Debenhams Visual Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Debenhams Visual Assistant Reviews

Updated 1 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Debenhams CEO Sergio Bucher
Sergio Bucher
3 Ratings
  1. "WHITEROSE VISUAL DEPARTMENT AND MANAGEMENT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Assistant in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some freedom...that’s until management (who don’t follow the packs or product updates) will contradict, Rudely address and negatively talk about changes made although not revising the store guidelines.

    Cons

    Bad communication between visual supervisor and or managers Bad management- petty, nasty and toxic behaviour Will not progress in company/store Impossible to make any right decision as no one wants to follow the same visual guidelines therefore every problem (even merchandisers mistakes) are blamed on visual department Visual management and merchandising supervisors will not confront you about problem but talk about...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    EXPERIENCE DOES NOT MEAN GOOD MANAGEMENT!!!!! Your work force is a proven fact of negligible management and a toxic work place.

    Debenhams2019-06-01
  2. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very creative atmosphere. Management team, for me, are approachable and friendly.

    Cons

    Not a whole lot of room for growth in visual.

    Debenhams2018-03-17
  3. "Generally good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always work to do, fast paced, pleasant team. Appraised for the work I complete in store working on pelmets, mannequin displays. Good positive feedback and critical when it's needed. A fair place to work

    Cons

    Hierarchy structure can make you feel unimportant, some miserable staff take unneeded tones with you sometimes makes me angry, expected to do a million things at once. Would like to be paid £8.50

    Debenhams2017-07-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Over worked! under paid! No recognition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Assistant in Lichfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams

    Pros

    Freedom to be creative, head office support visual team through social media

    Cons

    Poor management, expect staff to come in early finish late and change shifts as and when they wish. If you do not change shifts or work extra you then suffer with mistreatment. Workload is humongous and pay does not reflect it at all. Visuals have a huge responsibility and do not get recognised. Short staffing is a huge issue, this dramatically effects customer service, and other roles. I am often asked to support sales...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop favouritism. Show appreciation and recognition. Encourage progression and development. Be honest and not become involved in childish behaviour. Provide incentives. Stop being so powertripped.

    Debenhams2016-04-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Vm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Assistant in Hanley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams

    Pros

    learnt a lot about my job and met good people. Had a good time over four years. But couldn't get full time.

    Cons

    were not loyal to staff when it came to hours and contracts. Alot of people have left over the last year due to things not being so great

    Advice to Management

    be more loyal to staff who try hard. Part time contracts are not always good. Give good feedback to staff never really had any feedback compared to what i do at new position. When staff go to bolster at other new store openings. Actually pay them for the extra time. Not time in lou that never gets put on the system!

    Debenhams2015-10-09
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Expect too much and give back nothing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I gained a lot of experience working for Debenhams

    Cons

    Bad pay. Bad management. Training not sufficient. Unrealistic expectations for what amount of work can be done within a certain time frame. Lack of respect. Expect a lot of overtime. Managers turning up late to open.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with more respect. Actually listen to employees. Come to terms with the fact that sometimes things cannot be completed in the small time frame that is given.

    Debenhams2015-01-12
  7. "I have worked in the harrogate and leeds stores in two job roles for over 6 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Assistant in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best thing about working for Debenhams is the people I have met. In the Harrogate store everyone worked as a team and health and safety was a priority, I found this was different in the Leeds Briggate store. Debenhams can be flexible with your hours dependant upon your position and the discount is fair.

    Cons

    The pay doesn't justify the responsibilities the job requires especially in a visual merchandising role. Generally the organisation of most stores is poor and employee safety isn't fully enforced. Not enough benefits are given as incentive for employees to work and there are problems in the management structure. Better product training should be provided to staff as for a company who sell so many different types of stock,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management should work closer with their teams for a positive relationship and there should be better opportunities for career development and training.

    Debenhams2014-07-09
Found 7 reviews