Debenhams Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Debenhams Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1304 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Debenhams CEO Sergio Bucher
Sergio Bucher
262 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "High pressure to open credit card accounts(in 109 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage pay is lower than many other high street retailers(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good training and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Reviewer in Somerset, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great team, good pay i enjoyed it

    Cons

    none it was enjoyable

    Debenhams2019-07-17
  2. "debenhams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    discounts on cologne flexible working hours

    Cons

    there was not any that i can i think of

    Debenhams2019-07-16
  3. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 

      I have been working at Debenhams part-time

      Pros

      The discount was pretty decent

      Cons

      The pay was kind of low

      Debenhams2019-07-17
    • "ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      discount is good and useful

      Cons

      managers and supervisors are not the nicest

      Debenhams2019-07-16
    • "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Debenhams part-time

      Pros

      Salary, good rotations and environment

      Cons

      Management, lack of organisation between managers

      Debenhams2019-07-15
    • "Sales advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

        I worked at Debenhams part-time

        Pros

        Friendly environment Regular breaks Good holiday

        Cons

        Long hours pUSHED to sell Debenhams credit card

        Debenhams2019-07-08
      • "Okay company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Advisor 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Team members are what make it worthwhile 20% staff discount

        Cons

        Upper Management Constantly pressuring staff for accounts, conduct ‘reviews’ with staff individually if you do not open an account Trying to get holiday leave is like asking for a trip to the moon.

        Advice to Management

        Stop putting pressure on staff for accounts Better organisation is needed Would be useful to actually see the management out and about on the shop floor but they spend most of their time in the offices chatting.

        Debenhams2019-07-08
      • "merchandiser debenhams"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Merchandiser in London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        troubled times at the moment so progression is difficult, outside of recruitment freeze there is alot of potential recently changed alot of the management so fresh eyes on the business people look out for each other discount on brands

        Cons

        as much as the strategy says open to change and flexibility - this is definitely not the case! politics - stay out of it as much as possible hr is pretty poor little support when raising serious problems, especially when it comes to stress

        Advice to Management

        when staff are advising of extreme stress take on board what they are saying honesty of job roles (particularly with AM's) at the point of hiring will diminish staff turnover more accountability for directors for their behaviour and words

        Debenhams2019-07-05
      • "Need more working hours"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Food Server in Leeds, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Good friendly team to work with.

        Cons

        Low wage, high staff turnover

        Debenhams2019-07-04
      • "Lovely environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Lönd
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        nice atmosphere, friendly, well mannered

        Cons

        often gets boring but overall good

        Advice to Management

        more opportunity for reviews to better employees

        Debenhams2019-07-02
      Found 1304 reviews