Columbia University Reviews

Updated May 20, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3,517 of over 3,942 reviews

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Columbia University President and Trustee Lee C. Bollinger
Lee C. Bollinger
1,074 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly environment and great benefits(in 147 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is understood given the academic calendar(in 146 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "relatively low pay compared to private sector(in 68 reviews)

  • "As with many large orgs, there is a fair amount of red tape(in 52 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Working event staff for Columbia Athletics

      Jun 12, 2020 - Event Staff Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - flexible hours - great management (understanding, funny, kind) - great colleagues

      Cons

      - task can be repetitive

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Bureaucratic nightmare

      Nov 18, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was fortunate to work with some talented colleagues. Additionally, my on-campus housing (I believe this is only for research staff) was quickly and easily arranged. Apartment maintenance was performed promptly. The IT department (CUIT) proved flexible and willing to solve our problems.

      Cons

      The bureaucracy is an unstoppable force; paper forms abound and forget about doing anything not covered by an existing policy or checklist. Department administrations appear stuck in the 1970s with staff that, on average, do little more than the bare minimum. Capable staff are hamstrung by arcane procedures. I fear this extends to the educational aspects of the University, which is compounded by a lack of willingness to change. My appointment was bungled no fewer than three times, leading to delays in pay and lapsed health insurance. At one point I was forced to purchase my own health insurance from the state exchange because of an administrator's error. Expense reimbursements sometimes took months to arrive. Procurement was an embarrassment. Several times during my tenure vendor accounts were left unpaid. Dozens of hours were wasted trying to follow up with our department's business office in attempts to rectify said situations. It took over a year for our group's charge account at Staples to be approved for use.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Student Worker

      May 20, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good working environment, good community

      Cons

      the salary is too low for student workers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Graduate Research Assistant at Columbia University

      May 17, 2022 - Graduate Research Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working hours. Ability to work remotely via server.

      Cons

      PI may contact me at odd hours.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      clerical

      May 13, 2022 - Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      health benefits and remote work

      Cons

      unable to take vacation when i want

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      good

      May 10, 2022 - Biostatistician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      environment is very good for a new grad

      Cons

      salary is low, not much opptunity to promote

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Research Assistant - Graduate Student

      May 9, 2022 - Research Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work-life balance, flexible hours

      Cons

      Not applicable for this role

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Easy and growth

      May 10, 2022 - Housing Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Had lots to offer for career growth and let me set the pace

      Cons

      Starts off a little slow

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      May 10, 2022 - Graduate Student 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great experience working for columbia

      Cons

      No cons experienced so far

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      GreAt pay!

      May 6, 2022 - Research Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mentorship is worthy of praise

      Cons

      Payment periods are not enforced

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,517 Reviews

    Columbia University Reviews FAQs

    Columbia University has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 3,942 reviews left anonymously by employees. 84% of employees would recommend working at Columbia University to a friend and 64% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Columbia University employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Columbia University. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    84% of Columbia University employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Columbia University 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Columbia University Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Columbia University? Share Your Experiences

    Columbia University logo
    or