Certus Recruitment Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.nz

Certus Recruitment Group Reviews

Updated 8 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Certus Recruitment Group CEO Justin Byrne
Justin Byrne
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No microwave in kitchen - but plenty of food places locally(in 3 reviews)

  • "If you are not "a lad" then you bullied and made to feel that you are not normal(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "No thanks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Certus Recruitment Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Formed friendships with other former colleagues for life. * Learnt a lot about how to run on very little sleep. * Daniel. * Excellent praise system with the Friday round-up. * Lunch club is a hoot.

    Cons

    * Racist * Sexist * Multiple accounts of sexual abuse being reported and completely left because sales numbers were good. * Being told not to call candidates because their name 'didn't sound English' * Being forced to tell candidates they didn't get the job despite being qualified because they are wearing a hijab. * The illegal underpayment of apprentices who would finally be given a salary after working too... many hours only to be again underpaid. * Clear sexism in the office towards the female members of staff. * Terrible treatment of employees after they leave - or when they are looking to leave. * Ridiculous payment system for the recruitment, it went from a simple, mutually beneficial system of the commission to a split, completely bias one. * You don't want a promotion, because it comes with way more work, way more pressure, considerably less commission and a ridiculously high turn over. This job is perfect for you, and you will be considered an excellent candidate if you are a privately educated male who is white, drinks beer, doesn't have a social life outside of work except maybe football and just loves racism and phone smashing. Otherwise, maybe jog on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a consistent management system. Maybe just give the people what they want and chuck a microwave in. Maybe consider letting people have lunch longer than 15 mins because you can barely get down the stairs to Pret for some hot food and back in time and you can't warm anything in the office. (No microwave) And maybe fire that guy who keeps touching up girls?

    Certus Recruitment Group2019-04-08
  2. "Perfect first job in sales!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Certus Recruitment Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at Certus for 6 months - I came on as a fresh graduate working on the graduate desk and I love it! I love the culture; it's competitive but promotes a positive team environment as well. I have learned so much about the industry, and I love the buzz I get when I make a deal and everyone cheers! It's a hard job, you need to be able to pick yourself up after a bad day - it really is a rollercoaster......but so far it's been a great ride and I can't wait to work my way up the ladder!

    Show More

    Cons

    NA - I'm loving it (although a microwave would be nice!)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you guys are doing, by giving us new guys/gals the tools we need to be successful in this industry.

    Certus Recruitment Group2018-12-20
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Certus Recruitment Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The people within this business are fantastic, definitely the best place I have worked in terms of the culture, we work hard but also know how to have fun - Progression opportunities, I think if you get your head down and show that you care, this company is one that will really look to develop you and your skill set - Senior management, the sales director in particular is very approachable and you learn a lot... from the senior management team

    Show More

    Cons

    - No microwave, every company has one so is a bit of a frustration - Can sometimes be a bit micro management and focus a bit too much on getting on the phone when results can be achieved in other forms

    Certus Recruitment Group2018-12-19
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Very misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Certus Recruitment Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Fun environment sometimes -Beer and early finish Fridays

    Cons

    -was sold into the role even though i didn't want to do recruitment. -was promised training and a clear progression plan which i never got. -was told by my manager to do things in a certain way but then her boss and the owner would say that it is the wrong way. - overachieved my target in my first month and then told the position wasn't for me. -so i was told they they didn't really mind about hitting target... it was all about developing the person so i didn't have to worry about hitting my target. - and then after my first month they said it wasn't the right role for me therefore leaving me jobless after just 1 month. - not relieved my commission for overachieving my target. -felt like they missold the dream, but in reality i got something completely different. - felt cheated out of my commission.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    get a clear structure and training program. Sam was really good at training as was Justin, but it just needs structure and consistency.

    Certus Recruitment Group2018-08-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Recruitment is easy to do but very hard to do well!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Certus Recruitment Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Superb office environment and truly supportive structure. Everyone is encouraged and given the autonomy to build their own business within the company at a realistic pace with achievable targets. The management team is experienced with over 40+ years of combined recruitment experience who always have time for training and imparting their knowledge on to their teams. Success is celebrated and everyone truly works... for each other and to move the business as whole forwards.

    Show More

    Cons

    At the rate the business is growing a move to a new office will be required sooner rather than later!

    Certus Recruitment Group2018-02-05
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Awful Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Certus Recruitment Group full-time

    Pros

    - Finishing early on Fridays - Had a Mini Fridge with Beers for Fridays

    Cons

    - An incredibly discriminating company - No direct achievable path for progression given - Targeted daily on booking candidates in when there were no job opportunities for them - No structure within the company - Very immature atmosphere where favouritism occurred - Very unfriendly individuals who made more than 5 people leave in a short space of time - Was led to believe this would be an amazing job but... it was the worst decision I had made along with many other previous employees having agreed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The majority of previous employees have left within a short amount of time. I think this is a problem within your internal structure as well as management. Also to point out that there were some members of your team being the most awful people I have ever met. No one should have felt like this so early on into a new job. First impressions means everything.

    Certus Recruitment Group2018-01-31

    Certus Recruitment Group Response

    February 5, 2018CEO

    There are clearly numerous issues raised. There is a clear management structure within our business and an established and set out progression criteria which is open to all employees. We conduct exit interviews with all staff, which are conducted by a senior member of the team who ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Where have you been all my life??!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Graduate Recruitment in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Certus Recruitment Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Team culture - Supportive, High energy, Great social atmosphere, Early finish on Friday and beer fridge is a master stroke. Coaching and support culture is solid and flat structure allows for support at all levels. High octane urgency and energy - not for the weak or lazy!! Winners environment where talent is nurtured and developed. Uncapped, realistic commission structure rewarding entrepreneurship and... hard work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not enough hours in the day No microwave in kitchen - but plenty of food places locally

    Advice to Management

    Keep driving and keep growing!!

    Certus Recruitment Group2017-09-25
  8. "Good and family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Certus Recruitment Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Manager is very attentive and cares about his staff both in success and emotional wellbeing. Fast progression, lots of training.

    Cons

    Wish we had a microwave for hot lunches!

    Certus Recruitment Group2017-09-18
  9. "Recruitment Recruitment and More Recruitment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Certus Recruitment Group

    Pros

    Improve your skills in an ethical, methodical and effective manner

    Cons

    If you lack drive, this job is not for you

    Certus Recruitment Group2017-07-14
  10. "Amazing Company to Work For!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Certus Recruitment Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Management values employees for who they are and work ethic. -Loads of incentives to make your job even more worth while. -Lively office atmosphere with genuine colleagues -Career opportunities within all sectors

    Cons

    Flexible work life balance however, there are times that you have to meet clients and candidates past 6pm or email out of hours

    Advice to Management

    Keep employing the best talent and supporting them

    Certus Recruitment Group2017-06-23

    Certus Recruitment Group Response

    June 27, 2017Marketing Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review! This feedback really helps us to understand the wants and needs of our employees. We strive to make the workplace a happy, productive and inclusive atmosphere and we are so happy that you find Certus Recruitment Group ...

    Show More
Found 51 reviews