Facebook Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Facebook Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg
Mark Zuckerberg
2,429 Ratings
Pros
  • "free food and transport are great(in 328 reviews)

  • "Working with really smart people(in 273 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Facebook full-time

    Pros

    fun, great learning and working environment

    Cons

    lots of work, not so fun all the time.

    Facebook2017-11-22
  2. Helpful (367)

    "Fast paced company with high expectations, but incredibly fair. You won't a place that cares more about it's people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Incredible benefits - Excellent compensation that rewards strong performance - Lots of autonomy - Tons of room for growth - Very transparent from the top down - Strong leadership - Intelligent and caring colleagues - The most fair and well thought out review process you will find everywhere - Exciting work

    Cons

    - If you don't learn to make the work life balance work for you, it can be exhausting. But you'll also be given lots of support with this if you ask for it. - It doesn't matter how good you are at your job, chances are you're going to be surrounded by a ton of other people who are just as good if not better. Imposter syndrome is real, but if you got an offer, you probably belong here too.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2017-02-17

    Facebook Response

    April 17, 2017Director, Global Recruiting Programs and Operations

    Thank you for the feedback. From the Life@ benefits and conveniences to the many employee affinity and advice groups, we are all here to support you. If you need additional help, please reach out to your HR Business Partner.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (25)

    "It’s hard to overstate how great everyone is here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Design Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked at lots of other companies and the range of talent, skill, and professionalism usually varied widely. So far my experience at Facebook has been working with amazingly smart, talented, and just super kind, fun people. Forget all the other many perks. This is the best part for me.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are just too many things going on. It’s challenging to put things in perspective and make sure you live a balanced life. It I think you could say this at any job that you truly enjoy.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-08-25

    Facebook Response

    October 9, 2019Global Brand Partnerships Manager

    Thank you for this feedback. We're very happy to have you here. Our incredible colleagues make this a very special place to work!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (74)

    "Know what you are getting yourself into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Engineer in Menlo Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Facebook is a good company to work for. They pay well. They have great perks. At the beginning, life is good. Facebook rewards ambition.

    Cons

    The appeal quickly wears off. Your experience at Facebook highly depends on the team you join. Facebook does not have the best people managers. If you join a team with a good manager who knows the system, you will be more likely to have a productive, prosperous time at Facebook. If you join a team with a bad manager, your work-life balance will be horrible. You will feel extreme pressure with the Performance cycle review every six months. Worse yet, you may even blame yourself for what's happening, not realizing the role your manager plays until it is too late. Facebook is a good company for new college graduates. Even with a bad experience, you can learn so much about practical, applied technology here. For those with several years of experience, or with family commitments, be careful. Come into Facebook with a clear sense of what you need from Facebook that you cannot get anywhere else. Be prepared to leave when that is delayed, or not a possibility, or comes at a cost to your family or external commitments. For most people, Facebook is not a company that you join and happily work at for the rest of your life. Facebook is a temporary stop that will squeeze as much productivity out of you as it can. When that stops, it forces you out or makes you want to leave.

    Facebook2019-08-19
  5. Helpful (408)

    "Pleasantly Surprised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Site Selection Program Manager in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook

    Pros

    I'm a 55 year old working in a company where the average age is 28, and I've never been happier. I have always wanted to work in a company where I wasn't the proverbial square peg, and after nearly 30 years in the work force, I believe that I have found the company that complements my ideology for how a company should operate. Here are the "Pros" as I see them... - Leadership: Mark Zuckerberg, Sheryl Sandberg, Chris Cox and the rest of the leadership team. Inspiring, smart and totally real. - The Culture: The openness is a real thing, we're trusted to do the right thing, mistakes are expected, being yourself is important and encouraged, humility is encouraged and expected, building trust is paramount, the mission of making the world a more open and connected place isn't just a cool phrase because it guides everything. It's not about us, it's about everyone else. - The People: Smart and nice is what I find. The diversity is better than any other company I've worked at and it's getting better. Those that are figuring out how to make what we do better for everyone are really good at implementing their ideas. Two years ago I didn't know what this company really was or if it had a secure future. I can clearly see now that they have what it takes to last, and it's sincere. - Management: Managers are hired because they're good managers and not because they're good at something else. The management track is different than the contributor track and they're equal in importance. - Benefits: Working in the Valley it's hard to differentiate all the benefits employees receive and Facebook is at least equal to all the major tech companies, but coming from Seattle the benefits are nothing short of incredible. Granted, I haven't been with the company for very long and I'm still in the honeymoon period, but I can tell what's real and what's not; this place is for real.

    Cons

    Like any tech company, the work is big and complicated so work/life balance can suffer from time to time. The difference is that it's the passion within the individuals that drives them to work long hours and forego time off. Of course there can be times when schedule demands force the imbalance, but it's not such that 10-12 hours days become commonplace and expected regardless. We do what we do to get the job done; no one is killing themselves because there's an order to do so. Being able to eat to your hearts/stomachs content can be dangerous to the waistline, but that's a self-control thing and not the company's issue.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2016-02-17

    Facebook Response

    March 31, 2016Your Friends at Facebook

    Thank you for sharing your experience here. We believe our mission-driven community is special, and bringing together people with different backgrounds to work on challenging problems makes us better.

    Continue reading
  6. "The best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vertical Market Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible people and a collaborative, open environment where job satisfaction is at the core of company culture and team players shine.

    Cons

    Not really a con but as the company grows I hope we retain this culture.

    Facebook2019-11-07
  7. "It doesn't get better than this"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Free food - Great comp - Smart people - Amazing offices - Great career plan

    Cons

    - Your manager can make or break your experience. I've heard from people that have terrible managers and it honestly feels like they work for a different company, their stories are so different from mine. - Bi-yearly review cycles are very tiresome and drive everyone into short-sighted decisions about prioritization.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-11-06
  8. "Great atmosphere to grow and succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits , incredible culture, really good food

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Facebook2019-11-06
  9. "Highly Rewarding and Challenging Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Critical Facility Engineer in Prineville, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Open collaboration with highly motivated and intelligent coworkers. Very rewarding salary and bonus programs. Zero boredom, always a challenge and opportunity.

    Cons

    Challenges can seem overwhelming at times.

    Facebook2019-11-06
  10. "Excellent Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Operations Analyst in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best Place to work, Very good Work Culture, Environment and facilities. Food is awesome. Less Work Pressure

    Cons

    Hiring people on Third Party Payroll.

    Facebook2019-11-05
Found 3174 reviews