Coles Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Coles Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1028 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Coles CEO John Durkan (no image)
John Durkan
295 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay compares to other supermarket(in 118 reviews)

  • "flexible hours, lot of good staff to work with(in 70 reviews)

Cons
  • "may involve politics within team members(in 49 reviews)

  • "Long hours, unpredictable roster lack of communication(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Night filling, team member, coles, fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nightfill Team Member 

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rather relaxing at my store, can't say the same about different locations. Lots of hours and great team environment

    Cons

    Stressful at times when understaffed,

    Coles2019-09-14
  2. "Great fun and amazing people to work with, enjoyed how everyone was friendly. Amazing management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Easy hours Fun shifts Often up on the go

    Cons

    Hard to get more hours

    Coles2019-09-12
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    really flexible with hours and accomodating to a variety of needs.

    Cons

    Often understaffed and overworked

    Coles2019-09-11
  4. "Productive environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Team Member 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time

    Pros

    Not difficult - there were a lot of routine tasks. The pay is good.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations and complaints can arise anytime - there is no training to handle many of these issues, it will however become easier with experience.

    Coles2019-09-11
  5. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Coles part-time

    Pros

    Good Salary Good work life balance

    Cons

    Management system not organists

    Coles2019-09-09
  6. "Customer service clerk and shelf filler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shelf Stacker in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy work and good work life balance

    Cons

    Questionable management who only cares about the bottom line

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge your employees work more

    Coles2019-09-07
  7. "amazing job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auctioneer Assistant in Langley, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    awsome environment and kind and understanding bosses and supervisors.

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Advice to Management

    Nothing! everything is already amazing!

    Coles2019-09-04
  8. "The employee culture at Coles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Checkout 

    I worked at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had some good people to work with

    Cons

    Some of the hours were difficult

    Coles2019-09-03
  9. "I worked at Coles for two year."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Nightfill Worker 

    I worked at Coles part-time

    Pros

    Decent pay considering what we were doing.

    Cons

    Management could be inconsistent and we often didn't see our managers for long periods of time.

    Coles2019-09-03
  10. "Deli Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Team Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Team manager was organised, understanding and pleasant (won’t be true for every store) - Adequate training provided - Discount card - Decent pay for a uni student - Flexible hours - Online roster

    Cons

    - Store and regional managers will sometimes overstep into things they don’t understand. They will implement changes without discussing with team members first to get opinions. Feedback from team members on ways to improve the department isn’t taken seriously.

    Advice to Management

    - Listen to “low-levelled” team members. They are the ones on the shop floor and will have ideas about some things.

    Coles2019-09-01
Found 1028 reviews