EF Education First Reviews

Updated 1 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO  Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
704 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment where workers are really valued(in 174 reviews)

  • "Competitive salary, good benefit and great people(in 76 reviews)

Cons
  • "Disorganised and long hours over the weekends(in 115 reviews)

  • "Very low salary for the amount and quality of work you're expected to do(in 98 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing culture workplace with autonomy to get creative and run your own business"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to get creative within your business and encouragement to test initiatives creatively. The workplace and teams are extremely collaborative and open

    Cons

    A lot of initiatives set forth that are half-baked and don't always come to fruition and low compensation

    EF Education First2020-06-01
  2. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Supportive and talented team. - Fun place to work and positive environment. - Good work life/balance. - Overall good place to start a career.

    Cons

    - Very low salary for the amount and quality of work you're expected to do. - I found it really hard to advance my career or get a raise even after getting good feedback on performance reviews (lots of evasion from management when the topic got brought up)

    EF Education First2020-05-26
  3. "Great company with great ambition"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    EF Really is on top of English teaching and education. Good work environment. Amazing offices

    Cons

    At times there can be too much bureaucracy, and lack of communication. There is lack of transparency on career progression

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-05-25
  4. "Good for part time work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher 

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time

    Pros

    Good option for part time teaching experience Good hourly rate

    Cons

    No real downsides, what you would expect from this type of employer

    EF Education First2020-05-26
  5. "Nice Workplace"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lovely happy working atmosphere. people were kind.

    Cons

    to be honest, i really enjoyed my time in EF

    EF Education First2020-05-24
  6. "Oraganised and supportive teaching company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online ESL Teacher in Birmingham, England

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gradual pay increase Good support center Promotion form within Flexible hours

    Cons

    Training does not prepare you for difficult children Minimal obligation from parents/students to show up on time/at all Limited hours available

    EF Education First2020-05-19

    EF Education First Response

    May 29, 2020Engagement and Retention Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback. We’re pleased to hear that you find the UK Center to be supportive and flexible, and that you’re able to grow within the company. We understand that students can sometimes be difficult in lessons, and we’re sorry that you didn’t feel prepared after completing the training. We do have a supplementary Managing Difficult Situations document that may help you beyond your training, so please do ask management if you haven’t received that. Due to the nature of the services that we provide, we do need to understand that students and their parents do require some flexibility with their booking, so we are unable to enforce a mandatory attendance policy. With that said, we will take this feedback onboard, and look for opportunities to improve. And finally, the lack of hours is caused by the lower student demand at the moment. With more schools opening in China, we’re hopeful that the student demand will increase in the coming weeks. Thanks again for your sharing your experience.

  7. "A review for you"

    4.0
    Former Employee - English Teacher 

    I worked at EF Education First part-time

    Pros

    Good people, productive but chill culture

    Cons

    The school closed for reasons unknown.

    EF Education First2020-05-16
  8. "Great for recent college grads!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to travel the world, fun work environment, mission based company

    Cons

    Low pay, long hours, and lots of office politics

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-05-15
  9. "Fun experience, engaging students, low pay"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Online ESL Teacher in Miami, FL

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The students are really fun. Since they are adults you can actually have real conversations with them and share life stories and experiences, and they are motivated to learn, not forced to. You can schedule yourself. If you like talking to people and are a people person, you will really enjoy.

    Cons

    The P.A.Y. is sooo bad. At this point in life I expect to be making 1.5 to 2 times their hourly rate, but here I am, accepting this meager stipend. I understand having a probationary period, but 6 months is a long time for someone to work at that pay level and not have any opportunity to vouch for their achievements, performance and work ethic within the first few months. I'm not sure how much they are willing to increase their salary after the probationary period, but the current salary is pathetic. If I didn't enjoy the job, and if the lesson content wasn't created for you, there is no way I would stay here. This is more of a personal con, but sometimes I overschedule myself or see a sub available and take it, and then I burn out. Just only do what you know you are mentally and emotionally capable of doing. Since the pay is so low I try to pick up as many classes as possible, but them I'm exhausted and miserable.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-05-13

    EF Education First Response

    May 29, 2020Engagement and Retention Specialist

    We really appreciate your candor when giving us feedback. We are so glad that you are enjoying teaching our students. They are the reason we are all here! It’s also good to here that you are taking advantage of the flexibility that our scheduling system provides. The subout system is a great way to pick up more hours, but your right you should only claim classes when you are free and in moderation. The last thing we want is for our teachers to burn out. While EF might not be the highest paying online teaching company in the market, we hope that our commitment to quality, our steady booking, and our determined support staff give you another reason to commit to teaching with EF.

  10. "Laid Back"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, travel perks

    Cons

    Pay is low, long hours

    EF Education First2020-05-27
Found 1962 reviews