EF Education First Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

EF Education First Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
619 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment where workers are really valued(in 151 reviews)

  • "Free travel opportunities (get to go on the tours they sell for free, either once a year or every other year depending on your position)(in 84 reviews)

Cons
  • "Depending on your role, expect to work long hours during "busy season"(in 100 reviews)

  • "Low salary especially in city like shanghai(in 86 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great culture, great people, little pay and mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel perks, over-the-top company events, fun culture, great people

    Cons

    Slow mobility in moving up in roles, little pay because they know a lot of people want the job

    Advice to Management

    Pay your sales people more so they don’t leave after doing really well to other companies that will give them more money.

    EF Education First2019-10-18
  2. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant 

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company has great culture, working with fun people

    Cons

    Very low pay, high turnover

    EF Education First2019-10-16
  3. "Great people, fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Hangzhou, Zhejiang
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training program useful and informative Curriculum and classroom resources provided Opportunity for personal development for those who seek it Airport collection Visa assistance Monthly social events Fun team

    Cons

    Not enough holidays Too much admin Salary could be better High staff turnover of PA and sales team Somewhat corporate in their outlook but hey, it is a private organization so this is only a minor negative

    EF Education First2019-10-15
  4. "Good company and good colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Education Consultant in Rio de Janeiro
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment and very good preparation for further positions.

    Cons

    Company sometimes a bit unsure on procedures, not many rules to follow.

    EF Education First2019-10-10
  5. "Sales Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Coordinator in Antofagasta

    I worked at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Contacts, events, good payment

    Cons

    - Hard work is not always recognized

    EF Education First2019-10-09

    EF Education First Response

    October 14, 2019Direector, Global Recruitment & Development

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time giving us your feedback. Wishing you all the best,. Kind regards.

  6. "If you're looking for a company that cares about and values its employees, look no further."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment and Match Specialist in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    EF is truly a community that values its employees. At a surface level, it's very obvious that the benefits and salaries are more than generous. The people in my department are extremely respectful, and there is a huge effort put forth by management to be communicative and transparent. This is really a company that values teamwork, support, communication, and the happiness of its employees. I haven't been here long,... but this is already, very clearly, the best company that I have ever worked for. It's no wonder that most people who work here stay here. If you're looking for a company that cares about and values its employees, look no further.

    Show More

    Cons

    I haven't been working here for long, but so far the only con that I can see is that sometimes it gets windy between the Boston campus's buildings. I think I'll live.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, because you're doing it amazingly. Your communication, consideration, thoughtfulness, and passion for what you do is completely evident and identifiable in every interaction.

    EF Education First2019-10-09
  7. "A Diamond in the Rough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    English speaking environment Always paid on time Managers are always willing to help

    Cons

    Cultural clashes will not get mediated Local staff can feel envious of foreign staff Progression stops after a while

    Advice to Management

    Don't be a fence sitter when confrontation happens, or you risk losing the faith and support of either your foreign/local staff.

    EF Education First2019-10-08

    EF Education First Response

    October 14, 2019Direector, Global Recruitment & Development

    Hello. Thank you for this feedback. Happy to hear you enjoy going to work and the international environment. We appreciate the feedback regarding cultural differences and will take this feedback with us. Many thanks.

  8. "Teaching Assistance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First part-time

    Pros

    Teachers are all very nice and considerate. CAN LEARN a lot of teaching methods in the class from being assistance

    Cons

    the salary is a bit low

    EF Education First2019-10-07

    EF Education First Response

    October 14, 2019Direector, Global Recruitment & Development

    HIi. Thank you for taking the time sending us your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and your input is very helpful. Many thanks.

  9. "You get what you get"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educational Tour Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Working with incredibly interesting and adventurous people, MULTIPLE travel perks, fun office events/meals/drinks provided, well-known global education company, opportunities for growth and development (IF you put in the work - not rocket science), opportunities to join focus groups based on your strengths/interests which will help you develop in the long run, great PTO (in addition to said travel perks), great... benefits, beautiful office

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay - BUT, $5-10k travel perks a year and a fun environment make it bearable and worth it, and it doesn't look any different than any other entry level salary in Boston

    Advice to Management

    Goal structures across teams (and even within teams) are totally unfair. There should be a product wide fixed guideline to hold everyone accountable for the same level of growth. Working for a more challenging manager screws you out of being able to earn your bonuses (but I'm thankful for everything else that comes along with a challenging manager).

    EF Education First2019-10-03
  10. "A great company for new college graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was an amazing environment to work at for recent graduate that wants to explore international education

    Cons

    After a few years, there are not that many opportunities for growth. It was difficult to keep up with the SF living standard after awhile.

    EF Education First2019-10-17
Found 1827 reviews