DuPont Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

DuPont Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
DuPont Interim Chairman and CEO Edward D. Breen
Edward D. Breen
379 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Mediocre big company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some great people to work with; interesting technology; job security; low expectations--great place to be mediocre. Tremendous narratives of growth.

    Cons

    Low expectations (demotivator for anyone who seeks to excel at work), mediocre salary and benefits (tries to be slightly above the median), when we merged with DOW we found out that DOW people made 15% more than DuPont people across the board. Bullet proof bureaucracy. Supervisors run programs to support the alternative facts they have been fabricating not reality. Managers seem to encourage rather than discourage that. Safety used to be a passion, now it has been relegated to liability management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get real: manage for actual growth vs. fictitious narratives. Don't perpetuate zombie programs for years. Change the focus from competence (mediocrity) to excellence--and reward people who excel. There used to be one day a year set aside for excellence awards, 364 days a year to focus on competence. But the cost of excellence seems to have bee too high, now you are back to 365 of mediocrity a year. If you don't see the problem with that, I don't know what other advice I can offer.

    Show More
    DuPont2019-10-28
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Specialist in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary, benefits and culture.

    Cons

    Sometimes being flexible is an issue.

    DuPont2019-10-14
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Planner 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits Very safety conscious workplace

    Cons

    Some Jobs require working shifts

    DuPont2019-10-09
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Going downhill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    *Excellent benefits (unbeatable 401K match) *Strong company reputation *Above average pay

    Cons

    *Management isn't aligned across the business units so they're always fighting against each other and for their own gain instead of the gain of the whole company. Due to this, management often asks their reports to do ethically questionable things to make their group look better. *HR is a joke, basically doesn't exist. *Personally, my manager a couple levels up was a bully. *People were often overworked and under appreciated. A lot of negative feedback was given, but rarely any positive.

    Show More
    DuPont2019-10-17
  5. "Managed poorly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Mechanic in Circleville, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It’s a job, pay is good for the area.

    Cons

    Poorly managed, to many chiefs not enough Indians. They keep taking benefits away.

    DuPont2019-10-18
  6. "Great experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategy Summer Intern in Ciudad de México
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great on work life balance.

    Cons

    OK environment, very very intense about culture.

    DuPont2019-09-30
  7. "Recover tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at DuPont

    Pros

    Relaxed setting Good pay Flexible hours Company shut down for major holidays

    Cons

    Poor benefits Management suffers from a lack of knowledge in rec

    DuPont2019-09-30
  8. "Great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Operator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont full-time

    Pros

    Great pay Plenty of overtime

    Cons

    Long hours Swing shift Dirty plant

    DuPont2019-09-24
  9. "Good pay and benefits - zero job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intellectual Property Manager in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, good pay and benefits (if you're full-time employee)

    Cons

    "Open office" spaces, non-existent job security, top management only focused on short-term shareholder returns.

    Advice to Management

    Try to look beyond the next quarter

    DuPont2019-09-28
  10. "No no no"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are nice, those are all positives

    Cons

    The organization is a huge mess. Constant restructuring and lay offs. Don't go there.

    DuPont2019-10-18
Found 1965 reviews