Fidelity Investments Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Fidelity Investments Reviews

Updated 11 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Fidelity Investments CEO Abby Johnson
Abby Johnson
2,586 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It is basically a call center unless you move up into a position in a branch(in 241 reviews)

  • "work/life balance can periodically be off kilter(in 197 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (209)

    "Great career-starting company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Engineer in Smithfield, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits including profit sharing and bonuses are great. The breadth of this company provides a great opportunity to try out different career paths or boost your current one.

    Cons

    In my current role, I am working overtime more often than I'd like with recognition that seems to only go so far until it sizzles out. That may be tied to the size of the company itself, where promotions work in a "trickle down" manner.

    Advice to Management

    No advice. I like the direction Abby is taking this company. I think sticking to our current principles will turn out to be a big success.

    Fidelity Investments2018-06-11
  2. "Hard work is rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Project & Program Management in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In recent years, there has been a greater focus on creating opportunities for employees to explore roles in other parts of the organization. Great customer-focused company.

    Cons

    A recent organizational shift to an agile model was seismic, and has taken time for roles / responsibilities and operating norms to settle.

    Fidelity Investments2019-12-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Start a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -decent comp & especially benefits -thorough review & training processes to facilitate personal growth -relative autonomy (at least in my group) and recognition of contributions -flexible culture, work-from-home options, etc. -leadership is respectful and open to feedback

    Cons

    -it is VERY difficult to move and grow in your career across business units unless you know people...resumes are ignored and it's all about the name game -lots of dead weight (maybe this is an issue at all large organizations?), especially directors and VPs who don't understand their subject matter but realized they can coast and still earn six figures at this stage -extrovert bias, salesmanship is often... prioritized over skill

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I realize measures are being taken to address career mobility and the "old boy" cultures - just keep chipping away at it, I guess

    Fidelity Investments2019-12-09
  4. "Work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Fidelity Investments full-time

    Pros

    good company to start a career at

    Cons

    but the coworkers are not very interesting to work with

    Fidelity Investments2019-12-11
  5. "Great benefits if you choose to utilize"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company has a lot to offer to its employees in terms of benefits

    Cons

    However it lacks to give employees support for their career success

    Fidelity Investments2019-12-11
  6. "CRA Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CRA in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, professional but relaxed, great learning and development.

    Cons

    Different pay structure would be nice.

    Fidelity Investments2019-12-12
  7. "Financial Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work - life balance and clientele.

    Cons

    Ever changing initiatives driven by folks that do not have a pulse on the people we see face to face.

    Advice to Management

    Less personnel meetings = more time to operate your practice

    Fidelity Investments2019-12-10
  8. "Best Organization to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture, very friendly and helpful people.

    Cons

    I did not see any Cons

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    Fidelity Investments2019-12-09
  9. "Good work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Systems Analyst in Westlake, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good work culture -Healthy lifestyle is highly encouraged

    Cons

    -Salary -Too many meetings. -Hard to make change or have teams adopt to technology.

    Fidelity Investments2019-12-09
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Architect 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, compensation, people, and opportunity to learn new things.

    Cons

    Large company, politics, and cost pressures.

    Fidelity Investments2019-12-08
Found 6349 reviews