Debenhams "staff discount" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Debenhams Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated Nov 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Debenhams CEO Sergio Bucher
Sergio Bucher
330 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Too concern about opening credit card(in 127 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage pay is lower than many other high street retailers(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Newbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount in the cafe bit (50% off)

    Cons

    Underpaid, in my store we had about 5 different managers within the space of 3 months, little staff discount in the store (only 20%), no incentives or room for improvement.

    Debenhams2019-11-24
  2. "/"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fragrance Consultant 

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discount Good place to work in Interesting for fragrance Incentives

    Cons

    Management Rotas change on the daily I am never on my contracted hours.. always more Have to constantly ask management to change rotas

    Debenhams2019-11-04
  3. "As every job in retail, it has its pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    25% staff discount. I wish I could say more but it’s a job like any other retail job. I don’t think there’s anything that stands out.

    Cons

    You don’t really feel supported or appreciated by management. There’s lots of patronising. As long as you serve them right they’re good for you. It changes when there’s something that doesn’t go the way they wanted.

    Debenhams2019-11-04
  4. "Good to work for over all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Assistant in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All of the staff are so lovely at my store Short shifts that go very quickly Move around on different jobs (bins, potwash, till, Bevs and floor) so there is variety within a shift Good discount

    Cons

    Finding it difficult to organise holidays and how to use staff discount card as I wasn’t really told this info or who to ask when I was training

    Debenhams2019-10-20
  5. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training Fun colleagues Good atmosphere Good staff discount

    Cons

    Pressure to open store cards

    Debenhams2019-10-07
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Welwyn, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount. Nice work environment.

    Cons

    Bad management. Constant pressure to sell credit cards and emails.

    Debenhams2019-10-18
  7. "Not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant Assistant 

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff Discount at 25 percent was generous.

    Cons

    Overworked and Understaffed. Had to work far harder than staff in other departments who often did nothing.

    Debenhams2019-10-09
  8. "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Services Adviser in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount including makeup counters

    Cons

    Treated like criminals with locker, bag and pocket searches No perks when working bank holidays Only 1 in 3 weekends off

    Debenhams2019-10-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Worse experience ever Toxic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None at all staff discount is ok but nothing great positive friendly staff that’s it

    Cons

    No wonder debehamms are closing managment treat staff no respect bullies it’s all about money and selling the store credit cards

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff well maybe they will stay increase minim wage

    Debenhams2019-10-13
  10. "Shocking management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good staff discount and nice stock.

    Cons

    Lack of staff, management too busy in the office to bother helping with the lack of staff. Management pushed sales staff to come up with new innovative ideas that Management are getting paid for. Ridiculous low pay, considering many of us used to work shifts at very little notice, moving walls, glass shelves and fixtures around throughout the night. This often resulted in not enough staff members to run the sales... floor during the day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay more and be more present on the shop floor.

    Debenhams2019-09-19
Found 207 reviews