a new office completely into the ground because no one in Chandler had a clue - I couldn;t leave fast enough

    Grubhub2019-08-09
  8. Helpful (4)

    "OK job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, happy hours, free food all the time including $30/wk to spend on Grubhub, laid back atmosphere, good location

    Cons

    Zero professionalism. Almost all employees are young and there’s a lot of drama. Certain people can get away with anything and there are no fair standards. Territories can make or break your paycheck and competitors are making it a very tough sell. Grubhub does not adjust their business model accordingly to help with competitors passing us in the market. If you think you’ll ever get promoted, you won’t. Stock has... went down over 50%, and although we do get RSUs, we’ve lost so much of them and you have to wait 4 years to vest. High turnover rate makes it difficult to feel stable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Professionalize the place. Make fair standards and stop letting certain people get away with things that nobody else can.

    Grubhub2019-06-08
  9. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very fun place to work. Cool culture

    Cons

    Can be stressful working here at times

    Grubhub2019-06-11
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Pay structure changes all the time, most of the sales reps have quit and moved on. There are no chances of getting a promotion or career advancement, they hire the management externally. Company is on desperate mode with stocks down over 60%.

    Grubhub2019-06-05
Found 65 reviews