Coles Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Coles Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Coles CEO John Durkan (no image)
John Durkan
327 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay and excellent conditions(in 148 reviews)

  • "Great management team and flexible hours(in 80 reviews)

Cons
  • "They will implement changes without discussing with team members first to get opinions(in 58 reviews)

  • "Sometimes long hours, work load(in 53 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Coles full-time

    Pros

    Nice head office building, great location near motorways and train station.

    Cons

    The worst culture I have ever seen. Strong silo mentality, extremally political environment. Nothing is done unless you are friends with the right people. Strong hierarchy culture. You only have access to your direct manager as talking to people above your manager is considered as a back stabbing. People are running like crazy with their laptops on hand and stressed at 07.00am pretty much every day.

    Advice to Management

    Leave your ivory tower and come to the floor more often to understand the silo mentality that exists in your corporation and make a move to allow better communication and cooperation between teams.

    Coles2017-10-01
  2. "A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Benalla
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great working environment for you to work I

    Cons

    Weekend and late nights hard on familys

    Advice to Management

    A

    Coles2020-01-20
  3. "easy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Team Member in Warrawong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    so easy, no cleaning when your up on service (wiping down your register) it’s easy to learn, customers are usually always nice. my managers are so kind, especially when i’ve had to go home sick sometimes, their so understanding. i obviously don’t take advantage of that. in school holidays i work 31 hrs / week and school weeks between 10-26 hr / week. i get pay and a half after 6pm and on saturdays and double pay sunday’s. managers are so good with your availability and i usually do get asked to work on days of, which i usually decided to go to and work. but if i need time of, i ask, and i get time off.

    Show More

    Cons

    you are left to be very independent but that’s ok once you know what you are doing, you can always ask for help. i really want to learn self serve though. i’ve only been there for 5 months so i’ll give it some time, but i love what i do and it’s the best job i’ve had so far. staff discount is 5% at coles, coles express, liquorland, office works, target and kmart. 10% during xmas period and u sometimes get deals. i wish it was a bit more, and that i didn’t have to pay a lot more excess for work uniforms, but i get 3 for free per year, but i don’t know if i wanna pay $40 for a jacket.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    keep being fair to us & maybe extend training periods, because i wish i had a bit longer training (especially because my first few shifts were busy shifts and i was overwhelmed)

    Coles2020-01-20
  4. "Coles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Delicatessen Assistant 

    I have been working at Coles part-time

    Pros

    Good for uni studies at

    Cons

    No growth. Bad managers. No

    Coles2020-01-19
  5. "butcher meat manager perth wa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat Manager in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles full-time

    Pros

    having stability within the workforce

    Cons

    more hours for same pay

    Advice to Management

    na

    Coles2020-01-18
  6. "A good place if you can work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coles Services Team Member in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of hours available as compared to the other departments.

    Cons

    Working outdoors during summers, reduction of penalties

    Coles2020-01-15
  7. "Coles Team Member Carlingford Court"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Member 

    I have been working at Coles part-time

    Pros

    fun easy convenient pays well

    Cons

    there actually are no cons

    Coles2020-01-13
  8. "Good store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fresh Produce Team Member in Revesby
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great team and great enthusiasm towards work

    Cons

    biggest con is going home

    Coles2020-01-12
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Coles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy place to work at

    Cons

    Sometimes not great place to be

    Coles2020-01-08
  10. "Great place to work for resilient employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People and Culture Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great flexibility, a lot of exposure, able to learn and grow quickly. Very generous pay packages.

    Cons

    Ruthless and demanding environment, you need to be resilient.

    Coles2020-01-06
Found 1151 reviews