Citizens Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Citizens Bank Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
711 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales goals were sometimes unrealistic(in 107 reviews)

  • "Upper management is totally disconnected from the reality(in 105 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Relationship Banker in Dedham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Licensing paid study time -Training and Shadowing -FINRA licenses paid for by company -Work/life balance -Career path options

    Cons

    -None thus far (4 months in)

    Citizens Bank2019-10-18
  2. "Wonderful company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advocate in Johnston, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Citizens is customer and colleague focused. The company continueously looks to find better ways to serve their customers and often engages customers to obtain feedback to reach a Gold standard customer experience. Additionally, the career path opportunities are endless if you seek a career instead of just a job.

    Cons

    The Banking industry is ever changing as directed by Federal and State Banking commissions. As such, policies and procedures are updated often to accomodate this. Furthermore, technology seems to advance at a very quick pace and sometimes the Bank appears to struggle with keeping up with such improvements. Change is good however can be frustrating at times.

    Advice to Management

    I think management does a great job at keeping colleagues engaged. Executives are visible and available to offer assistance if needed. Both seem to genuinely enjoy their positions and inspire me in my career path.

    Citizens Bank2019-10-17
  3. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    depends on team which you got

    Cons

    depends on people your r working with

    Citizens Bank2019-10-18
  4. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Reporting Senior Analyst in Johnston, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers are all so kind and caring, atmosphere is gorgeous, and the Bank is always doing the right thing!

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to work holidays, but the bank is very flexible with work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Help your employees succeed, route for them, and help them better themselves. Try not to think only of your own success.

    Citizens Bank2019-10-17
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Default Mortgage in Glen Allen, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and benefits. The Company really cares about the success of their employees and do a lot for the communities they are in.

    Cons

    No cons other than I have to drive 40 minutes one way but it’s worth it

    Advice to Management

    My Managers are amazing and don’t know of anything that would make them any better.

    Citizens Bank2019-10-17
  6. "Listen to your employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Banking Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is very organized and structured and technology adjustment is a priority. Which makes working very efficient and adaptable.

    Cons

    There is no suggestion box for the employees to voice their opinion about concerns or ideas to improve their job performance or solve a common issue

    Citizens Bank2019-10-16
  7. "New to Citizens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analysis Manager in Johnston, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Outstanding facilities. Fantastic, flexible manager who understands work / life balance of a full time employee and active father.

    Cons

    Lacking in technology and systems.

    Citizens Bank2019-10-16
  8. "Good Career Starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Universal Banker in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offer a much higher salary than other financial institutions.

    Cons

    Frequent goal changes leads to stress and not making commissions

    Advice to Management

    Provide more coaching and take more responsibility to their bankers not meeting their goals

    Citizens Bank2019-10-16
  9. "Consumer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Con Ops Execution Lead in Riverside, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very family supportive, good benefits

    Cons

    Hard to get promoted within your area

    Citizens Bank2019-10-16
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Risk Management Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Company is moving in a great direction -Great colleagues -Good work life balance

    Cons

    -Hard to discover opportunities within

    Citizens Bank2019-10-09

    Citizens Bank Response

    October 16, 2019Project Manager

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts! Happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We totally agree — the amazing colleagues and balance of work and life are two great things about Citizens. To encourage internal mobility for colleagues, we just launched a new, branded internal career site where colleagues can shop for jobs. Additionally, we just went live with Myca, the personalized career coach that helps colleagues identify new opportunities within the bank and ways to scale their skills to get where they want to be. We're sad to see you go, but good luck in your next endeavor!

    Show Less
Found 2057 reviews